Suggestion Need for American Express Upgrade MRCC to AMEX Platinum Travel

Shaurya

Hello TF Community, I received upgrade offer for MRCC Card. I have been using MRCC Since August 2024.
(a) I wanted to ask if upgraded, the MRCC will be blocked/cancelled.
(b) If I can redeem the 10,000 rewards from the 18K/24K collection for Amazon Vouchers.

I highly doubt that I will achieve that Rs.4,00,000/- milestone as my monthly expenditure is about 10-15 K as Amex is not being accepted on many merchant sites/POS.

Is Rs. 2.5K Voucher and 10,000 voucher are worth upgrading, pls guide me.

• Amex Upgrade.webp
    Amex Upgrade.webp
    38.4 KB · Views: 22
You will need to spend exactly four lacs on Income Tax or NPS or insurance or on excluded MCC codes which do not earn points on other cards.
If you can't spent so much then don't take this card

You will need to spend four lacs on Income Tax or NPS or insurance or on excluded MCC codes which do not earn points on other cards.
If you can't spent so much then don't take this card
I am a Govt. Employee, so income tax deduction, NPS contribution, Insurance, Medical all done by office only 🤦

I am also getting the same upgrade offer. Not taking it. MRCC is more useful for me.

Hello TF Community, I received upgrade offer for MRCC Card. I have been using MRCC Since August 2024.
(a) I wanted to ask if upgraded, the MRCC will be blocked/cancelled.
MRCC will be closed immediately as soon as you upgrade to Platinum Travel. Any pending bonus points will also be forfeited.

I am also getting the same upgrade offer. Not taking it. MRCC is more useful for me.

MRCC will be closed immediately as soon as you upgrade to Platinum Travel. Any pending bonus points will also be forfeited.
I had conversation with Amex Chat Support. A separate card will be issued along with MRCC and MR points will be retained. Thinking of applying and keeping it for a year for joining bonus and Amazon Voucher.

• Screenshot_2025-01-05-00-26-44-59_7ffa40242ada1153d691fec7df42eb44.webp
    Screenshot_2025-01-05-00-26-44-59_7ffa40242ada1153d691fec7df42eb44.webp
    108.7 KB · Views: 9
  • Screenshot_2025-01-05-00-25-25-61_7ffa40242ada1153d691fec7df42eb44.webp
    Screenshot_2025-01-05-00-25-25-61_7ffa40242ada1153d691fec7df42eb44.webp
    44 KB · Views: 9
I had conversation with Amex Chat Support. A separate card will be issued along with MRCC and MR points will be retained. Thinking of applying and keeping it for a year for joining bonus and Amazon Voucher.
The T&C pdf attached with the upgrade email mentions otherwise.

Let me know once you upgrade.

The T&C pdf attached with the upgrade email mentions otherwise.

Let me know once you upgrade.
Thanks for the info, contacted the Amex again and they confirmed that MRCC will be closed.

Now, I am thinking of skipping the upgrade. Thanks again.

• Screenshot_2025-01-05-09-41-31-57_7ffa40242ada1153d691fec7df42eb44.webp
    Screenshot_2025-01-05-09-41-31-57_7ffa40242ada1153d691fec7df42eb44.webp
    47.4 KB · Views: 7