Infinia LTF Regalia GOLD is better than Paid Infinia | Reward Points Calculations/Maths | INFINIA is OVERHYPED

Not open for further replies.
Ref to my recent post, Thanks everyone for your suggestions on Infinia Metal. I considered all points and did some calculations...There are 2 scenarios

1. If Spend is around 7.5 Lac (In normal scenario, Infinia is offered with this much spend..I am not considering special cases of LTF Infinia):

(a) Regalia Gold:
RP's: 20,000
Bonus RP's: 10,000 (5 Lac milestone)
Bonus RP's: 5,000 (8 Lac milestone)
Total RP's: 35,000
A = Value of RP's @ 30 paise = Rs 10,500 (Considering average redemption and not special cases like Gold catalogue/smartbuy flight @ 1:0.5)
B = Quarterly vouchers of Rs 1,500 X 4 = Rs 6,000
C = Flight Vouchers of Rs 5,000 X 2 = Rs 10,000 (5k @ 5 lac and 5k @ 7.5 lac) (Not considering airport drop voucher)
Total Benefit = A + B + C = Rs 26,500

(b) Infinia Metal:
RP's: 25,000
RP's for annual fees = 12,500
A = Value of RP's @ 50 paise = Rs 18,750 (Considering average redemption and not special cases)
B = Annual Fees = Rs 14,750
Net Benefits = A - B = Rs 4,000
Infinia Metal is a BIG loser in this case

Even if you consider RP's value at 1:1 where you have very limited choice to redeem
A = Value of RP's = 25,000
B = Annual Fees RP's value = 12,500
C = Annual Fees incl GST = Rs 14,750
Net Benefits = A + B - C = Rs 22,750
Benefits of Infinia Metal is way below Regalia Gold despite the fact, you will be forced to you redeem infinia RP's only in flight booking or buying apple products

2. If Spend is around 10 Lac

(a) Regalia Gold:
RP's: 26,666
Total RP's: 46,666
A = Value of RP's @ 30 paise = Rs 12,500 (Considering average redemption and not special cases like Gold catalogue)
C = Flight Vouchers of Rs 5,000 X 2 = Rs 10,000 (5k @ 5 lac and 5k @ 7.5 lac) (Not considering airport drop voucher)
Total Benefit = A + B + C = Rs 28,500

(b) Infinia Metal:
RP's: 33,000
RP's for annual fees = 0 (Annual Fees Waived off)
A = Value of RP's @ 50 paise = Rs 18,750 (Considering average redemption and not special cases)
B = Annual Fees = 0
Net Benefits = A - B = Rs 18,750

Even if you consider RP's value at 1:1 where you have very limited choice to redeem
A = Value of RP's = 33,000
B = Annual Fees = 0
Net Benefits = 33,000
Only 4.5k benefit compared to Regalia Gold which is actually less (refer to point #2 in final conclusion)

MY FINAL CONCLUSION:

1. Infinia Metal is only beneficial if you redeem rewards to book flights through smartbuy or apple products else it is a BIG LOSER compared to Regalia GOLD.
2. 1:1 redemption is actually not a 1:1 as you buy the flight ticket or apple product at FULL value and forego discounts available..This ratio is 1:0.85 (As shared by other experts)
3. Infinia Metal will give you serious stress to spend only on Infinia metal card and you might miss out on other great offers on other cards. Example: Currently Amex is giving maximum offers on Swiggy, Zomato, Blinkit etc.
4. Last but not the least, INFINIA is a OVERHYPED Card in my personal opinion. No offence to Infinia users.

I HAVE DECIDED TO DECLINE THE OFFER TO UPGRADE FROM LTF REGALIA GOLD TO PAID INFINIA.

I apologies if there is any error in my calculation...Kindly mention the same in the comments, I will correct it

Interesting take. I'm also not a smartbuy/vouchers person. I would just like to spend on the card and whatever is the reward to get collected. So for a usage like mine it does seem better to compare Infinia with other cards to assess if it is of high value.

Ref to my recent post, Thanks everyone for your suggestions on Infinia Metal. I considered all points and did some calculations...There are 2 scenarios

1. If Spend is around 7.5 Lac (In normal scenario, Infinia is offered with this much spend..I am not considering special cases of LTF Infinia):

(a) Regalia Gold:
RP's: 20,000
Total RP's: 35,000
A = Value of RP's @ 30 paise = Rs 10,500 (Considering average redemption and not special cases like Gold catalogue/smartbuy flight @ 1:0.5)
Total Benefit = A + B + C = Rs 26,500

(b) Infinia Metal:
RP's: 25,000
RP's for annual fees = 12,500
B = Annual Fees = Rs 14,750
Net Benefits = A - B = Rs 4,000

A = Value of RP's = 25,000
B = Annual Fees RP's value = 12,500
C = Annual Fees incl GST = Rs 14,750
Net Benefits = A + B - C = Rs 22,750
Benefits of Infinia Metal is way below Regalia Gold despite the fact, you will be forced to you redeem infinia RP's only in flight booking or buying apple products

2. If Spend is around 10 Lac

(a) Regalia Gold:
RP's: 26,666
Total RP's: 46,666
A = Value of RP's @ 30 paise = Rs 12,500 (Considering average redemption and not special cases like Gold catalogue)
Total Benefit = A + B + C = Rs 28,500

(b) Infinia Metal:
RP's: 33,000
RP's for annual fees = 0 (Annual Fees Waived off)
B = Annual Fees = 0
Net Benefits = A - B = Rs 18,750

A = Value of RP's = 33,000
B = Annual Fees = 0
Net Benefits = 33,000
Only 4.5k benefit compared to Regalia Gold which is actually less (refer to point #2 in final conclusion)

MY FINAL CONCLUSION:

1. Infinia Metal is only beneficial if you redeem rewards to book flights through smartbuy or apple products else it is a BIG LOSER compared to Regalia GOLD.
2. 1:1 redemption is actually not a 1:1 as you buy the flight ticket or apple product at FULL value and forego discounts available..This ratio is 1:0.85 (As shared by other experts)
3. Infinia Metal will give you serious stress to spend only on Infinia metal card and you might miss out on other great offers on other cards. Example: Currently Amex is giving maximum offers on Swiggy, Zomato, Blinkit etc.
4. Last but not the least, INFINIA is a OVERHYPED Card in my personal opinion. No offence to Infinia users.

I HAVE DECIDED TO DECLINE THE OFFER TO UPGRADE FROM LTF REGALIA GOLD TO PAID INFINIA.

I apologies if there is any error in my calculation...Kindly mention the same in the comments, I will correct it
Most illogical comparison. Having had the Infinia for about 7 months, I can confidently state that it is the absolute best card in India. Which card can provide you 33% cashback on booking a hotel? Any hotel from no name to 5 star, anywhere inthe world. Which card provides you with 16.5% cashback on booking a flight? Any flight anywhere in the world. I have booked dozens of flights around the world in the past 7 months and Smartbuy has ALWAYS been equal or cheaper. The only exception is if some smaller route or airline is not available there.
The points are definitely 1 Rs per point value. No question of 0.80 paise. You redeem them for flight or hotel booking at full value.
Almost everything I do is now 15 to 16.5% cheaper now. Uber, Tata Cliq, Amazon shopping, paying insurance, dining at a restaurant, Starbucks, Swiggy, Big Basket you name it. Even recharging my phone! In fact more than 16.5% as often there are additional discounts available. No other card comes anywhere close.
I value it so much that I actually got a ULIP in order to get the Infinia and it is completely worth it. Have used dozens of lounges abroad amd that alone makes it worth it.

Most illogical comparison. Having had the Infinia for about 7 months, I can confidently state that it is the absolute best card in India. Which card can provide you 33% cashback on booking a hotel? Any hotel from no name to 5 star, anywhere inthe world. Which card provides you with 16.5% cashback on booking a flight? Any flight anywhere in the world. I have booked dozens of flights around the world in the past 7 months and Smartbuy has ALWAYS been equal or cheaper. The only exception is if some smaller route or airline is not available there.
The points are definitely 1 Rs per point value. No question of 0.80 paise. You redeem them for flight or hotel booking at full value.
Almost everything I do is now 15 to 16.5% cheaper now. Uber, Tata Cliq, Amazon shopping, paying insurance, dining at a restaurant, Starbucks, Swiggy, Big Basket you name it. Even recharging my phone! In fact more than 16.5% as often there are additional discounts available. No other card comes anywhere close.
I value it so much that I actually got a ULIP in order to get the Infinia and it is completely worth it. Have used dozens of lounges abroad amd that alone makes it worth it.

Shhh.. don't take the U*** name! Paying for a credit card with the U-word, reaping both discounts and investment value is a big no-no. You MUST toil and beg for that card. How dare you pay for an insurance cum investment product and come out with a card you wanted?

I don't know how do I react to this but your point seems illogical to me.

Please explain what is illogical in it.
Getting the card via the ULIP route is worth it? I don't wanna go there but if you can justify this then I can see the bigger picture. Infinia is best for vouchers/GVs, Apple, Tanishq etc.
There are better cards for hotel booking/flight booking.

Getting the card via the ULIP route is worth it? I don't wanna go there but if you can justify this then I can see the bigger picture. Infinia is best for vouchers/GVs, Apple, Tanishq etc.
Yes, definitely worth the ULIP but that's not important here.
Absolutely no card is better. I have Axis Atlas as well and nothing comes close in flexibility and ease of booking as well as flexibility in redemption. I don't need to transfer my points to a single airline or hotel. I can use them to book ANY air ticket or ANY hotel in the world at Rs 1 per point. I am in England and want to fly to Poland? I can book a flight on any airline. I want a hotel in Lahore or Warsaw or Buenos Aires? I can book any I like. I can also use them to buy Apple products and so on.

This route is worth it when people want the card one way or another. This way then means the least damaging way when the 'regular' route is not an option.

I do not need to make heavy spends, I do not need to beg. I make my investments anywhere and everywhere, and then I decide that I will make an "investment" into ULIP, and because of that, I get a card that gives me a good rate of return on my spends.

All in all, things are offset and we are probably in the win, over term.

This is what people need to see. Getting a ULIP just for the card is poorly thought if one thinks they will get maximum returns on "investment". No one is denying that, ever. As a purely investment venture, ULIP will be at a loss when compared to other ways to grow money.

But, paying for a card through ULIP while seeing your money grow with ULIP at a diminished rate of return in comparison, makes sense when you factor in your gains and purposes.

The ones paying for Infinia through a ULIP know this well, and have factored their gains and losses. Money is not just for investment. Nobody is investing in ULIP. They are paying for Infinia through ULIP while getting back a good rate of return through ULIP, plus the gains on the card.

Absolutely no card is better. I have Axis Atlas as well and nothing comes close in flexibility and ease of booking as well as flexibility in redemption. I don't need to transfer my points to a single airline or hotel. I can use them to book ANY air ticket or ANY hotel in the world at Rs 1 per point. I am in England and want to fly to Poland? I can book a flight on any airline. I want a hotel in Lahore or Warsaw or Buenos Aires? I can book any I like. I can also use them to buy Apple products and so on.
Correct me if I am wrong, but Travel Edge also gives flexibility to redeem edge miles at 1rs, right?

If someone take card through ulip route then obviously he/she will justify by hook or crook that it is the 2nd best decision of his life...1st best decision is to buy ulip.

Logically hdfc fooled the person and must be laughing how easy it is to fool people in the name of infinia.

The logics and financial calculation will RIP in this case...

Enjoy the card!!

If someone take card through ulip route then obviously he/she will justify by hook or crook that it is the 2nd best decision of his life...1st best decision is to buy ulip.

Logically hdfc fooled the person and must be laughing how easy it is to fool people in the name of infinia.

Enjoy the card!!
You are cleverly turning the discussion towards ULIPS. Please focus on the benefits of Infinia and not how it was obtained. I have clearly shown that Infinia is FAR superior to any other card in India. Argue on the main topic.
Coming the my ULIP, I have precise calculations where it will actually outperform a similar mutual fund by around 10 lakhs over its term due to tax benefits. So no one is fooling anyone. Whether the return in less or more on such a tiny amount is immaterial to me. The benefit of having a high credit line along with Infinia without waiting for years far outweigh this. I don't need to justify it to anyone.

You are cleverly turning the discussion towards ULIPS. Please focus on the benefits of Infinia and not how it was obtained. I have clearly shown that Infinia is FAR superior to any other card in India. Argue on the main topic.
Coming the my ULIP, I have precise calculations where it will actually outperform a similar mutual fund by around 10 lakhs over its term due to tax benefits. So no one is fooling anyone. Whether the return in less or more on such a tiny amount is immaterial to me. The benefit of having a high credit line along with Infinia without waiting for years far outweigh this. I don't need to justify it to anyone.
I am over this already and asking about travel edge.

Enjoy the card!!

What people repeatedly fail to grasp is the fact that nobody is denying ULIP its rightful place as poor when it comes to treating it like an investment.

Instead of spending over 8 lakh or whatever just to qualify for the card, people are using the same 8 lakh as collateral investment, gaining something over that investment, albeit poor IN COMPARISON, and getting an Infinia in return.

This way, the card can be had for a marginal actual payment - the payment being loss of returns on taking a ULIP as against investing that corpus in pure investment avenues like mutual funds.

People are looking at value proposition here, the acquisition cost, if you will. They’re making their pure investments elsewhere. And with this acquisition cost, they’re gaining their money’s worth.

Money is not just for investing. It is also for spending. In fact, making crazy spends over 8 lakh and still not being able to get Infinia is a poorly devised plan as against the chances of getting Infinia being almost certain with ULIP. Your money stays, and you reap discounts.

Topic has been crazily discussed to death and exhaustion here, and yet.

Precisely. People are weighing the pros and cons, and doing what they feel will give them their money’s worth. It makes complete sense, not having to spend crazily and still not qualify versus take a ULIP and get the card, too, along with all other benefits of the card and the account programme, naturally, depending on the RM one gets.

If ulip gives best case return of 6%... and nifty cagr is 12%...there is loss of 6%

If infinia return is 4% (apply all the best techniques gyfter etc) compared to 1% of regalia gold i.e. gain of 3%

So net loss of 3%

Also consider lock in, surrender value, gst etc on ulip premium

Infinia is used by hdfc bank to fool and sell 3rd class product to emotionally charged infinia fans

Not open for further replies.