Need advice: buy a car-sedan

I would also wish that. But on other hand, there has been improvement in AMT itself. 2023 Tata Punch AMT felt better than Maruti AMT I drove in about 2018. Both of them I have driven like less than 20 km. Still not comparable to DCT that I drive regularly.
Understood, and how has your experience been with their service, in my city I've never faced any kind of issue the way people say that tata is bad.

Wow thank you everyone there are so many suggestions already... Let me comb through these and understand what a lot of these terms mean...

I will get back with questions

The mini suv options mentioned are they also within budget and what are the options?

If there's a possibility of increasing the budget, consider the Verna. I own one in black colour with chromes, and she's a absolute queen. Good luck.

Understood, and how has your experience been with their service, in my city I've never faced any kind of issue the way people say that tata is bad.
I don't own Tata vehicle myself. But had good experience when I was helping someone to buy it. Didn't get much discount. I guess Tata motors don't have high cut for dealers. But process was smooth.

And they had good experience with service since then.

in bangalore and first car, i would always suggest to get a used one.
Use it for a couple of years and then actually get a brand new one. the roads and traffic is bad, pretty sure card will have dents within few days of purchasing especially at ORR.
Yes, your maintenance cost will be slightly higher but you can learn and improve driving skills then later go for a better card with higher budget.
Sceptical to go for used car though as while buying they might cheat us as I have zero idea about cars... Are there any reliable ways to get a used car?

There are B2 sedan like Suzuki dezire,hyundai aura and Honda amaze
1. New Dezire - marutis reliability, 5 star safety, No proper Automatic, 3 pot engine
2. New Amaze - Hondas reliability, good safety, CVT Automatic, 4 pot engine
3. AURA - less reliable and less safer than above 2 cars, no proper automatic
For the love of God don't buy AURA
It's incredibly unsafe with 0 rating
Not just less safer

I have seen way too many fatal accidents happening with that car and even lost some relatives in an accident in aura because taxis use that car so often

Sceptical to go for used car though as while buying they might cheat us as I have zero idea about cars... Are there any reliable ways to get a used car?
Spinny has been reliable but do go with a friend who knows about cars for testdrive and check proper functioning

The mini suv options mentioned are they also within budget and what are the options?
Most compact / mini suv should be in your price range. Top end of Tata Punch, Hyundai exter; Mid range of Tata Nexon, Hyunda Venue, Mahindra 3xo should be in your budget.

Great added this to the list then... And which one would recommend? No Honda option here?

Which micro suv would you recommend anything with proper auto transmission like Honda amaze?

If you can stretch your budget a bit then can go with skoda slavia/ vw virtus
Skoda and VW are white elephants... Jab tak chalte hain tab tak nothing beats them but jab koi error aata hai then it screw the hell out of you...
I had bitter sweet experience of having both cars

Spinny has been reliable but do go with a friend who knows about cars for testdrive and check proper functioning
I helped a friend get an almost new Ford freestyle from spinny, just 4.8k kms on it! Got it for 6 lakhs. The car is good, sad Ford is gone now.

You're welcome, brother.

So now in sedan you too recommend amaze?
And what about in SUV? I guess a hatch like altroz dct or i20 dct would be extremely good.
My choice is always Hyundai. As I drive them personally for the past 14 years and part of family for the past 20 years.

my suggestion would be Hyundai Venue DCT S(O)

Just to add my 2 cents, in bangalore traffic, AMT or any such variant will be a god send, otherwise you will keep shifting gears all day long, there's no big maintenance costs as such, just go for AMT and dont even think of manual if you want peace of mind.

yes, I know there are _those_ people who consider manual as the "purist" way but I have driven in soul crushing traffic. AMT all day anyday.

Great added this to the list then... And which one would recommend? No Honda option here?
There is only one Honda in budget. And I don't think that has 5 star safety rating.

Considering safety first, my suggestion as first car will be Tata Punch. Go for Creative S plus AMT or Accomplished S plus AMT (if looking for automatic). Do test drive nexon and Mahindra 3xo too.

My current car is Hyundai too. But next car I am looking is Mahindra BE 6. Mostly pack 2 or 3 with 59kwh battery. They just released pricing for 79 kwh pack 3.

Reactions: BVC