OneCard Credit Card closed without my consent....!!!Seeking guidance to file RBI OMBUDSMAN CASE...

Hi Guy's, seeking advice from you guy's,

I have sent a mail to OneCard Helpdesk and nodal & Grievance on 20 Dec 2024, 9:51 pm.
This is what I written "Dear OneCard Help Team,
I am again writing to request a conversion of my secured OneCard Ending with 5710(issued on the basis of a fixed deposit Rs 10,000) to an unsecured OneCard.I've been a loyal OneCard user since January 26, 2022, and appreciate the opportunity you provided to build my credit history. As my first credit card, I've used it responsibly, consistently making all bill payments on time and in full. This responsible usage has significantly improved my CIBIL score, which currently stands above 770+.Through responsible credit card usage, I've also accumulated a good number of rewards points with OneCard. Additionally, my improved CIBIL score has qualified me for unsecured credit cards with credit limits exceeding ₹1 lakh from other leading banks:
1. SBM OneCard CC - ₹10,200
2. Kotak League RuPay CC - ₹20,000
3. HDFC TATA NEU RUPAY CC - ₹83,000
4. AMAZON PAY ICICI CC - ₹1,20,000
5. ICICI CORAL RUPAY CC - ₹1,20,000
6. SBI SIMPLY SAVE RUPAY - ₹1,09,000
7. RBL SHOPRITE RUPAY CC - ₹40,000
8. FLIPKART AXIS CC - ₹1,02,000
9. FEDERAL RUPAY SIGNET CC - ₹1,00,800
10. IDFC FIRST MILLENNIA CC - ₹1,00,000
11. AXIS NEO RUPAY CC - ₹1,02,000
12. SBI CASHBACK CC - ₹1,09,000
While I recognize the benefits of unsecured credit cards, I would prefer to continue using OneCard due to my positive experience and accumulated rewards. However, I would also appreciate the flexibility of having my fixed deposit returned.

This is the last time I'm requesting to you guy's otherwise im unfortunately i'm going to close the fd & end the relationship between the me and OneCard.Therefore, I kindly request you to consider converting my secured OneCard to an unsecured OneCard. I've attached a copy of my recent CIBIL report for your reference.

Then i got an replies from OneCard on
20 Dec 2024, 9:52 pm Ticket ID: 6945924
One of our CX associates is going through your email and will be in touch with you within 48 hours.

Then again I got an call from OneCard Representatives 22 Dec 2024, 12:24 pm
She said that we're not able to provide the upgrade offer (fd to non fd OneCard cc).
Then I clear asked, "WHAT IS THE PROCESS OF CLOSING THE ONECARD CREDIT CARD...? I WANT TO KNOW." that's it from side. Then again she replied "You'll get an call from our side regarding Closure process."

Then I waited for it but then I got an email stating that "my OneCard Credit Card has been closing in next 3-4 days."
I again sent mail Grievances then again I got an call from Grievances team said from your request only we closing the card. We tried to connecting but i didn't happen we think you said YES so we did the complete closure process.
I said "i have call recordings and evidence at no point did I request or authorize the closure of my account of the FD."

Then again got an email from OneCard Grievances team On 26 Dec 2024, 3:57 pm
Regarding your recent query with ticket ID: 6945924, we would like to clarify that the request for closing your OneCard account was initiated only after receiving your confirmation. As per our records, the account closure was processed following your explicit consent on 22 Dec 2024 at 12:24 PM.
If you believe there has been a misunderstanding or have any call recordings or other evidence that suggests otherwise, please share them with us. This will allow us to review the matter thoroughly and take appropriate action if necessary.
Then I replied with call recordings as evidence.
Yes i have proof,I attached call recording of that call.I clearly said "what is the process the close the one card" That's it
Why should i close OneCard for not getting upgrade offer on December 22 2024. I going to use till the Jan or March 2025 or continue To Mature the my 2-4 fd which is on onecard.
Your representative said you'll get an call regarding this.
I waited for that call but i didn't get any call.

Then I got an mail from grievances@fplabs.tech on 30 Dec 2024, 2:18 pm
As per our telephonic conversation, we sincerely apologise for the unexpected closure of your card account without your prior consent. We deeply regret any inconvenience or disruption this may have caused you.
We understand the importance of your card and the impact this situation may have had on your financial activities, please be assured that this was not our intention, and we are taking this matter very seriously.
As discussed during our phone conversation, we will be issuing an Amazon voucher worth INR 1,000, equivalent to the maturity amount of the fixed deposit.
We kindly request your confirmation to proceed, after which we will share the Amazon voucher code with you.
They clearly mentioned that "It's their fault,they closed my OneCard CC without my explicit consent"

Then I replied to them to
help@getonecard.app
grievances@fplabs.tech
nodalofficer@fplabs.tech
On 30 Dec 2024, 5:24 pm

Subject: Urgent Request for Reissuance of My OneCard and Rectification of Unsolicited Closure

Dear Escalation and Grievance Redressal Team,
I hope this email finds you well. I am writing to express my deep concern and dissatisfaction regarding the closure of my OneCard ending with 5710, which was done without my consent, prior notice, or a direct call from your team.

This card, issued on the basis of a fixed deposit, is crucial for maintaining my long credit history, and its sudden closure is not only unwarranted but also has serious implications for my CIBIL score and overall credit standing. It is the oldest card in my CIBIL report, and I do not wish to lose this valuable piece of my credit history due to what I believe was a mistake on your part.

To summarize:
1. I have been requesting for a conversion from secured to unsecured OneCard since September 2024 (with email correspondence and tweets regarding the same), as my credit score has improved significantly (above 770+), and I now qualify for multiple unsecured credit cards from other leading banks.
2. Despite these repeated requests, I was informed that no such offer would be made to me and that I should keep using my OneCard app to "attract" the upgrade offer, as per several responses from your team.
3. On December 22, 2024, I had a conversation with your representative, where I merely inquired about the process to close the card, and never requested for the closure. Despite this, my card was closed without my consent, and my FD was refunded prematurely, resulting in a loss of interest that was due to me.
4. I have raised this issue multiple times and attached call recordings as evidence of my intention. Your team has now admitted that the closure was made without my explicit consent, which has caused significant inconvenience, not to mention the potential damage to my credit history.
I would like to reiterate my request to reissue my OneCard, as I am still in possession of my FD and wish to continue benefiting from the long credit history associated with this card. I am willing to transfer the same FD amount again to reinstate the secured card.
I understand that mistakes can happen, but the impact this has had on my financial situation and emotional well-being is significant. I believe it is only fair that you rectify this error by reissuing my OneCard and ensuring that my CIBIL score remains unaffected.
Please let me know how we can proceed to resolve this issue as soon as possible. If the situation is not addressed satisfactorily, I will have no choice but to escalate this matter to the RBI Ombudsman and Consumer Forum, as I feel that my consumer rights have been violated.
No response from their end
Again same bla blah....

Again I sent an email on 2 Jan 2025, 12:43 pm
To Both the ONECARD AND SBM BANK
help@getonecard.app
grievances@fplabs.tech
nodalofficer@fplabs.tech
customercare@sbmbank.co.in
Nodal.officer@sbmbank.co.in
principalnodalofficer@sbmbank.co.in

OneCard Credit Card Closure Complaint - Legal Action Notice
Dear OneCard
Thank you for your response regarding my complaint (Ticket ID: 7020779) about the unauthorized closure of my OneCard Credit Card.
However, I am deeply disappointed with the proposed resolution of an INR 1,000 Amazon voucher. This does not address the serious issues surrounding the closure of my account, which fall under several provisions of the RBI Ombudsman Scheme.
Here's a breakdown of the concerns that violate the guidelines set forth by the RBI Ombudsman Scheme complaint portal:
Violations of the RBI Ombudsman Scheme:
* Credit Card Closed Without Consent (Regulation 5(2) of CoD Regulations, 2022): My OneCard Credit Card was closed without my explicit consent. This is a clear violation of RBI regulations.
* Unauthorized Account Closure (Regulation 5(2) of CoD Regulations, 2022): A representative made the decision to close my account without my authorization. This falls under unauthorized account closure.
* Lack of Communication (Regulation 6(1) of CoD Regulations, 2022): I was not informed before the closure through any form of communication, including calls (as per your claim that calls didn't connect). This is a violation of communication regulations.
* Misinterpretation of Conversation (Regulation 8 of CoD Regulations, 2022): During the call with the escalation team, I clarified that I never requested immediate closure. However, an email stating the opposite was sent. This is misinterpretation of conversation.
* Ignoring Evidence (Regulation 7(1) of CoD Regulations, 2022): Despite providing call recordings as proof, the closure proceeded. This is a disregard for presented evidence.
* Unsatisfactory Resolution (Regulation 13(6) of CoD Regulations, 2022): The escalation team's offer of a voucher is an unsatisfactory resolution to a serious issue.
* False Promises (Regulation 8 of CoD Regulations, 2022): Initially, the representative mentioned a call regarding the "closing process," which I interpreted as information gathering, not closure itself. This can be construed as a false promise.
* False Trade Practices (Section 2(a) of the Consumer Protection Act, 2019): The entire sequence of events, from the lack of communication to the unaddressed evidence, suggests potential false trade practices.
* No Response from Nodal Officer (Regulation 10 of CoD Regulations, 2022): My attempts to reach the nodal officer at nodalofficer@fplabs.tech have been unsuccessful. This is a violation of the regulation requiring a designated nodal officer for grievance redressal.
* Denial of Reopening (Regulation 11 of CoD Regulations, 2022): Despite providing evidence, the claim of not having the authority to reopen the account seems suspect. There should be a proper escalation process for such situations.
* Negative Impact on Credit Score (Regulation 8 of CoD Regulations, 2022): The closure of this FD-backed card negatively affects my creditworthiness, bill payment history, and credit history, especially considering it was my oldest credit line. This is a significant consequence.
Next Steps:
Given the seriousness of these violations and the lack of a satisfactory resolution, I am left with no choice but to explore further options. This includes:
* Filing a formal complaint with the RBI Ombudsman.
* Considering legal action against SBM Bank for the unauthorized closure and its consequences.
I urge you to reconsider the current offer and propose a solution that addresses the aforementioned issues. This could involve immediate reactivation of my account, a documented apology for the inconvenience caused, and compensation for the potential damage to my credit score.
Please respond within 7 business days with a revised resolution plan.

• OneCard CC Closed Without Consent .pdf
    OneCard CC Closed Without Consent .pdf
    18.4 MB · Views: 17
  • Screenshot_20250108-093419_Gmail.webp
    Screenshot_20250108-093419_Gmail.webp
    148.7 KB · Views: 14
  • Screenshot_20250108-093254_Gmail.webp
    Screenshot_20250108-093254_Gmail.webp
    157.2 KB · Views: 12
  • Screenshot_20250108-093002_Gmail.webp
    Screenshot_20250108-093002_Gmail.webp
    120.3 KB · Views: 8
  • Screenshot_20250108-092946_Gmail.webp
    Screenshot_20250108-092946_Gmail.webp
    116.9 KB · Views: 8
  • Screenshot_20250108-092929_Gmail.webp
    Screenshot_20250108-092929_Gmail.webp
    89 KB · Views: 6
  • Screenshot_20250108-092910_Gmail.webp
    Screenshot_20250108-092910_Gmail.webp
    137.3 KB · Views: 9
  • Screenshot_20250108-092717_Gmail.webp
    Screenshot_20250108-092717_Gmail.webp
    224.4 KB · Views: 14
We would like to offer an Amazon voucher worth INR 1,000, equivalent to the maturity interest amount of the fixed deposit, as a gesture of goodwill.

We kindly request your confirmation to proceed with this, and upon receiving it, we will promptly share the Amazon voucher code with you.
What should I reply...? I didn't replied yet....so what should be the counter offer...?

Update from nodal.officer@sbmbank.co.in
Again same things offered ie Rs1000 Amazon voucher.
I'm asking you guy's what should be the minimum compensation should I ask..?
They're ready to provide Amazon voucher worth Rs 1000 only. They're asking same offer again & again.
Should I ask 50k as compensation because they're also giving me Rs 1000 Amazon voucher only that is also in the name of "GOOD WILL" despite their fault.

What should I reply...? I didn't replied yet....so what should be the counter offer...?

They're ready to provide Amazon voucher worth Rs 1000 only. They're asking same offer again & again.
Should I ask 50k as compensation because they're also giving me Rs 1000 Amazon voucher only that is also in the name of "GOOD WILL" despite their fault.
@SSV @Vasuki @HumorSimpson @kuchbhi @Pradumya @quino @VISHESH_BANSAL @varun__goel_ @doraemon @Pissant @Abhishek012
@TechnoFino @vaibhav111 @talkwithfino @cardy @vega @sunit123 @6ix9ine

Bhai log please help kardo yaar

What help do you need? The bank can close your card at ANY time without assigning a reason. There is nothing you or anyone can do if they close it. You can request them to reconsider and they have offered ₹1k which isn't bad. So accept it and move on. You yourself wrote to them about card closure and then stated the same on the phone call.

@Salman925492

If they are despo that much. Means, they have acknowledged their misdemeanor.

Tell them 1000 is unreasonable.

You will not settle below this much(whatever amount you think can cure this defect) or approach ombudsman.

Stand your ground. You have upper hand.

What help do you need? The bank can close your card at ANY time without assigning a reason. There is nothing you or anyone can do if they close it. You can request them to reconsider and they have offered ₹1k which isn't bad. So accept it and move on. You yourself wrote to them about card closure and then stated the same on the phone call
Bhai my mereko interest nhi chahiye kya....?
Jo fd maturity pe milega...?
My Last 3 to 5 month se same email likhte hue aaraha(attached screenshot) hu upgrade offer dedo bolke agar nhi diya tho card close karunga bolke tab nhi kiye card close a log abhi q kiye.
Even nodal officer both sbm bank and OneCard Grievance accept kiya ki unke End se misunderstanding se card close hua bolke accept kiye.
Aur Bhai interest Jo milega sirf aur 3-4 months me maturity hoyega fd tho usme hi mil jayega Rs 500 To Rs 600.
A log bina consent ke card close karke ab bol rahe hai ki Rs1000 Amazon voucher lelo bolke.
Infact O literally Rs400-Rs500 offer derahe hai....? Iske liye maan jau kya bhai...?
Ab kya hi bolu in logo ko?

• Screenshot_20250111-201148_Gmail.webp
    Screenshot_20250111-201148_Gmail.webp
    153.8 KB · Views: 5
  • Screenshot_20250111-201206_Gmail.webp
    Screenshot_20250111-201206_Gmail.webp
    138.3 KB · Views: 5
Obviously yes
My Last 3 to 5 month se same email likhte hue aaraha(attached screenshot) hu upgrade offer dedo bolke agar nhi diya tho card close karunga bolke tab nhi kiye card close a log abhi q kiye.
The last time when you emailed. There was a bill due because of that they didn't close your card at that time. Read the email reply carefully. This time no dues.
Even nodal officer both sbm bank and OneCard Grievance accept kiya ki unke End se misunderstanding se card close hua bolke accept kiye.
Aur Bhai interest Jo milega sirf aur 3-4 months me maturity hoyega fd tho usme hi mil jayega Rs 500 To Rs 600.
A log bina consent ke card close karke ab bol rahe hai ki Rs1000 Amazon voucher lelo bolke.
Infact O literally Rs400-Rs500 offer derahe hai....? Iske liye maan jau kya bhai...?
The problem is you are stretching the simple thing for so long. No one can help you in deciding the amount. @sjmajumder already helped you and again you are repeating the same thing. Ask the amount that will make you satisfied. If I say take whatever you are getting and move on, will it make you satisfied?
For a card like the One Card, it often becomes less significant once individuals acquire credit cards from other banks. They may have done you a favor by closing your card.

You already have good credit cards, why do you care about OneCard so much? Even if it was your oldest card, your CIBIL score may drop a few points, but over time, it should recover. Additionally, they are offering a ₹1000 Amazon gift card, which is better than the interest you would earn on your FD. If it doesn’t make you happy, ask for something else that you like. However, they won’t fulfill demands like ₹50,000. As @Anindya98 said, you are just stretching a simple issue. Even if it doesn't make you happy, there is always a route to the consumer court or RBI.

They are giving voucher reason being once request for closure done, one card looses its control over card and bank will have sole authority, as it's tri party bank will be responsible and one card in no circumstances can be held responsible even if you go to ombudsman also. And it's just blame game.

They're coming now with new offer of Rs 2000 Amazon Voucher that too on good will gesture because I have sent a mail about Rs 50000 compensation.
I think because of that Rs 50000 compensation which was asked so they decided the upgrade the last offer of Rs 1000 to Rs 2000. What should I say...? Again nodal officer saying we dont have any provision to reopen of OneCard Credit Card.i Warned about RBIO COMPLAINT...!!
He said that's upto you...

• Screenshot_20250114-143539_Gmail.webp
    Screenshot_20250114-143539_Gmail.webp
    199 KB · Views: 14
They're coming now with new offer of Rs 2000 Amazon Voucher that too on good will gesture because I have sent a mail about Rs 50000 compensation.
I think because of that Rs 50000 compensation which was asked so they decided the upgrade the last offer of Rs 1000 to Rs 2000. What should I say...? Again nodal officer saying we dont have any provision to reopen of OneCard Credit Card.i Warned about RBIO COMPLAINT...!!
He said that's upto you...
Bud, I am saying again. STAND YOUR GROUND 💪. In mail, they have admitted to closing your card without prior consent. What else proof do you need?

Bhai I agree but here are some brothers are advising that its my fault,they helped by closing your card,you should take Rs1000 voucher which they offer.
you only raised request,even RBIO can't help you, they will reject your case blah blah.
So these replies are causing confusion. Whether I should file RBIO case against them are not...?

Bhai I agree but here are some brothers are advising that its my fault,they helped by closing your card,you should take Rs1000 voucher which they offer.
you only raised request,even RBIO can't help you, they will reject your case blah blah.
So these replies are causing confusion. Whether I should file RBIO case against them are not...?
Now reach out to the ombudsman of concerned institution with the reply mail. Ask your desired compensation citing rbi guidelines. Write in email, should you continue to refusing to cure this defect, which has caused me immense mental anguish and tatter my finances, with just, adequate and reasonable compensation of this much I will be compelled to approach the the apex authority, RBI ombudsman. After this if you don't receive resolution, you know where to go.

In no way was it your fault, you never asked for cancellation you only asked procedure