I had requested my credit limit to increase in Infinia and after repeated followups , they have agreed but dropped a very strange mail which I have mentioned below . Is this a standard practice ?
"
On receipt of your mail we have liased with the concerned department for review and we will be able to review up to XX lakhs based on payslip income subject to cibil and internal checks. Hence we request you to provide your consent with skimming clause from your registered mail id along with last 4 digits of card number to review further.
Skimming clause format.
To,
HDFC Bank
Cards Division,
Chennai
I would like to avail a limit of Rs. Lacs on the credit card issued to me card number)
I confirm that the Bank has informed us about the various Risks (including but not limited to fraudulent usage, lost card & skimming risk ) associated with high credit limits set on individual cards. I have independently evaluated and understood the risks and have made a informed decision to request the Bank in setting up high credit limit on the individual cards. We agree and undertake full and absolute liability on the card keeping in mind the risks as above mentioned.
Defining of Skimming: Skimming is defined as the compromise of the full data encoded on a genuine credit card, including the CVV, followed by the transfer of this data onto the counterfeit card.
"