Did I screw up my Infinia upgrade chance?

lazyme

I had a credit limit of ₹8,26,000 on my HDFC Bank cards (HDFC Diners and Tata Neo Infinity). Recently, while applying for the Pixel credit card through their app, I was prompted to transfer credit limit from an existing card. I selected the Tata Neo card for the transfer, not realizing that the limit was shared between both cards.

This has created a situation where my Diners card's limit has also been reduced now to ₹7,25,000. I had emailed HDFC about two months ago asking for an Infinia upgrade and they indicated I needed to meet the spend criteria. I have now met the required spend criteria of ₹9 lakhs, but now my Diner's credit limit has been reduced.

- Should I email HDFC about this situation? Will they consider my total original limit for the upgrade?
- Would creating an FD of ₹1 lakh with HDFC help in temporarily increasing my Diners card limit to support the upgrade?

Appreciate any help and pointers in my situation.

Thank you

Would creating an FD of ₹1 lakh with HDFC help in temporarily increasing my Diners card limit to support the upgrade?
Consider doing 1.5 lakh fd asap
When they give you rejection based on limit
Ask them to lien fd for l.e

How can you split limit for pixel when u already emailed for INFINIA upgrade 🤔

I had a credit limit of ₹8,26,000 on my HDFC Bank cards (HDFC Diners and Tata Neo Infinity). Recently, while applying for the Pixel credit card through their app, I was prompted to transfer credit limit from an existing card. I selected the Tata Neo card for the transfer, not realizing that the limit was shared between both cards.

This has created a situation where my Diners card's limit has also been reduced now to ₹7,25,000. I had emailed HDFC about two months ago asking for an Infinia upgrade and they indicated I needed to meet the spend criteria. I have now met the required spend criteria of ₹9 lakhs, but now my Diner's credit limit has been reduced.

- Should I email HDFC about this situation? Will they consider my total original limit for the upgrade?
- Would creating an FD of ₹1 lakh with HDFC help in temporarily increasing my Diners card limit to support the upgrade?

Thank you
I too made the same mistake, transferred some limit to Pixel and lost upgrading opportunity to Millennia. What made you gor for Pixel when you have Tata infinity & Diners?🤔

Consider doing 1.5 lakh fd asap
When they give you rejection based on limit
Ask them to lien fd for l.e

How can you split limit for pixel when u already emailed for INFINIA upgrade 🤔
I honestly wasn’t aware that the limit is shared between the Tata Neo and Diners Black cards. The Pixel app specifically asked me which of the two cards I wanted to transfer the limit from, and I chose the Tata Neo. It was only after my Diners limit was reduced that I realized the limit is shared.

Thank you
1st try to merge pixel limit by closing the card.
2nd you may still get the upgrade as total limit is more than 8L. Negotiate over email
If none of the two work, then try for LE (manual)

Absolutely last option is to get fd based increase. It will not be worth for such small limit increase. You will never get auto LE if you take this step.

Thank you

Notwithstanding that your actions will send off alarm bells at the bank, might I suggest not being an octopus and instead remain focused on what you want and think before you act any further?

As always, I have found that the easiest way to get what you want from a bank is to engage in a meaningful barter; something of an alien concept for most.

What I am saying is - in case you have money to spare, and by spare I mean to invest in another avenue that might look sub-optimal in comparison, consider BUYING Infinia at a cost of around 2.5 lakh per annum in form of ULIP.

The bank will not get into nitty-gritty in this case and they will be more than happy to extend to you what you want - an Infinia card membership. You save yourself all your headache, save yourself from sub-optimal rewards, and instead use the "spend criteria" on Infinia to get more rewards for the spending you would have to do or would have done on DCB to just QUALIFY for Infinia.

I'd dare say, think smart. Do not be penny-wise and pound foolish.

You spend lakhs to meet Infinia spend criteria and still be at the mercy of the darned bank. However, when you PURCHASE Infinia, they are at your service - the way it should be.

Rest is your call.

Connect with @SSV, he has someone who can help expedite the process should you decide to go this route.

Notwithstanding that your actions will send off alarm bells at the bank, might I suggest not being an octopus and instead remain focused on what you want and think before you act any further?

As always, I have found that the easiest way to get what you want from a bank is to engage in a meaningful barter; something of an alien concept for most.

What I am saying is - in case you have money to spare, and by spare I mean to invest in another avenue that might look sub-optimal in comparison, consider BUYING Infinia at a cost of around 2.5 lakh per annum in form of ULIP.

The bank will not get into nitty-gritty in this case and they will be more than happy to extend to you what you want - an Infinia card membership. You save yourself all your headache, save yourself from sub-optimal rewards, and instead use the "spend criteria" on Infinia to get more rewards for the spending you would have to do or would have done on DCB to just QUALIFY for Infinia.

I'd dare say, think smart. Do not be penny-wise and pound foolish.

You spend lakhs to meet Infinia spend criteria and still be at the mercy of the darned bank. However, when you PURCHASE Infinia, they are at your service - the way it should be.

Rest is your call.

Connect with @SSV, he has someone who can help expedite the process should you decide to go this route.
Thanks for the tip. I will explore this route if they deny restoring my Diners limit.

I reached out to the HDFC team this morning regarding this. They said that they can review restoring my limit after I close the Pixel card. Fingers crossed they'll do it! :crossed-fingers:

Seems you are on track to have your limit restored on the DCB. Good!

Moving on, if Infinia is your end goal, try and get the bank to commit in writing before you start spending on DCB to meet spend criteria. Tell them about your spends that you do NOT want to do on DCB and would instead prefer doing on the Infinia. If they upgrade, well and good. If not, you need to do some math and see where you stand rewards-wise, spending on DCB and still potentially getting rejected for Infinia or buying Infinia and spending on Inifinia and getting better rewards for the same spend, while putting up your money in another investment avenue, so no capital erosion.

Thank you
Bhai, I got my DCB to Infinia upgrade in August this year.

My credit limit before the upgrade : 7.23 Lakhs
My credit limit after the upgrade : 7.23 Lakhs

Bindaas apply karo upgrade ke liye. Zara si kam credit limit se ghanta fark nahi padta. Spends achche hone chahiye bas.

I see a lot of people saying that you ruined your chances of Infinia or whatever. Imo, they are highly mistaken.