Pro Tips to Make a SBI Card Life Time Free

Pro Tips-

Simple way to make Any basic to mid range SBI card LTF is to "Just raise a closure of card account request through Sbi card app .After few hours you will receive a call to ask a reason for cancellation ,there tell them Either make it Life time free or cancel the card.They will make your Card LTF.Done on my both sbi card and now both are LTF.Service request to make your card LTF is taken as PCT id is to be changed.You can check in service request tracking menu.

Caution:-If you holding multiple cards of SBI then kindly do this process at one card at a time only.Do on other card after at least month. If at any point SBI Card is not agreeing on LTF and offering you Annual Fee waivers only then Accept Fee waivers at that moment and Apply the same trick Again after 1 or 2 months for LTF.
IF ANYONE HAVING ANY SPECEFIC CONCERN THEN DO DM.

Edit 1-If afterall anyone missed the call from retention team then they can simply call customer care and there simply tell them to connect/transfer you call to retention team as i want to discuss regarding my card closure request.They will connect you to their retention team and now there you can project the above trick to get your card LTF ..

Edit 2(09 July 2023)-Even people have made sbi cards having fee upto 1499 LTF and even higher varriant cards you will get equivalent reward points or miles or annual fee waiver in place of LTF.

Edit 3(15 October 2023)- Even people have made their SBI cashback credit card LTF by their skill of negotiation.

Edit 4-Now a days SBI Cards sometime,closing the card without calling so suggest now dont place request through app by self .Call customer care directly and ask them for LTF/fee waivers or to transfer the call to retention team for doing the same.

Because I am planning to spend 1.20 lakh in my card having a limit of 91k only. So first need to do 80k then make card payment immediately . Then need to use rest of 40k. That's why I asked you the situation

Didn't get you. Can you please explain it
Overall limit was 1L.
So I had used 90k in the statement cycle.
I paid 15k.
Then tried to make 20k payment, but it was declined saying I've "crossed Domestic online Trxns. limit"..

Hence I said that, no matter what, you can't spend above your credit limit in a statement cycle

I am here to share the experience with my 7 month old sbi card as their agent given me false assurance for LTF conversion. As a remedy sbi card finally agreed to reverse LIFETIME ANNUAL FEE REVERSAL without any minimum spend. May be in the history of sbi cards

On 18th July 2025, I called sbi customer care and call connected to account closure team. I asked him for a lifetime free credit card conversion. He said offer is not available right now . But on a recorded line he gave me a clear assurance :

1)All SBI Cashback Credit Card customers are eligible for conversion to Lifetime Free (LTF).

2). The LTF benefit is extended only when the customer contacts the Account Closure team, and the request is forwarded to the backend team.

3). In my case, if I continue to use the card regularly and make all bill payments on time for six months from 18th July 2025 to 18th January 2026, my card will definitely be converted into Lifetime Free.

4).Even if the annual fee is charged in the meantime, he assured me that he would be able to waive the fee without hesitation upon request.

5). He further confirmed that on the same day (18th July 2025), he had already forwarded my details to the backend team on high priority for monitoring and enabling the LTF conversion after completion of the six-month period.

6). When I asked for reassurance regarding conversion after 18th January 2026, he again confirmed that the card will be converted to LTF for sure, and that this offer is applicable to all SBI Cashback Credit Card customers. Only I need to do is to use the card for 6 months continuously.

7). I specifically asked if there was any minimum spending or amount criteria during the six-month period. clearly stated that there is no such minimum spend requirement, and that I only need to use the card continuously and pay bills on time for eligibility.

8). When I requested written assurance of the promise, he informed me that, as a member of the Account Closure team, he cannot provide a mail confirmation. However, he assured me that I would receive a confirmation message and mail on my registered mobile number and email, along with a Service Request (SR) number, immediately after the call, stating that he had forwarded the LTF request to the backend team.

9). He further clarified that after receiving the confirmation message or mail with the SR number, I would need to call him after 6 month to process the actual conversion of the card to LTF.

10). Additionally, he assured me that I would also receive a credit limit enhancement offer apart from the Lifetime Free conversion after the six-month period.

The fact that even the supervisor team also admitted this as a “miscommunication” proves that my concern is valid and recorded.

However sbi card higher escalation team Denied the LTF conversion promise, and attempted to “settle” the matter with just 1,000 reward points, which is irrelevant and unacceptable. I denied it I stick on the promise made by him.
I escalate to customer service head, nodal ,pno, social media also. I got the call from the supervisor and informed the exceptional approval required for converting card to Lifetime rejected by higher senior management team also.

I given them 3 choices

1)Primary Resolution → Written confirmation that my Cashback SBI Card will be converted to Lifetime Free (LTF) now, OR after 6 months of usage and timely payments.

2)Alternative Resolution A permanent note/flag on my account authorizing annual fee waiver every year without any spend condition, so the card remains LTF in practice.

3)Issuance of SBI BPCL octane rupay credit card as lifetime free seperately so that sbi cashback card and sbi BPCL octane rupay card should be active

They called me on a regular basis to follow up the issue. I stick on my choices as promised by agent. The agent told me all the 3 choices are not possible and we had a long conversation in the Evng today. Later the same person called me now and fullfilled my 2nd option as " Bank agreed to reverse the annual fee of 999+gst every year without any minimum spend every year(LIFETIME) on a recorded line . He informed his name designation, place , today date for a proof. I asked him to update the closing remarks as crystal clear as per my wordings and he raised a complaint for the SR and shared to me as a proof. So the sbi card will reverse the annual fee every year(LIFETIME ), WHENEVER I provide this complaint SR as a reference. Thank God....!!!

I am here to share the experience with my 7 month old sbi card as their agent given me false assurance for LTF conversion. As a remedy sbi card finally agreed to reverse LIFETIME ANNUAL FEE REVERSAL without any minimum spend. May be in the history of sbi cards

On 18th July 2025, I called sbi customer care and call connected to account closure team. I asked him for a lifetime free credit card conversion. He said offer is not available right now . But on a recorded line he gave me a clear assurance :

1)All SBI Cashback Credit Card customers are eligible for conversion to Lifetime Free (LTF).

2). The LTF benefit is extended only when the customer contacts the Account Closure team, and the request is forwarded to the backend team.

3). In my case, if I continue to use the card regularly and make all bill payments on time for six months from 18th July 2025 to 18th January 2026, my card will definitely be converted into Lifetime Free.

4).Even if the annual fee is charged in the meantime, he assured me that he would be able to waive the fee without hesitation upon request.

5). He further confirmed that on the same day (18th July 2025), he had already forwarded my details to the backend team on high priority for monitoring and enabling the LTF conversion after completion of the six-month period.

6). When I asked for reassurance regarding conversion after 18th January 2026, he again confirmed that the card will be converted to LTF for sure, and that this offer is applicable to all SBI Cashback Credit Card customers. Only I need to do is to use the card for 6 months continuously.

7). I specifically asked if there was any minimum spending or amount criteria during the six-month period. clearly stated that there is no such minimum spend requirement, and that I only need to use the card continuously and pay bills on time for eligibility.

8). When I requested written assurance of the promise, he informed me that, as a member of the Account Closure team, he cannot provide a mail confirmation. However, he assured me that I would receive a confirmation message and mail on my registered mobile number and email, along with a Service Request (SR) number, immediately after the call, stating that he had forwarded the LTF request to the backend team.

9). He further clarified that after receiving the confirmation message or mail with the SR number, I would need to call him after 6 month to process the actual conversion of the card to LTF.

10). Additionally, he assured me that I would also receive a credit limit enhancement offer apart from the Lifetime Free conversion after the six-month period.

The fact that even the supervisor team also admitted this as a “miscommunication” proves that my concern is valid and recorded.

However sbi card higher escalation team Denied the LTF conversion promise, and attempted to “settle” the matter with just 1,000 reward points, which is irrelevant and unacceptable. I denied it I stick on the promise made by him.
I escalate to customer service head, nodal ,pno, social media also. I got the call from the supervisor and informed the exceptional approval required for converting card to Lifetime rejected by higher senior management team also.

I given them 3 choices

1)Primary Resolution → Written confirmation that my Cashback SBI Card will be converted to Lifetime Free (LTF) now, OR after 6 months of usage and timely payments.

2)Alternative Resolution A permanent note/flag on my account authorizing annual fee waiver every year without any spend condition, so the card remains LTF in practice.

3)Issuance of SBI BPCL octane rupay credit card as lifetime free seperately so that sbi cashback card and sbi BPCL octane rupay card should be active

They called me on a regular basis to follow up the issue. I stick on my choices as promised by agent. The agent told me all the 3 choices are not possible and we had a long conversation in the Evng today. Later the same person called me now and fullfilled my 2nd option as " Bank agreed to reverse the annual fee of 999+gst every year without any minimum spend every year(LIFETIME) on a recorded line . He informed his name designation, place , today date for a proof. I asked him to update the closing remarks as crystal clear as per my wordings and he raised a complaint for the SR and shared to me as a proof. So the sbi card will reverse the annual fee every year(LIFETIME ), WHENEVER I provide this complaint SR as a reference. Thank God....!!!
Many congratulations 🎉 🎉 👏 👏

I use to fight, the way you handled this. But now I just let it go..,, with your this experience, I can see there are things beyond cs team, anything is possible.
Even customer service head rejected.y demands. But lower team can also give the resolution. So any team can help you

That's why I told someone in this community who reported that his card get converted to LTF, later informed that card cannot be converted to LTF. If can get the best resolution with that mail evidence as they given the written assurance. But everything depends on how present it and how you take up it

I given them 3 choices

Well good for you that you've got a 1.2k fees waiver, but I personally didn't like it. May be I also do want sbicard makes all my sbi cards life time free but not this way.

You are not wrong. The cc executive was wrong. And probably he/she has already paid the price, who knows maybe by loosing the job or paying from the salary. It's exception you know!

Many are getting many sbicards LTF by spends, uses, loyalty, card age no problem at all in this.

And Again you may not be wrong in persuing this so hard, and ofcourse I have never been on banks side, it's kind of choices to make, and it really seemed a mistake.

Well good for you that you've got a 1.2k fees waiver, but I personally didn't like it. May be I also do want sbicard makes all my sbi cards life time free but not this way.

You are not wrong. The cc executive was wrong. And probably he/she has already paid the price, who knows maybe by loosing the job or paying from the salary. It's exception you know!

Many are getting many sbicards LTF by spends, uses, loyalty, card age no problem at all in this.

And Again you may not be wrong in persuing this so hard, and ofcourse I have never been on banks side, it's kind of choices to make, and it really seemed a mistake.
I already mentioned that my intention is not to take any action against him as it may affect his job & carrier. I requested them not to take any action. They told me that inorder to avoid further miscommunication with another customer, action need to be taken

Overall limit was 1L.
So I had used 90k in the statement cycle.
I paid 15k.
Then tried to make 20k payment, but it was declined saying I've "crossed Domestic online Trxns. limit"..

Hence I said that, no matter what, you can't spend above your credit limit in a statement cycle
The system must have not refreshed in your case. But if you try after sometime, it may work

I had completed fee waiver milestone still sbi has charged annual fee in this statement
Is this their normal practice that they charge annual fee first and refund later or is this a mistake?