GUIDE into buying your Health insurance

It's not final edited because on laptop u can only see things in dark.
Will edit tomorrow asthetic

Will be making thread on most common reason for health insurance rejection/ partial rejection

Buying a health insurance has become a hectic task , because there is too many sub clause and sub limits added and as much as we are vulnerable while availing the health emergency , these company leach on those moments and save their money .

so before buying health insurance like any other thing you buy ,
make a list what do you need in your health insurance

questions like
is 5 lakh cover sufficient ?
do you think hospital you would admit having 5-6k per day budget good ?
are you ok with double wing sharing ? or you need single private room ?

but bigger question is we will buy policy based on features but there is always some conditions hidden .

now question is who need health insurance ? anyone who doesnt have corpus in multiple crores should take health insurance

there are two types of health insurance
1 individual
2 family\flotter - cheaper but let say u take 10 lakh insurance for 5 member but if one uses 8 lakh then 4 can only use remaining 2 lakhs

take individual plan for person with more risk ( like elders like one with alcohol or smoking ) as adding them in flooter would increase premium for everyone , flotter for childrens and less risk individual

now lets talk about devil in the show

1 room rent fasade - lets say you took 5 lakh policy , it has 1% policy for room rent cap so 5000 and you took 10k room and thinking u only have to pay 5k extra of room but in some policy company would only give 50% of the surgery amount too as room rent was also 50 % reimbursed
even for other post surgery expenses

so ideally take higher value policy or dont take policy with such clause

2 CO PAY - avoid this at all cost

3 sub limit - some insurance have sub limit on type of surgery like heart attack etc has 2 lakh sub limit , avoid these policy too

4 zonal vs pan india policy - sometimes policy premium depends on area , ideally take insurance on pincode you live dont take at rular address to save money . sometimes due to this you might have to do 20 % co pay .
not a deal breaker but ask your policy agent .

5 top up and super top up - these are stand alone policy you can take from same company or other . take same company for cashless experience
top up --- say u have 5 lakh insurance and 5 lakh top up
surgey 8 lakh so 5 lakh from base 3 from top up

but same year u got another 2 lakh bill u can't claim from top up as top up only will activate after 5 lakh base in same year

but in super top up - u can claim that 2 lakh standalone in next surgey same year

take super top up

6 pre and post hospitalization - ideally every company is providing this 60 day pre op and 180 day post op . some have 30 and 60 respectively so check according to your need . more for old people , less for young guns

7 day care coverage - some surgey dont need 24 hour admit , and to claim any health claim u have to be admitted 24 hour minimum so take day care coverage if you live in city as medicine is getting smarter

8 extended coverage - ayush treatment should be there , if you want to go that way , cosmetic is very much optionallllll

9 - waiting period - 30 day is minimum waiting period for any claim this is standard waiting
critical illness - has 90 day waiting period
maternity claims - 9 to 36 months (depends on policy )

10 pre existing disease -3 or 4 year depending on company but there are few diseases which would be there in policy paper has 2-3 year waiting period even though u dont have that disease

11 no claim bonus - ideally they increase the base cover in next 3-4 year for no claim bonus . say 5 lakh insurnce can go upto 7.5 with 3 year no claim bonus ( must have )

12 ambulance charges - check if this is covered or not

13 cashless hospital - check for hospital link up for cashless in city its not a prob , for tier 3 town etc you must know your hospital

14 free health checkup - a big stress reliever as having free check up from company linked checkup would be , your health condition would be updated yerly so no chance of denial for pre existing diseases

15 restoration of sum assured - lets say u took 5 lakh policy but it has restoration benifit once a year , then u can claim 10 lakh in total . but there can be clause u cant use restoration for same disease etc

16 - exclusions --- there is list of exclusion like reg fees ,some diseases which will never be covered no matter what etc so keep eye on it

17 - you should anyday choose cashless +reimbursement policy as in case of accident , no one will care for your only cashless network hospital , reimbursement is best for any planned surgery as cashless claims are being used as scam to loot money from insurance from hospital . i know many clinic doing this fake admit and earns 10k daily being fake admit patient

most important thing dont lie about your health problem like drinking & smoking

these were some of the question you should check . ideally if you would choose all you might not get any policy ticking all boxes so you have to prioritise which one most important to you

Very well put doc, thanks to make it easy for newbies.
free health checkup - a big stress reliever as having free check up from company linked checkup would be , your health condition would be updated yerly so no chance of denial for pre existing diseases
This comes at a risk as well right? Suppose you were diagnosed with slightly high uric acid or vit D deficiency. The company can use it to hike premiums?

Eagerly waiting for term insurance thread as well

Very well put doc, thanks to make it easy for newbies.

This comes at a risk as well right? Suppose you were diagnosed with slightly high uric acid or vit D deficiency. The company can use it to hike premiums?

Eagerly waiting for term insurance thread as well
It helps for slow growing disease which have 2 year period anyways
& Certainly ur uric acid increase after taking health insurance so you aren't laying

Vid d is not deal breaker
Uric acid will be high because you are Protein much before blood test .

But I understand these kinda points will be covered in next thread

It's not final edited because on laptop u can only see things in dark.
Will edit tomorrow asthetic

Will be making thread on most common reason for health insurance rejection/ partial rejection

Buying a health insurance has become a hectic task , because there is too many sub clause and sub limits added and as much as we are vulnerable while availing the health emergency , these company leach on those moments and save their money .

so before buying health insurance like any other thing you buy ,
make a list what do you need in your health insurance

questions like
is 5 lakh cover sufficient ?
do you think hospital you would admit having 5-6k per day budget good ?
are you ok with double wing sharing ? or you need single private room ?

but bigger question is we will buy policy based on features but there is always some conditions hidden .

now question is who need health insurance ? anyone who doesnt have corpus in multiple crores should take health insurance

there are two types of health insurance
1 individual
2 family\flotter - cheaper but let say u take 10 lakh insurance for 5 member but if one uses 8 lakh then 4 can only use remaining 2 lakhs

take individual plan for person with more risk ( like elders like one with alcohol or smoking ) as adding them in flooter would increase premium for everyone , flotter for childrens and less risk individual

now lets talk about devil in the show

1 room rent fasade - lets say you took 5 lakh policy , it has 1% policy for room rent cap so 5000 and you took 10k room and thinking u only have to pay 5k extra of room but in some policy company would only give 50% of the surgery amount too as room rent was also 50 % reimbursed
even for other post surgery expenses

so ideally take higher value policy or dont take policy with such clause

2 CO PAY - avoid this at all cost

3 sub limit - some insurance have sub limit on type of surgery like heart attack etc has 2 lakh sub limit , avoid these policy too

4 zonal vs pan india policy - sometimes policy premium depends on area , ideally take insurance on pincode you live dont take at rular address to save money . sometimes due to this you might have to do 20 % co pay .
not a deal breaker but ask your policy agent .

5 top up and super top up - these are stand alone policy you can take from same company or other . take same company for cashless experience
top up --- say u have 5 lakh insurance and 5 lakh top up
surgey 8 lakh so 5 lakh from base 3 from top up

but same year u got another 2 lakh bill u can't claim from top up as top up only will activate after 5 lakh base in same year

but in super top up - u can claim that 2 lakh standalone in next surgey same year

take super top up

6 pre and post hospitalization - ideally every company is providing this 60 day pre op and 180 day post op . some have 30 and 60 respectively so check according to your need . more for old people , less for young guns

7 day care coverage - some surgey dont need 24 hour admit , and to claim any health claim u have to be admitted 24 hour minimum so take day care coverage if you live in city as medicine is getting smarter

8 extended coverage - ayush treatment should be there , if you want to go that way , cosmetic is very much optionallllll

9 - waiting period - 30 day is minimum waiting period for any claim this is standard waiting
critical illness - has 90 day waiting period
maternity claims - 9 to 36 months (depends on policy )

10 pre existing disease -3 or 4 year depending on company but there are few diseases which would be there in policy paper has 2-3 year waiting period even though u dont have that disease

11 no claim bonus - ideally they increase the base cover in next 3-4 year for no claim bonus . say 5 lakh insurnce can go upto 7.5 with 3 year no claim bonus ( must have )

12 ambulance charges - check if this is covered or not

13 cashless hospital - check for hospital link up for cashless in city its not a prob , for tier 3 town etc you must know your hospital

14 free health checkup - a big stress reliever as having free check up from company linked checkup would be , your health condition would be updated yerly so no chance of denial for pre existing diseases

15 restoration of sum assured - lets say u took 5 lakh policy but it has restoration benifit once a year , then u can claim 10 lakh in total . but there can be clause u cant use restoration for same disease etc

16 - exclusions --- there is list of exclusion like reg fees ,some diseases which will never be covered no matter what etc so keep eye on it

17 - you should anyday choose cashless +reimbursement policy as in case of accident , no one will care for your only cashless network hospital , reimbursement is best for any planned surgery as cashless claims are being used as scam to loot money from insurance from hospital . i know many clinic doing this fake admit and earns 10k daily being fake admit patient

most important thing dont lie about your health problem like drinking & smoking

these were some of the question you should check . ideally if you would choose all you might not get any policy ticking all boxes so you have to prioritise which one most important to you
Hi, do you work in health insurance sector?

thanks for posting this article, I'm amazed at the time you posted, appreciate your efforts.

@Vasuki Nice thread Doctor.

Why co-pay is sucha bad idea? I mean for a fix3d deductible of 25/50k or a co-pay of 10-20% your premium can come down by about 25-40%.
Then I fail to understand why it is sucha bad idea?

@Vasuki Nice thread Doctor.

Why co-pay is sucha bad idea? I mean for a fix3d deductible of 25/50k or a co-pay of 10-20% your premium can come down by about 25-40%.
Then I fail to understand why it is sucha bad idea?
Suppose you get 5 lakh insurance from sbi with co pay of 20 % at 4k
& 6k from care health insurance
It's 20-25 % extra premium

Now there is emergency, 4 lakh bill
U need to pay nothing to care health
80k with co pay to sbi
So whose better

any experience with niva bupa/ ICICI lombard/ care/ bajaj, etc? How good is the service during claims?

also, in the thread if anyone can share their experience of various insurance company, it will be great.

I've hdfc ergo policy and I can confirm their service is really good, all things are digital as well which adds convenience and they responds to mails for any doubt.

Suppose you get 5 lakh insurance from sbi with co pay of 20 % at 4k
& 6k from care health insurance
It's 20-25 % extra premium

Now there is emergency, 4 lakh bill
U need to pay nothing to care health
80k with co pay to sbi
So whose better
Doctor saab this is over simplification. First, 5 lac ka policy 4000/6000 mei milna mushkil hai. plus savings on premium is over years , not in one year.

My question was not to favor co-pay or aggregate deductible. I wanted to know if there was any hidden TnC and problems that we are not aware in case of Co-Pay/ Aggregate deductible.

I'll cite a real example in case of HDFC Ergo Optima Secure policy. Premium of 10lac cover for a 45 yr male is approx 25000/-. If he chooses an aggregate deductible of 50000/- then his premium comes down by 40% to 15000/- . Now this is 10000/- savings per year making this plan affordable.
But Yes, in case he is needs to make a claim within 5 year he will be on loosing side.

Doctor saab this is over simplification. First, 5 lac ka policy 4000/6000 mei milna mushkil hai. plus savings on premium is over years , not in one year.

My question was not to favor co-pay or aggregate deductible. I wanted to know if there was any hidden TnC and problems that we are not aware in case of Co-Pay/ Aggregate deductible.

I'll cite a real example in case of HDFC Ergo Optima Secure policy. Premium of 10lac cover for a 45 yr male is approx 25000/-. If he chooses an aggregate deductible of 50000/- then his premium comes down by 40% to 15000/- . Now this is 10000/- savings per year making this plan affordable.
But Yes, in case he is needs to make a claim within 5 year he will be on loosing side.
You are missing the point , if one has less disease or none
Say
Newly married they should go for group plan not individual.
There u can't afford co pay.