SBI Cashback credit card official benefits revised w.e.f. 1st May 2023

BhaiyaJi

REVISION OF BENEFITS ON CASHBACK SBI CARD:

With effect from 01 May 2023, following changes will be applicable on your CASHBACK SBI Card:

A. Below categories will not be eligible for Cashback benefit, apart from existing exclusions:

CategoryMerchant Category Code (MCC)
Jewelry5051, 5094, 5944, 7631
School & Educational Services5111, 5192, 5942, 5943, 8211, 8220, 8241, 8244, 8249, 8299, 8351
Utilities4814, 4900, 9399, 4816, 4899
Insurance Services5960, 6300, 6381
Card, Gift, Novelty & Souvenir Shops5947
Member Financial Institution/Quasi Cash6011, 6012, 6051
Railways4011, 4112

The Merchant Category Codes are defined by the Networks and are subjected to change basis their discretion and such changes shall be implemented basis communication from the Networks without any requirement for intimation/information to the customers.

B. Maximum Cashback that can be earned on online & offline spends in a statement cycle will be capped at `5000.

C. Complimentary Domestic Airport Lounge benefit will be discontinued.

screenshot_2023-03-31-12-31-57-784_com-google-android-apps-docs-edit-jpg.13045

Last edited by a moderator:
I am not being a crybaby. Stop showcasing this card as something very great. This is the first card which holds an annual fee and still no lounge access. They advertised this as with a card with lounge access and silently withdrew it. They also downgraded the card and we have every right to try making it a LTF. To rest of the members I would like to say this card is nothing but a crap and only good as a LTF card, otherwise you have hdfc milllenia which offers similar benefits. and FYI I have paid my dues and asked them to stop the card, now they want to talk to me before closing the account 😛
No, it's not crap and it is FAR better than Millenia. It has a much higher 5k cap per month unlike the low 1k cap on Millenia. In addition, it can get you 5% anywhere online unlike Milennia. This is the absolute best cashback card available and 1k fee is fully justifiable.

we used to get 5 percent anywhere, now there is a constant tension in mind before making the purchases if its in excluded list. Recently I saw a post where a person didn't even get a cashback for spends on zomato.

I am not getting Cashback on Uber rides. Can anyone else confirm the same? I also did not get cashback on Zomato for some reason. Has the card stopped giving cashback for Uber and Zomato?
Buy Uber gv or zomato gv from Amazon and get 5% SBI Cashback credit card.

Magicpin like website also offer you some discounts + 5% SBI Cashback credit card.

Park+ also offer 10% off on Uber gv or zomato gv + 5% SBI Cashback credit card.

@NikhilG

I am not being a crybaby. Stop showcasing this card as something very great. This is the first card which holds an annual fee and still no lounge access. They advertised this as with a card with lounge access and silently withdrew it. They also downgraded the card and we have every right to try making it a LTF. To rest of the members I would like to say this card is nothing but a crap and only good as a LTF card, otherwise you have hdfc milllenia which offers similar benefits. and FYI I have paid my dues and asked them to stop the card, now they want to talk to me before closing the account 😛
@NikhilG
Haha.....is lounge access a metric for utility of a card - No, not at all ! It all depends on the usage and card type/proposition (cashback/travel/reward/luxury).

If you think it's that bad card, what's stopping you from closing it, even if it's LTF or not! With lots of exclusions, surprises, and pathetic customer support, the SBI CB is still able to create a Buzz in the market. Crap or useful - it depends on the individual's usage, so no point debating over that

btw, all the best with your attempts on converting it as LTF basis retention team. I feel they will waive the charges for current/last year, but will be really interesting to see if they are offering it LTF! keep the community posted.

My view,
SBI CB card is the best cash back card in the market right now with just 2L fee waiver..
If it’s LTF = icing on the cake !!

For a 2L spend in a year which is quite doable for an average cc holder , you get:

1) 10K no strings attached CB +
2) annual fee waiver …

Really the best card out there in this category …what else we want..
very simple and straight forward card
To avoid any ambiguity please keep this SS…it’s very handy…

1703410003041.png

SBI cashback is the best cashback card as of now. I'm sure they'll devalue it further but one can always enjoy the cashback as long as it lasts.
You said you only earned back your yearly fee in about 10 months, that means your spends are low on the card. Their retention team talks to everyone who tries to close a card but they'll not make it LTF for you. They can probably waive off your yearly charges for this year.

The way you're trying to pitch millennia as the better card just proves one thing : 'grapes are sour'. And talking about lounge access : With millennia you'll only get a lounge access if you spend 1 lakh in a quarter which I highly doubt you're going to get if you're only earning 1000 cashback in 10 months. Lounge access won't last forever in case of low tier and mid tier credit cards, banks were only offering that so that people buy their credit cards.

I think my only mistake is that I hold lot of credit cards now and its now becoming difficult for me to spread my spends across different credit cards. The reason I did appreciate millenia was due to the fact that during my recent visit to a t3 delhi all my credit cards went useless except hdfc millenia which saved my ass on that specific day( and no my quarter spends on millenia was not 1 lakh still I got access only on millenia and its ltf for me). Credit cards declined on t3 international lounge includes sbi cashback, hsbc plati, icici amazon pay).

Cashback card and Apay card mein lounge access hai hi kahan 😂