The Hidden Risks of Similar UPI IDs: A Personal Experience

Bugs Bunny

In the age of digital payments, UPI (Unified Payments Interface) has been a revolutionary tool, simplifying money transfers and boosting financial transactions across India. While its ease of use and seamless integration have made it popular, there is an underlying issue that many users might not be aware of — the risk of near-identical UPI IDs.

My Encounter with a Near-Miss Transaction

Recently, I discovered firsthand the potential dangers of this issue. I own the UPI ID myname.mysurname@pingpay, which I regularly use for transactions. However, while transferring money from my Google Pay account to my PingPay account, I accidentally sent the payment to mynamemysurname@pingpay — an ID that looks almost identical to mine, differing only by a dot. Although this particular transaction involved only a small amount, it opened my eyes to the larger risk this similarity poses. Even if we verify the banking name that appears after entering a UPI ID, it can still be similar, as seen in both my case and my friend's.

Now, don’t hate me for my negligence — after all, it’s just a trivial issue of a mere dot (.). But the impact this small detail can have is far from trivial; it can result in losses amounting to lakhs.

Real-Life Consequences: A Friend's Costly Mistake

To illustrate just how problematic this can be, a close friend of mine faced an even more severe consequence due to a similar issue. In his case, he mistakenly transferred INR 1 lakh to the wrong recipient — someone whose UPI ID was nearly identical to his intended payee’s. This error led to significant financial and emotional stress, serving as a stark warning of the potential pitfalls of UPI ID similarities.

Struggling to Get Support

After realizing the issue, I tried contacting NPCI and even the Samsung Pay team, but they denied any assistance. Fortunately, we were able to leverage our network — all the bank managers in my area are acquaintances of my friend. Because of this, we managed to get the other person’s account frozen within seconds. But this raises an important question: What about ordinary users who don’t have such connections? How would they manage to secure their funds or stop fraudulent transactions quickly? This lack of accessible support is alarming and needs to be addressed.

What Needs to Change?

1. Protection for Original UPI Owners: The UPI system should offer safeguards to the original owner of a UPI ID by allowing them to register similar IDs that may cause confusion, much like how some email providers ensure a user’s identity by automatically reserving similar domains. This practice can help avoid misunderstandings and enhance user security.

2. Regulation of Similar UPI IDs: NPCI and associated UPI platforms should implement policies to prevent or review the registration of UPI IDs that are nearly identical to existing ones. This approach would help prevent unintentional impersonation and reduce the likelihood of costly, misdirected transactions.

3. Improved Support Systems: UPI service providers need to ensure that their support teams are equipped and willing to assist users facing such critical issues. No user should feel stranded without help in situations involving potential financial loss.

Why This Matters?

As digital payments continue to rise, user trust and security should be at the forefront. The situation I encountered is a warning that even a small dot can have significant implications. If service providers implement measures similar to how Google safeguards user accounts by reserving all variations with dots and hyphens, it would create a more secure and user-friendly environment for digital payments.

I hope my experience sheds light on an important aspect of digital banking that deserves attention. Let’s work towards recognizing these potential vulnerabilities and addressing them, so we can keep digital transactions secure and reliable.

Just wait for the account owner name to appear before transacting, it's that simple.
The issue here is that when we write the UPI ID, it shows the banking name of the person, which is exactly the same as mine. This creates further confusion because two people can have identical names, especially when the only difference in the UPI IDs is a dot. This similarity increases the risk of accidental transfers, making it crucial to address the potential for confusion in the UPI system.

To avoid this, I usually do a 1rs transaction first. Then check with the person if they received it and then pay from history/phone book/last used.
That's how it should be done but the issues is none of my friends listen. They just mindlessly do the transactions. Also an id differenting with a dot and having a same banking name as they want assures the person further as to they are correct.

After realizing the issue, I tried contacting NPCI and even the Samsung Pay team, but they denied any assistance. Fortunately, we were able to leverage our network — all the bank managers in my area are acquaintances of my friend. Because of this, we managed to get the other person’s account frozen within seconds.
What gives you the right to freeze someone else's a/c for your mistake? Did you even attempt to contact the other party? At most, you could have had the other party's bank put a lien on the disputed amount, or sent them a legal notice for recovery of the funds

Just wait for the account owner name to appear before transacting, it's that simple.
Bro, there can be two person with the same name.

If UPI's ID is same, made-up of name and surname how you expect different name?

May be someone can have middle name also. But hamesha ayesa hi ho jaruri nahi rehta.

The issue here is that when we write the UPI ID, it shows the banking name of the person, which is exactly the same as mine. This creates further confusion because two people can have identical names, especially when the only difference in the UPI IDs is a dot. This similarity increases the risk of accidental transfers, making it crucial to address the potential for confusion in the UPI system.
That's valid point.

What gives you the right to freeze someone else's a/c for your mistake? Did you even attempt to contact the other party? At most, you could have had the other party's bank put a lien on the disputed amount, or sent them a legal notice for recovery of the funds
Jumping the conclusions without knowing the full picture is bad. We got his number from a bank and that person refused to return the money and blocked our numbers. Though technically still I don't have any right to put his account on hold but still it's my money and I'll go to any extent to get my money back. Thanks

That's how it should be done but the issues is none of my friends listen. They just mindlessly do the transactions. Also an id differenting with a dot and having a same banking name as they want assures the person further as to they are correct.
Ask Payee's QR for making txn. Best way, if one doesn't have an another device that time, can use the QR from gallery and can make txn of ₹2k and later balance amount.

Or, UPI ID and just copy paste the same, if something goes wrong like this, fault lies on payee's part.

P.S: Banking full name should be checked before entering PIN.

Jumping the conclusions without knowing the full picture is bad. We got his number from a bank and that person refused to return the money and blocked our numbers. Though technically still I don't have any right to put his account on hold but still it's my money and I'll go to any extent to get my money back. Thanks
How these persons even think to refuse other's money?

What they think is, this becomes my money, I can use it without having any liability. 🤣

RBI's is going to introduce beneficiary account name look-up facility for for Real Time Gross Settlement System (RTGS) and National Electronic Funds Transfer (NEFT) systems in line with payment systems like UPI and IMPS. 🙂

How these persons even think to refuse other's money?

What they think is, this becomes my money, I can use it without having any liability. 🤣
Actually my friend is from a well off family. He talked very politely. He even said if the person is honest I'll pay him 10k. But the other person said mujhe koi paisa ne aya. Despite repeated requests he denied and eventually said mera paisa hai wo, which irked us and led to get his accounts frozen