5 credit cards challenge

Please support us by disabling AdBlocker on our website.
Apply For Lifetime Free IDFC First Credit Card

abhishek0882

If you could only have 5 credit cards with you and no more - which would be your 5 credit cards? Would be great if you could also mention the reasons. Of course these will be based on your personal usage, preferences, spends etc., but would be fun to know. Idea is to see if we can create a holistic portfolio of credit cards in a way that they cover all aspects of our spends and lifestyle, thus each card complementing the other 4. What are those 5 cards as of today (as the combination may keep changing with new cards coming up, devaluation in existing cards etc.).
I am so looking forward to hear from members here. Would especially be fun to hear from those who have numerous credit cards and to see how they manage to narrow it down to 5 😛 .

Yeah but last I heard they need 1 year old history for C2C and my DCB is hardly a month old. Most probably the party would be over by then and I would have missed the bus.
Can't really say for sure though. Since Axis Magnus only has good rewards in the points transfer segment, it may not be necessary be hurting the feasibility for them. 1L milestone is not something everyone will hit frequently, and many probably got the card just for the sake of it. And moreover, Axis is banking on people making unnecessary spends to hit that milestone. A brilliant strategy at that if I might say! But yes, they might let go/reduce some of the non-spend-based benefits. All in all, the points are deeply discounted to Axis. So is the lounge and Greet and Meet services, so we should wait and watch for this one.

Your analysis makes a lot of sense. Many a times convenience and simplicity mean a lot more than just features. I was just saying from the number of people who mentioned Magnus in their 5 card portfolio compared to DCB/Infinia. I am sure many people have both, but to trim to 5, they had to leave out Infinia and DCB. Currently it seems that in practical terms, in HDFC cards, people are preferring Tata Neu Rupay and in premium segment they are going for Magnus.
For that very reason even I want to have one Magnus as soon as possible.

I will use Magnus (if I ever manage to get one) till it rewards handsomely else fallback to my ltf DCB.

So you got LTF DCB through the Alumni Program? Given that you didn't have a credit history.
I was getting a pre approved Infinia as well as DCB through hdfc (even with no credit history). But yeah got converted my DCB to ltf through alumni route as it helped to get a very good card as LTF. I had created a separate thread for the same titled 'LTF DCB vs Paid Infinia' and got valuable responses from many members there.

By the way it's my 100th message here in this community. Learning a lot from everyone. Abhi naya naya hoon to seekhne ka nasha sa chada hua hai. Every now and then I keep checking the new posts to find anything interesting 🙂

Best deal. Grab it. That's the lowest price.
Buy Swiggy money Voucher and pay via that to get additional discount.

Paytm is giving 1000% Cashback points i.e. 9% Cashback on buying Swiggy money GV.
When I bought my Swiggy1 membership, they were not letting me pay through Swiggy Money balance. I had done it last year, but not this time round.

My ideal combination is as follows:

1. Magnus: For obvious reasons everyone knows 😛
2. HDFC Infinia - I just love the smartbuy multiplier and ease of use of points while booking revenue tickets. Amazon Pay vouchers are mostly bought via this route. This month itself I redeemed 35K worth of infinia points for booking Air Asia and Indigo flights on the routes where Vistara does not operate. GVP is added bonus for forex spends
3. Amex Plat Travel with MRCC LTF as companion - I need amex card for loading Paytm wallets. I load 3 paytm wallets @4K per card. Paytm wallet is used at merchant Paytm QR codes, Fastag and BPCL Fuel bunk in my area which accepts Paytm wallet via Paytm QR code. Amex also runs lot of spend based offers. Able to complete 4L spends till now every year via some additional online spends on this card
4. Tata Neu Infinity LTF - Specifically for UPI payments via Apartment ADDA, which other wise comes under rental category hence no rewards on other cards. Plus all other compulsive UPI payments (which I used to hate doing from bank account)

Other cards worth mentioning are SBI Cashback, IDFC Wealth etc. but not worth coming up in this list. 5th card in the list which I am planning to add in near future is Axis reserve. Lets see

Having these 4 cards with me.

1) Axis Magnus - King Kohli (1lakh monthly spend)
2) HDFC infinia - Dhoni (10X on Amazon with 25k Monthly limit was the precious time)
3) Axis Vistara Infinite - Yuvraj Singh (Business class tickets & Vistara Gold)
4) Amazon ICICI - Dravid (Consistent 5%)
Top notch cards and top notch way to put it across. You still have space to add a strike bowler in your team 👍

My ideal combination is as follows:

1. Magnus: For obvious reasons everyone knows 😛
2. HDFC Infinia - I just love the smartbuy multiplier and ease of use of points while booking revenue tickets. Amazon Pay vouchers are mostly bought via this route. This month itself I redeemed 35K worth of infinia points for booking Air Asia and Indigo flights on the routes where Vistara does not operate. GVP is added bonus for forex spends
3. Amex Plat Travel with MRCC LTF as companion - I need amex card for loading Paytm wallets. I load 3 paytm wallets @4K per card. Paytm wallet is used at merchant Paytm QR codes, Fastag and BPCL Fuel bunk in my area which accepts Paytm wallet via Paytm QR code. Amex also runs lot of spend based offers. Able to complete 4L spends till now every year via some additional online spends on this card
4. Tata Neu Infinity LTF - Specifically for UPI payments via Apartment ADDA, which other wise comes under rental category hence no rewards on other cards. Plus all other compulsive UPI payments (which I used to hate doing from bank account)

Other cards worth mentioning are SBI Cashback, IDFC Wealth etc. but not worth coming up in this list. 5th card in the list which I am planning to add in near future is Axis reserve. Lets see
Any particular reason you would prefer Reserve over Amex Plat Charge?

Here is my ideal portfolio for fulfilling needs of an average man.
This is also what I am currently using.

Everyone's favourite - Magnus
Local Driver - Tata Neu Infinity (UPI)
Monthly treats - MRCC and Gold Charge
(Consider this as one pair)
Utilities and Bills - Axis Airtel
The lender of last resort - SC Ultimate (2/3.3%)
Very nice, balanced and practical portfolio indeed.

Again, from the responses here, it seems that Axis, HDFC and AMEX and to some extent SBI are the preferred card providers. Not many would miss or complain much if these were the only ones. Can we live without SC, IndusInd, Kotak, Yes etc.?

Useless ones:
SC, Kotak, Yes, IndusInd, IDFC, RBL, ICICI, BoB

However one LTF card from ICICI & IndusInd each are good to have for instant discounts.