Magnus (paid) vs DCB (ltf)

ltf4ever

1. is magnus paid better than dcb ltf?
2. is magnus paid better than dcb paid?
3. are reward redemption options better in magnus than dcb?

i am not interested in perks like meet and greet, golf, etc.

-> If 1L is your spends in a month, and you are interested in rewards in the form of Airmiles - then Magnus is best (you can get 24% reward rate)
-> If your monthly spends are less than 1L, then magnus is not right option (DCB gives 3.3% on general spends, can vary if you are using smartbuy portal)

-> If 1L is your spends in a month, and you are interested in rewards in the form of Airmiles - then Magnus is best (you can get 24% reward rate)
-> If your monthly spends are less than 1L, then magnus is not right option (DCB gives 3.3% on general spends, can vary if you are using smartbuy portal)
isn't there any better option apart from airmiles redemption? also, if i am not mistaken, do we get 24k rupees worth of airmiles on monthly spend of 1 lakh? I don't think i can use up 24k worth of air travel every month even if i can spend 1 lac.

if u r getting dcb free, take paid magnus also as fees is covered by voucher...u only loose GST

voucher upon every renewal? which brand? I already have a dcb ltf. wanted to understand what value add magnus can give wrt the fees i end up paying. also, magnus will be the first non ltf card in my portfolio which I am usually against, so wanted to be careful.

isn't there any better option apart from airmiles redemption? also, if i am not mistaken, do we get 24k rupees worth of airmiles on monthly spend of 1 lakh? I don't think i can use up 24k worth of air travel every month even if i can spend 1 lac.

voucher upon every renewal? which brand? I already have a dcb ltf. wanted to understand what value add magnus can give wrt the fees i end up paying. also, magnus will be the first non ltf card in my portfolio which I am usually against, so wanted to be careful.

Tata Cliq for 10K, or a flight ticket upto 10K. I think most will take Tata Cliq

If you get 25k points (on 1lac spend), then you can transfer them to Air partners at 5:4 ratio . This means that u will get 20k airmiles. Note that 20k airlines should not be considered as 20k rupees..

If you are not into travelling and then 25k can be redeemed to amazon voucher of 5k, which is very low reward rate. ( in this case Magnus is not much beneficial compared to DCM reward rate)

you should consider reading the existing thread before you decide taking magnus or not (don't' just get into FOMO)

If you get 25k points (on 1lac spend), then you can transfer them to Air partners at 5:4 ratio . This means that u will get 20k airmiles. Note that 20k airlines should not be considered as 20k rupees..

If you are not into travelling and then 25k can be redeemed to amazon voucher of 5k, which is very low reward rate. ( in this case Magnus is not much beneficial compared to DCM reward rate)

you should consider reading the existing thread before you decide taking magnus or not (don't' just get into FOMO)

ok i read the thread, and was under impression that after 1 lakh spend, 31k RP will be converted to 25k rupees after 5:4 conversion. but that doesn't seem to be the case; we will be getting 25k AIRMILES and not rupees.

now i just browsed intermiles website while looking at dcb redemption options, and found that 1 intermile = 0.35 rupees!

so if that is the same case with all airmile partners, then the actual monetary reward rate becomes to be around 8.7% (25k x 0.35) for 1 lakh spend, is that correct?

Your mileage with airmiles can vary since pricing on tickets is dynamic with some airlines. Also I personally believe axis will make you spend more for that milestone benefits so unless you anyway spend that much monthly I would not recommend going for it.

Coming to % returns you can get 6.2% iirc by redeeming brand vouchers (amazon etc) which those who do not travel frequently will end up doing.

Magnus is a very good card for high spenders and frequent travellers but can make unnecessarily spend more if you lack discipline.

Note - 6.2% only if you achieve 1L milestone
Else it's 1.2% returns