Income Tax reporting of credit card spends

Billing amount or Purchase Amount does not attract income tax. They are your expenses not income. If you are earning any cashback or any benefits from credit cards that too in high amount like 20k or more then you can show it in you ITR under income from other sources.

I m asking that , their is limit of 10 lakh na on credit card spending per financial year,
That 10 lakh is calculated on billing amount or they will on wt you purchased ,
Like for example if i spend 2lakh every month and if i pay 1.5lakh before billing amount,
Then it's not crossed 10lakh na .
Anyway thank YOU for your reply

There is no such limit. If you are not a regular ITR filer (less income, exempted income), then you have to file ITR if your credit card spend crossed 10L in a FY.

Hello All

As per knowledge, If anyone who spends Rs 10 lakh or more per credit card then it will be reported to Income tax deptt by the card issuer bank.

I want to know that if we have 5 cards and we are spending 20 Lakh totally but below 10 lakh on each card then will it get reported to Income Tax Deptt by Card Issuer?

@TechnoFino or any other who have specific information about this then please do tell.

If you pay , in a year CC bill of 1 Lakh or more in cash or Pay Rs. 10 Lakhs bill in any mode then these transactions will be reported to Income Tax Department. Since reporting is PAN based so, Rs. 1 lakhs or Rs. 10 Lakhs limit is overall limit and should not be looked as per card limits.

I m asking that , their is limit of 10 lakh na on credit card spending per financial year,
Like for example if i spend 2lakh every month and if i pay 1.5lakh before billing amount,
in this case, billing amount doesn't mean the amount to pay that shows in CC statement, it means the cumulative amount that is charged on the card in FY. So if u spend 2L pm, then that's way above the 10L threshold

I hope you are looking into details of SFT. Have a look into this tweet by @kashif

Hello All

As per knowledge, If anyone who spends Rs 10 lakh or more per credit card then it will be reported to Income tax deptt by the card issuer bank.

I want to know that if we have 5 cards and we are spending 20 Lakh totally but below 10 lakh on each card then will it get reported to Income Tax Deptt by Card Issuer?

@TechnoFino or any other who have specific information about this then please do tell.

The limit for reporting for SFT is per bank basis. So, if all five cards are from different banks, it won’t show up in your SFT.

If you are not hiding any income then is there really a reason to get multiple cards and hide high spending on credit card?

Hello All

All relevant details are mentioned in this thread
Sft thread link.

As per Income Tax Rules for Credit Card Reporting by Bank is 10 Lakhs. It will shown SFT-006 under 26AS. Each Bank will report if threshold limit crossed. I am sharing one of screenshot having Reporting by Bank. Please look into this.

• Screenshot_2022-09-18-00-46-45-88_e2d5b3f32b79de1d45acd1fad96fbb0f.jpg
    Screenshot_2022-09-18-00-46-45-88_e2d5b3f32b79de1d45acd1fad96fbb0f.jpg
    140.9 KB · Views: 142
As per Income Tax Rules for Credit Card Reporting by Bank is 10 Lakhs. It will shown SFT-006 under 26AS. Each Bank will report if threshold limit crossed. I am sharing one of screenshot having Reporting by Bank. Please look into this.
So other banks of his didn't report because they didn't cross 10 lac spends?

Is there any similar kind of rule for debit card spends? @TechnoFino

If yes please share