You cannot afford premium credit cards and you know it! 👎💳🔥

1RC

I know this article may hit someone negatively, but this is to those who earn less than a 1 Lac (net) a month.

If you have not read my previous article on - Advice to young working professionals who are starting their credit journey. (Advice no one asked for; CIBIL 802)
- Go and check it out. If you are new to the credit game.

Now on with this article. Note: I am no writer, and this could be a poorly written article.

Why am I discouraging any prospective premium credit card seeker, whose monthly net income is less than 1Lac, from applying for such premium cards? Simple answer: Because you cannot afford such cards.

Over the weekend, I came across multiple articles on this forum, wherein OPs are asking how they can get premium cards (such as Amex Plat, HDFC Infinia/DCB, Axis Magnus/Reserve) while their monthly income does not support the lifestyle needed to reap the benefits of such premium cards (that usually come with higher-than-average annual membership fees).

I don’t want to sugar coat harsh realities of life. Your hard-earned money is to maximize your wealth and not to waste it for illogical reasons. I know this is such a materialistic thing to say but so is expensing using credit on things you may not even need. We all have been taught about the difference between needs and wants early in our teenage years but somehow, we forget such lessons in our adulthood.

As rational people, we have one simple job – maximize our wealth. India’s stupid high double taxation is another story for another article.

Now coming to the numbers:

If you are making less than INR 1L a month, then you should not be wasting your efforts on getting premium-tier cards because your monthly expense may not support you to reach the reward points needed to satisfactorily reap the benefits of premium cards – yeah except for airport lounges – which are also available on almost all mid-tier cards.

Time gone will never comeback. A rupee spent will never come back. So, respect your time and money well. Don’t spend if you don’t need to just for the sake of reward points.

For ease of calculation let’s say you make 1L a month. Following is how I think you should manage your expenses:

Monthly Allocation
Range %
Investment Target
35.0%​
40.0%​
Expected Expenses
30.0%​
35.0%​
Misc. Expense
15.0%​
20.0%​
Liquid Savings - Rainy Day Fund
20.0%​
5.0%​
Total Income
100.0%​
100.0%​

With an expected monthly expense fund of 30-35% = INR 30k-35k. How many of your expected expenses do you think you’ll be able to make using your credit card? Think wisely if you can even achieve certain milestones?

You should not fall into unnecessary spending loop. Read this article - Psychology of Credit Card Spending: Understanding Overspending and Strategies to Stop It

I am going to keep this article open-ended and let members of this community comment and share their thoughts on what they think the right type of credit card should be for someone with maximum monthly expense of 30k-35k. Maybe stick to a good mid-tier card?

1RC

I have till now avoided commenting on this thread, for I understood and appreciated the arguments being made by both sides. Let me start off by clarifying certain things before I go on with my story. I dont care too much about whether people use their cards with high joining fees to the maximum. If they can derive some value out of it and believe that value is greater than the fees then so be it. At the same time I do agree that financial prudence is absolutely necessary (as I have stated in other threads as well), do not get into the debt trap, whether you are earning 6 lpa or 60lpa banks incentivize you to spend more than you wanted to. You wanted to buy vouchers worth 1900 but you spend 100 more to ensure you get the extra 12 points. This attraction is there for everyone and every card and to me it should be avoided for these small things add up and can potentially hurt in the long run if we are not careful. Now coming to what I wanted to say. Slightly more than a decade ago, Citi ended its partnership with Jet. And a new partnership with HDFC was announced. As a frequent flier, I quite liked a cobranded card and I applied using my income statement which was much higher than the required income. While Citi replaced my card with PM, HDFC rejected my application. Cut to later my RM moved from Stanc to HDFC and she offered Infinia to convince me to move a part of my relationahip to HDFC. The point I am trying to make here is, it may seem unfair that people with certain limits get HNI cards but our banks our notoriously unreliable. They reject applications despite meeting all requirements give an extremely low credit limit. When the processes are such C2C applications are often very helpful. And this incident is not just with HDFC, when I applied for Axis VI, (again with my income statement despite knowing better) I got a CL of 1.21 lakhs. This is despite having a burgundy relationship and my income being significantly higher than the limit. Subsequently when I decided to take the plunge for Magnus I used the C2C method which was the saving grace in terms of credit limit. I have never faced this with amex or citi or stanc c. The way I see it is till the protocols are not in place or the entry requirments are not being followed in letter or spirit, the C2C method is pretty good.
Regarding banks being notorious at not following the protocols are absolutely right. The system is flawed. 1.21L limit makes no sense to me. There needs much more transparency around this matter.

I know this article may hit someone negatively, but this is to those who earn less than a 1 Lac (net) a month.

If you have not read my previous article on - Advice to young working professionals who are starting their credit journey. (Advice no one asked for; CIBIL 802)
- Go and check it out. If you are new to the credit game.

Now on with this article. Note: I am no writer, and this could be a poorly written article.

Why am I discouraging any prospective premium credit card seeker, whose monthly net income is less than 1Lac, from applying for such premium cards? Simple answer: Because you cannot afford such cards.

Over the weekend, I came across multiple articles on this forum, wherein OPs are asking how they can get premium cards (such as Amex Plat, HDFC Infinia/DCB, Axis Magnus/Reserve) while their monthly income does not support the lifestyle needed to reap the benefits of such premium cards (that usually come with higher-than-average annual membership fees).

I don’t want to sugar coat harsh realities of life. Your hard-earned money is to maximize your wealth and not to waste it for illogical reasons. I know this is such a materialistic thing to say but so is expensing using credit on things you may not even need. We all have been taught about the difference between needs and wants early in our teenage years but somehow, we forget such lessons in our adulthood.

As rational people, we have one simple job – maximize our wealth. India’s stupid high double taxation is another story for another article.

Now coming to the numbers:

If you are making less than INR 1L a month, then you should not be wasting your efforts on getting premium-tier cards because your monthly expense may not support you to reach the reward points needed to satisfactorily reap the benefits of premium cards – yeah except for airport lounges – which are also available on almost all mid-tier cards.

Time gone will never comeback. A rupee spent will never come back. So, respect your time and money well. Don’t spend if you don’t need to just for the sake of reward points.

For ease of calculation let’s say you make 1L a month. Following is how I think you should manage your expenses:

Monthly Allocation
Range %
Investment Target
35.0%​
40.0%​
Expected Expenses
30.0%​
35.0%​
Misc. Expense
15.0%​
20.0%​
Liquid Savings - Rainy Day Fund
20.0%​
5.0%​
Total Income
100.0%​
100.0%​

With an expected monthly expense fund of 30-35% = INR 30k-35k. How many of your expected expenses do you think you’ll be able to make using your credit card? Think wisely if you can even achieve certain milestones?

You should not fall into unnecessary spending loop. Read this article - Psychology of Credit Card Spending: Understanding Overspending and Strategies to Stop It

I am going to keep this article open-ended and let members of this community comment and share their thoughts on what they think the right type of credit card should be for someone with maximum monthly expense of 30k-35k. Maybe stick to a good mid-tier card?

1RC
Credit cards' main purpose are to open a credit line in a bank. In the process, if you are able to get a higher variant card, then so be it. If you are able to get cards at ltf, god bless. That's how I look at it.

Yes, you must increase wealth with the money you make. For that you must go to work. When your behaviour with your credit limit is top notch, it will open doors to more credit. So, please continue to make money and invest it. On the side, take the credit card that suit your purchase behavior, build credit, and credit score.

Yes corporate cards do show up on your CIBIL report. It shows you as an authorized user.

All the rewards generated from my corporate expense made on my Amex Corporate Card gets transferred to my Amex charge card. So its a win win situation for me and I don't have to worry about expensing on personal card.
what is the annual fees for the Amex corporate card ?

built your relationship with banks take ltf card and when planned big purchases must take HNI cards
don’t run for milestones close any card which is not required
i would suggest hdfc axis icici sbi credits more than enough
credit card to avoid rbl , Bajaj finserv, etc
credit score above 760 and minimum 30k per month income every bank will provide u credit card