Why has ICICI Bank randomly done a Total Freeze on my Account?

You must have bought bitcoin from ur account or ur upi id linked to bank account is reported by multiple users

see when you are doing UPI transactions we dont know the details about the Payee.. they might have involved in some naughty things..

I use third party apps like payzapp , MK etc for most of my UPI transactions, not directly from SB account
Very good. For this very same reason and keep my bank acc statement uncluttered I use ICICI Pockets UPI using wallet balance. Payzapp back in action for me now after long currently only when using UPI through @pzw.

Unfortunately still 70% merchants don't accept RuPay CC UPI payments else CC statements would be longer.

Just got a message stating We have marked a freeze on your ICICI Bank Acc XX on 29-Jan-25 due to Regulatory/Other reasons. For details, visit nearest Branch or call Customer Care.

This message came at 2:50 PM - which was too late to head to the branch that closes at 3 PM.

Obviously, customer care was not helpful, other than stating that the account is in "total freeze", not "debit freeze" - thanks, that makes me feel so much better.

The chatbot in netbanking was slightly better, it said that the account is frozen because of "unusual transactions". When asked what these transactions were, they said I have to visit a branch.

This is an ICICI Wealth Management account I opened in 2021 with an initial funding of 5 Lakh rupees, which made it a zero balance account from the get-go. I use it only for UPI transactions. I also have an ICICI Rupay CC for UPI, and I use this account to pay its bill. In fact, I cleared the latest bill just yesterday.

What have I done wrong here? For what it's worth - the balance in the account is currently Rs. 0.
My friend SBI account was in freeze from last 4 months with 1 lakh amount in it.

He has also done many upi payments and few rent payment. Now bank demanding many different documents,.

He had visited bank many times, taken help CA to provide docs that txns are genuine.

Still each time they demand new docs

I suggest to top up wallets like phobnepe lite from icici and use that, in that way icici txn only shown as phonepe topup, not individual tea/coffee/vegetable/food/auto txns etc. also save time not to enter pin each time.

My friend SBI account was in freeze from last 4 months with 1 lakh amount in it.

He has also done many upi payments and few rent payment. Now bank demanding many different documents,.

He had visited bank many times, taken help CA to provide docs that txns are genuine.

Still each time they demand new docs
Ask him to close this account. Bank needs to take an action basis customer documents and explanation. If MLRO/bank is not convinced then bank normally ask customer to close the account. In this particular case customer can write to nodal officer that I have provided all documents to bank to unfreeze the account however there has been no change in status and cannot continue to have relationship with Bank holding my fund. They will do needful in 7 working days

But how can he close a freeze account, although anyhow after receiving his 1 lakh, he will close his account, as he already opened a new account.

Update:

1. Visited Mumbai branch. "Can't see any unusual transaction on my screen". "Go to home branch in Chennai". Here is a number you can call.
2. Called number and told her the details. She is the deputy branch manager in the home branch. Said she will check and call back in "2 minutes".
3. No callback yet. Not picking up the phone.

😥

Update:

1. Visited Mumbai branch. "Can't see any unusual transaction on my screen". "Go to home branch in Chennai". Here is a number you can call.
2. Called number and told her the details. She is the deputy branch manager in the home branch. Said she will check and call back in "2 minutes".

😥
yours is not a revenue generating case.. so be patient .. she will call you back in her free time, hopefully soon.

Update:

😥
ICICI follows the Anywhere Banking concept, yet they fail to extend this service to WM customers, instead directing them to call the Chennai branch. very sad.
I had a similar experience with IDFC—they froze my account due to a high number of UPI transactions. I had only done around 20-25 UPI transactions per month.
When I visited the branch, they did not listen to me properly. I submitted a letter explaining that all transactions were self-transfers and within the income I had declared during account opening.
Despite this, they refused to unfreeze my account. I immediately sent an email to the RNO with all the details. They responded promptly and started processing my request.
Anyway, I decided to close my account and leave that hassle behind.

Once they unfroze my account, I withdrew my money and closed it.

To be honest, my IDFC account experience was good overall, but their branch service is lacking, which can be a major issue in situations like this.

Update:

😥
Brother what's the update now? I got the same message like yours. Even mine was wealth management account. Kindly let me know if there is any solution to unfreeze the account