Amex Platinum Metal offer

eve

Just received an email to upgrade to Amex Platinum Metal and get 100,000 points. Membership cost 60k. Currently holding Amex travel card.

Is it worth the upgrade if I can get my money back from travel ?

The best way to extract maximum through AMEX point is to convert them to Hotel chain and use them to book super premium hotels with hotel points (e.g Marriott). Amex platinum is meant for people who indulge in luxury and dont really care about few thousands here and there…

24% through Axis travel edge or if you prefer 16.5% on Infinia Smartbuy + about 5-6k CX miles earned.

Chalo I'm also bored of this now. Let's move on. 😀
So when are you going to use those miles ??
Because everytime you redeem award saver you will potentially loose card discount , platform discount , travel edge or smart buy earnings ??

And remember travel edge and smart buy are not even cashback the returns are in terms of miles and since you are never going to use those it's as good as 0 returns.

Anyways if you get a 75k cash business class return del-hk at any gives dates in a A350-900 ULR metal , let me know I wil cancel my ticket and book revenue but it has to be cash rate not miles return.

So when are you going to use those miles ??

Wherever I get a return more than ₹1/mile. That's exactly what I've been saying for the very very very start. If I am not getting more than ₹1/mile I'm at a loss. And because Amex transfers at 2:1, I need to get double that, which is hard thing to do.

Therefore for average junta Joe/Hari/Gopal public, Amex is usually redeemed for best value at Marriott, where you potentially can get (but not guaranteed) ₹1/point return. Since Marriott transfers at 1:1.

Again, this is mainly in the context of recovering the 71k investment with the 115k miles offer.

Wherever I get a return more than ₹1/mile. That's exactly what I've been saying for the very very very start. If I am not getting more than ₹1/mile I'm at a loss. And because Amex transfers at 2:1, I need to get double that, which is hard thing to do.

Therefore for average junta Joe/Hari/Gopal public, Amex is usually redeemed for best value at Marriott, where you potentially can get (but not guaranteed) ₹1/point return. Since Marriott transfers at 1:1.

Again, this is mainly in the context of recovering the 71k investment with the 115k miles offer.
Please share me the flight for 1 lakh that you are getting business class return Del-Hk in December

Sorry one final post.

The question posed was should someone take the Amex Plat card solely for the 115k points for Rs. 71k offer. And to that I was saying "No, you don't come close to recovering your 71k and therefore you should not do this upgrade solely for this offer."

As with everything internet this discussion went very off track very quickly. 🙂

This is my last post in this thread. This time I took 1st Dec - 31st Dec. But earlier I looked at the first 2-3 weeks of Dec and 1L return was widely available.

View attachment 32678
Kindly check the flight that you are getting as cheapest is a vistara flight that operators a narrow body a321 neo on a red eye .
It doens't have a full lie flat seat.

Secondly let's just for the argument sake agree it's the same flight .

Even then how can you say for a 70k card with extra 15k for taxes getting a flight worth of 1 lakhs doesn't recover the fees ???

Let's just calculate some returns that one would get if he booked that flight from smartbuy using Infinia he would get 15k miles back that would effectively make it 85k which just matches with the offer OP would get , but in the process a card like plat charge becomes first year free .

Let's take example with Atlas and TE he would get 10k miles back effective price as 90k now
Still Amex offer is better with FYF plat charge

Now let's take example of burgundy magnus which is again a controversial topic of why to maintain a 10l AQB with 3% interest
That would give 24k miles back that would make the effective price as 76k but even if we consider that what's wrong in getting a plat charge with just 9-10k .
BTW when OP asked this question , Burgundy Magnus actual reward rate was still a mystery.

Anyways , if you feel justifying 10L AQB for 3% interest rate justifies and getting a 70k card that has the potential of getting you in a 1-1.15 lakhs return flight doesn't justify , it's completely your personal opinion which I respect but cannot agree to.

And this is just one redemption I am talking about , there could be hundreds more available with a better rates, as neither you nor I are experts on award saver search, I just showed one possible redemption that easily justifies the cost of plat charge.

Kindly check the flight that you are getting as cheapest is a vistara flight that operators a narrow body a321 neo on a red eye .
It doens't have a full lie flat seat.

Secondly let's just for the argument sake agree it's the same flight .

Even then how can you say for a 70k card with extra 15k for taxes getting a flight worth of 1 lakhs doesn't recover the fees ???

Let's just calculate some returns that one would get if he booked that flight from smartbuy using Infinia he would get 15k miles back that would effectively make it 85k which just matches with the offer OP would get , but in the process a card like plat charge becomes first year free .

Let's take example with Atlas and TE he would get 10k miles back effective price as 90k now
Still Amex offer is better with FYF plat charge

Now let's take example of burgundy magnus which is again a controversial topic of why to maintain a 10l AQB with 3% interest
That would give 24k miles back that would make the effective price as 76k but even if we consider that what's wrong in getting a plat charge with just 9-10k .
BTW when OP asked this question , Burgundy Magnus actual reward rate was still a mystery.

Anyways , if you feel justifying 10L AQB for 3% interest rate justifies and getting a 70k card that has the potential of getting you in a 1-1.15 lakhs return flight doesn't justify , it's completely your personal opinion which I respect but cannot agree to.
Uffffff!!!

1697688903559.jpeg

Also, don't take Magnus. Compare against Infinia. Results are the same. You're better off not paying 71k for 115k points. You can get better value out of your 71k through direct bookings especially through Smartbuy.

Uffffff!!!

View attachment 32679

Also, don't take Magnus. Compare against Infinia. Results are the same. You're better off not paying 71k for 115k points. You can get better value out of your 71k through direct bookings especially through Smartbuy.
Are you able to book the flight at 71k ??
With Infinia wyou will get 15k bonus effective price will still be 85k

Bit you need to shell out 1 lakhs from your pocket

Are you not getting the fact that along with the ticket you are also getting plat charge card as FYF , what about the benefits that the card can give ?

Are you not getting the point here ?
And what is the point of sharing random vistara images when the aircraft used in Del-Hk is a a321 neo which is a narrow body .
Bhai please stop now

Are you able to book the flight at 71k ??
With Infinia wyou will get 15k bonus effective price will still be 85k

Bit you need to shell out 1 lakhs from your pocket

Are you not getting the point here ?
And what is the point of sharing random vistara images when the aircraft used in Del-Hk is a a321 neo which is a narrow body .
Bhai please stop now

That is the A321 neo J seat. It's got all the flatness you could want.

And yes you're out of pocket on day 1 by 1L, vs. 96K using Amex (your calculations). But you're getting 20+k back in miles through Smartbuy and CX. And you're getting 0k back from Amex.

• 1697689466101.jpeg
    1697689466101.jpeg
    103.8 KB · Views: 3