AU Ivy Premium Banking Program

I wanted to know whether anyone is a member of the AU Ivy Premium Banking Program? What is your experience of this program? I also wanted to know whether AU Bank will downgrade if the Rs 25 Lakh AQB is not maintained? or do they not have any downgrade mechanisms at all?

Autosweep is an add-on facility to convert any balance over & above certain threshold(ex: 10k,25k etc) to FD of 1yr+. So your extra money gets interest @FD rates. FDs are created automatically by system in multiples of small amount, say 1k.
Whenever you withdraw the money, if balance in s/b is less then the system automatically takes required amount from FD to complete txn. It follows LIFO method so you don't lose much interest +no penalty +liquidity maintained. All leading banks hv this facility (just that they call it by different names )
I am familiar with the concept. However, 1 year FD is normally at a lower rate and the amount you break out of it (sweep out) gets paid even less at something like 3 or 4%. In high yield savings, all my balance gets 7 to 7.5%.

Can you give some examples for banks giving 7.5% on such?

Fincare. 7.5%. Utkarsh 7.5%. Equitas is 7%.
+ @FinoGuy

I'm not sure my maths correct or not, isn't equal to cumulative interest of 5.9% (when considered incremental slabs for 5L amount). Each month around 2460 as interest which calculates overall interest rate as 5.9% + some minor interest that we get on monthly interest amount.

And, Kotak active money gives 7% simple interest on auto sweepin at the moment for 180days tenure, even other banks incl. HDFC has 7% slab for 1yr tenure.

Any advantage here with savings account vs. auto sweep in, did I miss anything or have to consider extra T&Cs?

Not worth the upgrade from ROYAL if only for banking, it's been 3 days since I got upgraded specially to hold ZENITH+ LTF since the BM/SRM hinted on the same.

But now they are telling me to close my ZENITH LTF first to proceed and there are no commitments. The ZENITH+ is less rewarding than ZENITH but has some good BMS offers.

In terms of banking they seldom do cash/cheque/DD pickups or drop offs. The issue also stems from limited knowledge about ROYAL vs IVY from the people on the ground they treat both the same. Here I would.like to point out 25lac AMB is 25 times the AMB required for ROYAL.

The only really up about the ivy is the debit card looks & cash back which works with CC payments.

View attachment 43247

Checking if you or @Lobogris know any drawbacks with sweep-in FD where we get more than this?
That depends on the amount you keep there. If it is say 50 lakhs then the interest rate would be near 7%. Now, for sweep in accounts like Kotak (I have one as well), let’s say you kept 20 lakhs per month in Fincare and Kotak each. Now, in Kotak, they will make multiple FDs each time your balance increases. Let’s say you have 5 lakhs. They make a FD today of 4.75 lakhs for 6 months at 7%. A week later you add another lakh and now a new FD maturing 6 months plus one week. 2 weeks later you add 3 lakhs and now a new FD and so on. Thus, you reach 20 lakhs and have dozens of FDs. If you actually want to enjoy the 7% on that 20 lakhs, you have to make sure not to do any debit that would trigger those FDs to be closed. I need to move funds several times a week for trading, paying bills and other reasons. So I would only get 3 to 4% max on the FDs that would be constantly broken. If I knew I wouldn’t need that money then I would place it in a 8.5% FD instead. In addition, you get only simple interest on Kotak which reduces your yield. In the 7.5% savings, all my money above the 7.5% threshold gets 7.5% compounded monthly whether it is kept for 1 week, 2 months or the full 6 months. If I move 10 lakhs for trading today but bring it back later in the evening or tomorrow, I keep getting 7.5% on the whole balance. In Kotak, that would mean 10 lakhs FD broken, 3% interest on it and then another 6 months FD starts again and I have to watch out for 6 months if I want that 7% on it. It’s too complicated except for people who keep adding money and rarely withdraw it.

Thanks. It gives some points where keeping savings balance benefits compared to Sweep IN with both pros and cons.

It's a loss if you compare with banks like Fincare and Equitas where you get a little higher interest on lower slabs. It's also a loss if you compare it to around 8% FD interest with SFBs. A person like me needs to keep at least 50 lakhs in savings for routine expenses. So I generally keep it with Fincare and Equitas. Keeping it with AU isn't a tremendous loss.
If I'm not mistaken you're the same guy who couldn't procure infinia? @S S V This is absolutely shocking.

Any nationalised or bigger/leading bank with similar s/b rates? All these 7%+ ones are from small finance banks

I have liquidity in my account too but would be nervous having a savings account in a small bank, even for twice the interest rate. It's a struggle to maximise returns and minimise risk.

Why? What's the fear? No small bank has ever lost investor deposits in India. You can keep an eye out for any negative news and move funds away if necessary. People are ok investing in the stock market which falls regularly but afraid of a bank deposit!