HDFC Digisave Youth Account Blocked Due to EDD — Branch Not Helping

naman2634

Hi everyone,

I’m facing an issue with my HDFC Digisave Youth Account, which got blocked on 6th November. I was told to visit the branch to get it resolved.

When I visited the branch today, they informed me that EDD (Enhanced Due Diligence) is required and asked for 2 years’ ITR and a letter explaining the source of funds.

I explained to them that I’m a student and mainly use the account for Amazon Pay wallet transactions (around ₹40,000 per month) to earn 1% cashback. However, they still insisted on the documents and said they can’t close the account unless the EDD is cleared.

The branch staff were not helpful and didn’t provide any alternative solution or escalation contact.

I’m stuck now — can’t operate the account or even close it. Has anyone faced something similar or know what I can do next? Any advice from the Technofino community would be really appreciated.

Thanks in advance 🙏

So no transaction or account is safe these days.
Account getting blocked just for rotating 40k per month, what to say?

Its wake up call,atleast for me. Wont keep funds in savings accounts.

So banks want us to keep balances, withdraw balances. Pathetic

No, its digisave youth account which is specially meant for students, OP had mentioned student with no income in his account's profile and used this account on regular basis with few big transcations, that's why it got flagged. If it was regular or any other higher variant account then nothing would have happened

Still 40k transaction per month is not a big deal for a savings account right.

Keep doing genuine transactions nothing will happen .
Regularly update your income details as well .

UPDATE:
Today I visited the branch and met with the Branch Manager. I explained the complete situation to him, including that the funds coming into my account are from rent, and the rest is money sent by my father and sister for my household expenses. I also explained that some of the transactions were due to wallet reload offers I used.

The Branch Manager was very shocked at first and said “this is not justifying”, but I calmly explained everything in detail. He then asked for my Kotak and Canara Bank statements, which I submitted.

At one point he even said this “looks like tax chori”, but I again clarified the purpose of each transaction properly.

He told me to submit the documents, and said that if the backend team is satisfied, the account will be unblocked, but when I asked about the timeline, he said he doesn’t know.

Now I’m confused about what to do next as the branch manager didn’t seem fully convinced. What should I do next?

UPDATE:
Today I visited the branch and met with the Branch Manager. I explained the complete situation to him, including that the funds coming into my account are from rent, and the rest is money sent by my father and sister for my household expenses. I also explained that some of the transactions were due to wallet reload offers I used.

The Branch Manager was very shocked at first and said “this is not justifying”, but I calmly explained everything in detail. He then asked for my Kotak and Canara Bank statements, which I submitted.

At one point he even said this “looks like tax chori”, but I again clarified the purpose of each transaction properly.

He told me to submit the documents, and said that if the backend team is satisfied, the account will be unblocked, but when I asked about the timeline, he said he doesn’t know.

Now I’m confused about what to do next as the branch manager didn’t seem fully convinced. What should I do next?
Rent le rahe ho , high transaction values hai , fir aap digisave kyu use karre ho wo bhi profile me student dal kar .
Normal account use karo with occupation as salaried or self employed.
Unka algorithm to account freeze kar hi dega , kuch unusual laga to .

Wait karlo kya bolta hai unka backend team , akhir unblock to unhi ke hath me hai .

I also have digiyouth account, I did wallet reload every month , noting wrong happen
I have updated my profile properly with the proper income value
Nothing is wrong in legit transaction
But everyone should understand algorithm
Should use imps,neft for higher transaction
Income should aline with transaction turnover
Also avoid taking transition from P2P
Like op is taking rent (that's also a big trigger in system)
Every block happen Rbi ombudsman is there