SBI BPCL Card - Issue with Reward points and cash backs

financewizard

This is an awareness post regarding SBI Credit Cards:

I have an SBI BPCL Fuel Credit card (Rupay Variant). In my last month's bill, I noticed that SBI has not credited additional Reward points for fuel transactions and the Reversal of Fuel Surcharges for my card. Even the other spends where I was entitled to get 5x RP or higher were not credited and I was just credited with 1x RP for my entire spending. Then I also happened to check with my friend who has the same card. Even for him SBI cards had not credited RPs and wavered off the Fuel Surcharges. Then I checked for older transactions and with complex calculations, I noticed that SBI is not crediting proper reward points and not reversing fuel surcharge for most of the transactions. Initially, I reached out to Customer care and received a poor response and I escalated the issue until I got a resolution. After escalating to the highest level and looping in RBI, they casually stated that this might be due to a system error and that they had notified the corresponding team & finally, they manually added the reward points for 3-4 months' worth of transactions and reversed the surcharges.
Next month, I noticed that the reward points and fuel surcharges were reflecting correctly, however, for my friend, the numbers did not tally up. Now I believe that this issue is a big scam by SBI across credit card holders (at least to that of the SBI BPCL Rupay card). To all those who are reading this post and have an SBI card, please check your Reward points and fuel surcharge waivers, and if you see a discrepancy raise it with SBI Customer Care. Also, SBI plays smartly by just mentioning the overall accrued RPs for the statement month and not giving the split for each transaction. This makes it hard for consumers to validate the Reward points and they exploit that loophole to their advantage.

So for a couple of months, just use the Card for BPCL fuel transactions and calculate the proportionate fuel surcharge waiver and reward points. Then based on that info catch SBI by the neck and escalate to the highest level. Only then will they start crediting the RP and Surcharge waivers correctly.

I have an SBI BPCL Fuel Credit card (Rupay Variant). In my last month's bill, I noticed that SBI has not credited additional Reward points for fuel transactions and the Reversal of Fuel Surcharges for my card. Even the other spends where I was entitled to get 5x RP or higher were not credited and I was just credited with 1x RP for my entire spending. Then I also happened to check with my friend who has the same card. Even for him SBI cards had not credited RPs and wavered off the Fuel Surcharges. Then I checked for older transactions and with complex calculations, I noticed that SBI is not crediting proper reward points and not reversing fuel surcharge for most of the transactions. Initially, I reached out to Customer care and received a poor response and I escalated the issue until I got a resolution. After escalating to the highest level and looping in RBI, they casually stated that this might be due to a system error and that they had notified the corresponding team & finally, they manually added the reward points for 3-4 months' worth of transactions and reversed the surcharges.
Next month, I noticed that the reward points and fuel surcharges were reflecting correctly, however, for my friend, the numbers did not tally up. Now I believe that this issue is a big scam by SBI across credit card holders (at least to that of the SBI BPCL Rupay card). To all those who are reading this post and have an SBI card, please check your Reward points and fuel surcharge waivers, and if you see a discrepancy raise it with SBI Customer Care. Also, SBI plays smartly by just mentioning the overall accrued RPs for the statement month and not giving the split for each transaction. This makes it hard for consumers to validate the Reward points and they exploit that loophole to their advantage.

So for a couple of months, just use the Card for BPCL fuel transactions and calculate the proportionate fuel surcharge waiver and reward points. Then based on that info catch SBI by the neck and escalate to the highest level. Only then will they start crediting the RP and Surcharge waivers correctly.
As per sbi care rupay CC is not eligible for surcharge waiver of 1% funny right

Transaction must be between 400-4000.
Are bhai 1900.97 Rs transaction and 19.01 Rs ka surcharge+Gst laga...but only got 247 reward points,1% surcharge nahi mila BPCL RUPAY CC & BPCL VISA meh (5 month old card) 1900.97 Rs transaction and 19.01 Rs ka surcharge+Gst laga so 1% surcharge waiver Mila & but gst nahi miltha...

Might be correct.
So we are in loss if we take sbi bpcl rupay..

For rupay. for fuel of 1900.97 Rs I paid 19.01 extra let it be 1% surcharge & no gst charged...I got 19×13=247 points i e. 247*0.25=61.75 Rs (valued fuel)...so profit 61.75-19.01=42.74 Rs (valued fuel/profit) for rupay CC

For visa one...fuel of 1900.97 Rs I paid 22.45 extra let it be..1.16% surcharge 22.05 Rs & 1.8% (1.8% of surchage) 0.45 Rs gst charged...I got 19×13=247 points i e. 247*0.25=61.75 Rs (valued fuel)...so profit 61.75-22.45+19=58.3 Rs (valued fuel/profit) for visa CC.....so difference between visa-rupay=58.3-42.74=15.56 Rs

Are bhai 1900.97 Rs transaction and 19.01 Rs ka surcharge+Gst laga...but only got 247 reward points,1% surcharge nahi mila BPCL RUPAY CC & BPCL VISA meh (5 month old card) 1900.97 Rs transaction and 19.01 Rs ka surcharge+Gst laga so 1% surcharge waiver Mila & but gst nahi miltha...
Modi ka amrutkal hai😉
GST waiver nahi milta hai

Reactions: Rao
So we are in loss if we take sbi bpcl rupay..

For rupay. for fuel of 1900.97 Rs I paid 19.01 extra let it be 1% surcharge & no gst charged...I got 19×13=247 points i e. 247*0.25=61.75 Rs (valued fuel)...so profit 61.75-19.01=42.74 Rs (valued fuel/profit) for rupay CC

For visa one...fuel of 1900.97 Rs I paid 22.45 extra let it be..1.16% surcharge 22.05 Rs & 1.8% (1.8% of surchage) 0.45 Rs gst charged...I got 19×13=247 points i e. 247*0.25=61.75 Rs (valued fuel)...so profit 61.75-22.45+19=58.3 Rs (valued fuel/profit) for visa CC.....so difference between visa-rupay=58.3-42.74=15.56 Rs
Use HELLO BPCL
No fuel surcharge
0.5 bonus earning😍

But on SBI BPCL RUPAY CC (NEW ONE,ONE MONTH OLD),I RECEIVED REWARD POINTS BUT DIDNT RECEIVED 1% SURCHARGE WAIVER
Today received 1% surcharge waiver after mailing them i.e. 19 Rs,they charges only extra 19 Rs for fueling of 1900.97 and reversed it back after 4 days..on Rupay BPCL cc

• Screenshot_20231222_101811_Chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20231222_101811_Chrome.jpg
    156.8 KB · Views: 15
  • Screenshot_20231222_101444_SBI Card.jpg
    Screenshot_20231222_101444_SBI Card.jpg
    47.4 KB · Views: 15
  • Screenshot_20231222_101417_SBI Card.jpg
    Screenshot_20231222_101417_SBI Card.jpg
    44.7 KB · Views: 14

My VISA BPCL is good giving proper RP and fuel 1% surcharge waiver for all transaction at two fuel pumps...But I faced challenge with RUPAY BPCL as on 1st it didn't reverse 1% fuel surcharge waiver on tap & pay at fuel pump,sbi care lady said RUPAY not entitled for 1% fuel surcharge waiver but after 4 days means 18 Dec 23 transactions of 1900.97 done (1919.98 with tax) on 22 Dec 2023 they reversed 19 Rs as fuel surcharge waiver...sbi care are allien or me ?

• Screenshot_20231222_101811_Chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20231222_101811_Chrome.jpg
    156.8 KB · Views: 4
  • Screenshot_20231222_101444_SBI Card.jpg
    Screenshot_20231222_101444_SBI Card.jpg
    47.4 KB · Views: 3
  • Screenshot_20231222_101417_SBI Card.jpg
    Screenshot_20231222_101417_SBI Card.jpg
    44.7 KB · Views: 4
I am using SBI BPCL VISA CC from past,4 months and for fuel transaction 13x points has been crediting properly within 4 days & 1% fuel surcharge waiver also been credited...can you ping screenshot for more info...Next from SBI CARDS APP got PRE APPROVED SBI BPCL RUPAY CC (10 days old) yet to do fuel transactions on this RUPAY CC after that will revert you..mean while how old is your SBI BPCL RUPAY CC & SBI gives 13x on every 100 Rs spent.
I also got pre-approved RUPAY variant BPCL last month, i just had cashback card before that, in my observation, only the UPI rupay transaction at BPCL is not giving rewards points plus charging fuel surcharge, but using upi on groceries and departmental store is giving 5x points as expected. And transaction done directly via the card gave rewards and fuel surcharge waiver as expected.

Use HELLO BPCL
No fuel surcharge
0.5 bonus earning😍
I added money in the smart drive wallet using the bpcl rupay card via razorpay portal. I got 13x reward point as well. But now i don't know how to use that balance. Every bpcl petrol pump i go to and ask if they have bpcl app ka QR code, all of them say no. I didn't even find any YouTube videos either.

Say them that you want to pay via OTP..

They will ask for your mobile number and trigger OTP to your registered number. Just share the OTP with them..