Suggestion Need for American Express Upgrade MRCC to AMEX Platinum Travel

Shaurya

Hello TF Community, I received upgrade offer for MRCC Card. I have been using MRCC Since August 2024.
(a) I wanted to ask if upgraded, the MRCC will be blocked/cancelled.
(b) If I can redeem the 10,000 rewards from the 18K/24K collection for Amazon Vouchers.

I highly doubt that I will achieve that Rs.4,00,000/- milestone as my monthly expenditure is about 10-15 K as Amex is not being accepted on many merchant sites/POS.

Is Rs. 2.5K Voucher and 10,000 voucher are worth upgrading, pls guide me.

• Amex Upgrade.webp
    Amex Upgrade.webp
    38.4 KB · Views: 41
highly doubt that I will achieve that Rs.4,00,000/- milestone as my monthly expenditure is about 10-15 K as Amex is not being accepted on many merchant sites/POS.
Let's first start with the important thing:
If you can't spend 4L on plat travel then it
is not at all worthwhile to take plat travel..
You get best RP on spending exactly 4L pa

You will need to spend four lacs on Income Tax or NPS or insurance or on excluded MCC codes which do not earn points on other cards.
If you can't spent so much then don't take this card
I am a Govt. Employee, so income tax deduction, NPS contribution, Insurance, Medical all done by office only 🤦

I am also getting the same upgrade offer. Not taking it. MRCC is more useful for me.

Hello TF Community, I received upgrade offer for MRCC Card. I have been using MRCC Since August 2024.
(a) I wanted to ask if upgraded, the MRCC will be blocked/cancelled.
MRCC will be closed immediately as soon as you upgrade to Platinum Travel. Any pending bonus points will also be forfeited.

I am also getting the same upgrade offer. Not taking it. MRCC is more useful for me.

MRCC will be closed immediately as soon as you upgrade to Platinum Travel. Any pending bonus points will also be forfeited.
I had conversation with Amex Chat Support. A separate card will be issued along with MRCC and MR points will be retained. Thinking of applying and keeping it for a year for joining bonus and Amazon Voucher.

• Screenshot_2025-01-05-00-26-44-59_7ffa40242ada1153d691fec7df42eb44.webp
    Screenshot_2025-01-05-00-26-44-59_7ffa40242ada1153d691fec7df42eb44.webp
    108.7 KB · Views: 21
  • Screenshot_2025-01-05-00-25-25-61_7ffa40242ada1153d691fec7df42eb44.webp
    Screenshot_2025-01-05-00-25-25-61_7ffa40242ada1153d691fec7df42eb44.webp
    44 KB · Views: 21
I had conversation with Amex Chat Support. A separate card will be issued along with MRCC and MR points will be retained. Thinking of applying and keeping it for a year for joining bonus and Amazon Voucher.
The T&C pdf attached with the upgrade email mentions otherwise.

Let me know once you upgrade.

The T&C pdf attached with the upgrade email mentions otherwise.

Let me know once you upgrade.
Thanks for the info, contacted the Amex again and they confirmed that MRCC will be closed.

Now, I am thinking of skipping the upgrade. Thanks again.

• Screenshot_2025-01-05-09-41-31-57_7ffa40242ada1153d691fec7df42eb44.webp
    Screenshot_2025-01-05-09-41-31-57_7ffa40242ada1153d691fec7df42eb44.webp
    47.4 KB · Views: 13
i have 3.5lakh(2+1.5) ulip insurance by Future Generali… can i get benefits on this kind of transaction ??

What amex usual limit i need 2 lakh limit my APay icici limit is 70k only

i have 3.5lakh(2+1.5) ulip insurance by Future Generali… can i get benefits on this kind of transaction ??

What amex usual limit i need 2 lakh limit my APay icici limit is 70k only
Amex isn't giving any RP on Insurance Transaction AFAIK. But they consider it first the Milestone benefits.
If you are not much into miles/RPs game, there are other ways to get good Cashback for such transactions.

Amex isn't giving any RP on Insurance Transaction AFAIK. But they consider it first the Milestone benefits.
If you are not much into miles/RPs game, there are other ways to get good Cashback for such transactions.
Can you please highlight some ways ? And does this include car insurance as well?

I think Amazon pay has a limit of 15k iirc.. or is it 50k?
Amazon states this:

Screenshot_20250111-171328~2.webp

But, If you make purchases like that, chances are Amazon will block the CC option on your account. While there is no sureshot number, I’ve been buying around 10K per month for quite some time.

I don't buy continuously, I buy them until I reach my insurance amount. So, if you're in a rush, it's best to use multiple Amazon accounts (preferably older ones) or look for other alternatives like magicpin, park+, etc.

And I was unable to renew my card insurance via Amazon last year. I thought maybe the AP GC only work for life /medical insurance...
I think you meant car insurance. Correct me if I'm wrong, but it works for everything. You just need your policy number and just enter that into the insurance premium section. The maximum limit for insurance is 1L for the amazon pay option.