TRAI Launches Affordable Recharge Plans: 365 Days Validity At Just Rs. 10 (Suggested)

The Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI) has published new rules to reduce costs and enhance the user experience of telecom services. Moreover, It helps consumers, especially those who depend heavily on basic calling and SMS or use secondary SIM cards for specialized functions like calls and SMS. Furthermore, the Telecom Consumers Protection (Twelfth Amendment) Regulations, 2024, were released on Monday. These include a number of significant modifications.

1736920183182.webp

The regulations include cheap Rs 10 recharge plans with 365 days of validity and mandatory ‘voice-only’ plans for dual SIM users, which is very useful.

TRAI has issued an issue mandating the launch of different Special Tariff Vouchers for voice and SMS services. Again, this move will help the 2G feature phone subscribers – particularly the elderly as well as the rural masses – to avail of reasonably cheap recharge plans as per their requirements.

TRAI further intends to benefit users by increasing the validity of STVs from the current 90 days to 365 days. In addition, Significant amendments will be made to ensure users enjoy long-term affordability and convenience.

To change the recharge process, TRAI has done away with a colour-coding system for physical vouchers, making it an easier task to categorize into recharges. Moreover, This reflects the growing dependence upon online recharge methods with a focus on introducing cheap recharge plans.

UPDATE #1: Jio, Airtel to roll out Rs 10 recharge plans following TRAI's order

UPDATE #2: Jio.com is showing a ₹10 postpaid plan?

1737356102636.webp
1737356144893.webp

All TSPs criticized separate Voice and SMS only pack, except BSNL. 😬

How ironic!

In my town (a densely populated satellite town to a Metro) BSNL didn't even have functional 3G service! Yet they saw it fit to force me to recharge month-after-month with combo plans including 2GB/day data when it was a struggle even to use 50 MB! Criminal.

Oh yeah, they also increased the tariff >13-fold within not a very long time! And, on top of all that, who can ever forget about their top notch quality of service!

After getting ripped off for years by BSNL, I finally ported out.

So bro! Below title thread is good enough or need some changes kindly suggest
TRAI mandates separate recharge plans for data and voice in a new regulation
"TRAI mandated atleast one Special Tariff Voucher (STV) for exclusively for Voice & SMS, with validity of ≤ 365 days!

Note: Only, if thread's main focus is about Voice and SMS only pack/voucher, i believe so.

P.S: You can attach this in body, if required to give clear view to members.
Screenshot_20250115-233216.webp

Regulations are only as strong as a regulator. And a Regulator is as strong as the market and enteties it regulates. A monopolistic market can't be regulated. Dissolve TRAI and save some taxpayer money, we are gonna get F****d eitherway.
Correct, at this point this is waste of the paper it's printed on. And even if there was a deadline, why the F will it be followed. No repercussions, no regulation. Imagine RBI trying to ban a bank with just two banks active in the entire country.
Spot on even with so much power RBI finds itself powerless when it comes to a few entities. There should always be a balance. Antitrust laws bhai....Abi 40-50 years h parliament ki vocabulary me ane ko
Bhai wo din dur nhi jab kejriwal ladkiyo k liye muft recharge upalabdh krayega....fir sari partiya rewdi lagayegi.....hmri parti mhine ka 200GB data free....hmri party 300G
The road to hell is paved with good moves.

Well done, Anakin. We shall extinguish their hope. In their despair, we shall weaken them, and the Empire shall rise once more.
Long live the Empire!

Let's move to JK. I dont think without local ID, we can get this plan?
I was a tourist from BLR, was there for a week and sim still works even after I came back. No local ID, only Adhar. When I checked, you can order Airtel JK sim from anywhere in India.

Local store guy had rechardged JK10 Plan for my connection and told me to keep it forever by paying 10/per month.

I was a tourist from BLR, was there for a week and sim still works even after I came back. No local ID, only Adhar. When I checked, you can order Airtel JK sim from anywhere in India.

Local store guy had rechardged JK10 Plan for my connection and told me to keep it forever by paying 10/per month.
really? how much did you pay for the sim?
Not sure but they give 30 days validity sim to travelers after which it is closed.