Infinia vs Atlas

Lobogris

For airline tickets worth 2 lakhs, which would provide better value? Infinia or Axis Atlas? Atlas would provide 10k Axis miles which would transfer at 20k miles with various airlines. Would Infinia beat that?
In addition, what about normal POS transactions? Is Infinia better at 3.3% or Atlas at 2% which is equivalent to 4 airline miles?

What's the difference between book the tickets in smart buy with points and convert the air miles to book the tickets?
You can use the Infinia/DCB points to directly book airtickets/hotel rooms of your choice on Smartbuy.
1 point of Infinia or DCB is Rs.1.
Only 70% of the airfare/hotel room can be paid with points and for the balance 30% you need to use the Infinia or DCB card.

OR

If you don't have any immediate need for a particular flight or hotel room, you can convert the Infinia/DCB points into airmiles or hotel points in the ratio 2:1 (not recommended) or 1:1
And use these airmiles or Hotel points later.

But then you are locked into that particular airline or Hotel chain and you can use the converted points to buy airtickets only of that airline or rooms only of that Hotel chain.
Please like if you appreciate my advice, thank you🙏

You can use the Infinia/DCB points to directly book airtickets/hotel rooms of your choice on Smartbuy.
1 point of Infinia or DCB is Rs.1.
Only 70% of the airfare/hotel room can be paid with points and for the balance 30% you need to use the Infinia or DCB card

OR

If you don't have any immediate need for a particular flight or hotel room, you can convert the Infinia/DCB points into airmiles or hotel points (better option) in the ratio 1:1
And use these airmiles or Hotel points later.

But then you are locked into that particular airline or Hotel chain and you can use the converted points to buy airtickets only of that airline or rooms only of that Hotel chain.
Please like if you appreciate my advice, thank you🙏
Thanks, which one best to book the room?

For Infinia, Accor is best for Hotels.

Marriott can be of great value if you find good redemption options too. Marriott has more reach in India and worldwide too (more hotels). But Infinia to Marriott points transfer is not possible anyway.

For Infinia, Accor is best for Hotels.

Marriott can be of great value if you find good redemption options too. Marriott has more reach in India and worldwide too (more hotels). But Infinia to Marriott points transfer is not possible anyway.
Infinia to Marriott in 1:0.5 in following way:

Infinia -> KrisFlyer (1:1) and then KrisFlyer -> MarriotBonvoy (1:0.5)

Looks like the 13.5% return using HDFC infinia for air tickets on Smartbuy is an eyewash!

Yeah one really has to be on their toes while buying tickets/hotel bookings through these intermediary websites. Direct bookings/aggregators are usually cheaper if no big point benefits and kayak/skyscanner/google flights are our friend.

Which card to use and where? (14 Jan 2024)
This analysis of 'return on spends' is after deducting annual fees and also considering the welcome benefits--

1. Axis Magnus Burgundy (LTF) for--
a. Rent <50k
b. Insurance <1 lac/calendar month
c. ALL offline & ALL online (except fuel, rent >50k, insurance >1 lac, Govt, utilities, wallet, EMI, withdrawals)
Return 4.80% upto 1.5 lacs/month, 14.00% above 1.5 lacs/month)

2. Axis Magnus Burgundy (LTF) for--
Flights on Traveledge 5x points
Return 24%
No convenience fee, no discount.
But check for price markup compared to the direct airline/Skyscanner/MMT/Cleartrip.
Traveledge 1x points come after 3 days.
Traveledge 4x points of the whole month are credited on M+2 basis on the 15th (45+ days later).
eg. January 4x points will come on 15 March.

3. HDFC Infinia (Rs.2250) for--
Flights on SmartBuy 5x points
Return 13.50% (since points can be used for only 70% of airfare).
Convenience fee extra, No discount.
But check for price markup compared to the direct airline/Skyscanner/MMT/Cleartrip

4. Axis Atlas (Rs.5900 better than LTF).for--
Direct hotel and direct flights (both online and offline)
Return 10.00/11.33/12.00/12.33% based on target spends <3lacs/3 lacs/7.5 lacs/15 lacs per card anniversary year.
No convenience fee, no discount, no price markup

5. Axis Atlas (Rs.5900 better than LTF) for--
a. Rent <50k
b. Insurance <5k
c. ALL offline & ALL online (except fuel, rent >50k, insurance >5k, wallet, EMI, withdrawals).
Return 4.00/5.33/6.00/6.33% based on target spends <3lacs/3 lacs/7.5 lacs/15 lacs per card anniversary year

Infinia/DCB point to mile devaluation.

Infinia/DCB points devalued to 2:1 ratio for--
1. Accor hotels (from 15 Jan 2024)
2. Turkish airlines (from 15 Jan 2024)
3. Avianca airline (from 15 Jan 2024)
4. United airlines
5. Air Canada
6. British Airways
7. Etihad Airways

Infinia/DCB points 1:1 ratio for--
1. Air Asia
2. Finnair