Clarification on RuPay NCMC

dvader

Hello Everyone,

Just wanted to get some updates on NCMC

1. I heard sometime back that NPCI has launched a process/SDK to update balance on NCMC cards via Android NFC. Is that live yet? or is it like those actual good features that will never get implemented in practice.

2. Delhi metro being hard on Airtel NCMC with no/limited support for balance update via terminals, is it easy to update the balance for NCMC cards other than Airtel...(the airtel guy straight up refuses to update balance on other NCMC cards and the metro support always has a long queue). I know it's possible on some metro stations but is it easy to do in general.

3. Junio launched an NCMC card some time back, do they have balance update via NFC? has anyone used it in delhi metro?

4. Any easy, quick, cheap NCMC card recommendation for delhi metro for normal human beings who want to go home and not on an adventure.

Thanks,
dvader

Note: Chalo app allows offline balance update for NCMC card. After installation manually change location to Mumbai or else card option won't be visible.

Lets talk about RuPay NCMC Card/ RuPay Metro Card & share your experience & help others -​

You can update your offline balance by yourself at the Metro station after recharging your NCMC online.

Now, few banks have also released their apps for updating the balance directly from the NFC device and also for updating the offline balance on the POS machines at local shops.

You will find this machine on Metro counter to do it by yourself -

2 days ago one person told me, yes i have seen a new top up machine being installed on some stations in Delhi metro which looked bit different than the metro card top up POS machine, so it must be for the ncmc wallet top up, will check next time.

rupay ncmc 1.webp

Airtel Bank RuPay NCMC Online Recharge Now live on BBPS/Bharat Connect -​

I didn't mean, how to recharge your NCMC wallet, that's all fine. I meant how to update that balance on the card, we are supposed to use the terminals installed to update it but Delhi Metro has only installed those terminals in a few stations.

or are you suggesting that NCMC balance is auto updated when you recharge and no POS terminal is required to update it.

I hope I am clear.

You can update your offline balance by yourself at the Metro station after recharging your NCMC online.

Now, few banks have also released their apps for updating the balance directly from the NFC device and also for updating the offline balance on the POS machines at local shops.

You will find this machine on Metro counter to do it by yourself -

2 days ago one person told me, yes i have seen a new top up machine being installed on some stations in Delhi metro which looked bit different than the metro card top up POS machine, so it must be for the ncmc wallet top up, will check next time.

View attachment 80246
Man did you even read my post. I know it's possible, but Delhi metro has installed the terminals only on a few stations and it's really inconvenient at this point. So right now it's not convenient to self update balance. The only person who CAN do that without wasting your time will outright deny for other NCMC cards even though he had the means to do it.

So again my request, is the balance update via Amdroid NFC live yet? If yes please let me know about the bank/partner app that can do this.

I didn't mean, how to recharge you NCMC wallet, that's all fine. I meant how to update that balance on the card, we are supposed to use the terminals installed to update it but Delhi Metro has only installed those terminals in a few stations.

or are you suggesting that NCMC balance is auto updated when you recharge and no POS terminal is required to update it.

I hope I am clear.
No, after recharging online, you'll need to go offline to the metro station to update the offline balance using a machine.

It's a very easy process; you just have to go and touch it. It will update instantly on its own.

Yup, these machines are currently installed at only a few metro stations, but gradually they will be available at all stations.

Until then, you'll have to visit the metro counter and get it updated by the staff there.

Man did you even read my post. I know it's possible, but Delhi metro has installed the terminals only on a few stations and it's really inconvenient at this point. So right now it's not convenient to self update balance. The only person who CAN do that without wasting your time will outright deny for other NCMC cards even though he had the means to do it.

So again my request, is the balance update via Amdroid NFC live yet? If yes please let me know about the bank/partner app that can do this.
You can complaint on twitter (Delhi Metro twitter handle), If he refuses to do so.

A live demo of Android NFC Offline NCMC Balance update was shown a few months ago. I don't think any bank has gone fully live with it yet.

BOB had shown a video, and maybe one or two other banks as well.

No, after recharging online, you'll need to go offline to the metro station to update the offline balance using a machine.

It's a very easy process; you just have to go and touch it. It will update instantly on its own.

Yup, these machines are currently installed at only a few metro stations, but gradually they will be available at all stations.

Until then, you'll have to visit the metro counter and get it updated by the staff there.

You can complaint on twitter (Delhi Metro twitter handle), If he refuses to do so.

A live demo of Android NFC Offline NCMC Balance update was shown a few months ago. I don't think any bank has gone fully live with it yet.

BOB had shown a video, and maybe one or two other banks as well.

Ok thanks for providing clear answers. But the way delhi metro is acting I dont think they will install NCMC terminals on all stations, the reason being their contract with Airtel.

The only hope is Android NFC balance update and I hope that gets launched soon.

Btw any cheap, easy and no nonsense NCMC card you can suggest? And please suggest something that I can easily order online.

Thanks,
dvader

Ok thanks for providing clear answers. But the way delhi metro is acting I dont think they will install NCMC terminals on all stations, the reason being their contract with Airtel.

The only hope is Android NFC balance update and I hope that gets launched soon.

Btw any cheap, easy and no nonsense NCMC card you can suggest? And please suggest something that I can easily order online.

Thanks,
dvader
Except for Airtel NCMC Card, get an NCMC card from any other bank you’ll still need to update the balance offline.

Airtel is also an acquiring bank for Delhi Metro NCMC payments, so it doesn’t matter which bank’s NCMC card you use—the payment processing is done by Airtel Bank.

So first of all, you should file a complaint if the Delhi Metro staff are not helping with balance updates for NCMC cards from other banks.

Transit Operator NameModeExclusive/Non-ExclusiveAcquiring BankRuPay Cards AcceptedPayment Options Available at Stations to Load NCMCNCMC Functionality
Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC)MetroNon-ExclusiveAirtel Payments BankAll NCMC certified banksCash, UPI, Any Debit/Credit/Prepaid cardsBalance Check, Balance Update

You can use Chalo app from the Playstore to check and update your NCMC balance using NFC-enabled smartphone. I tried this with my RBL credit card.

Ya, Chalo NCMC RuPay Card & Chalo app, I just remembered—they had also demonstrated this a few months ago. Updating the offline balance using NFC Android phones.

@dvader If you have a RuPay debit card from any PSU bank, just use it as an NCMC card. It’ll be simple.

Canara ka Millennial DC pe even Debit+Pre-paid likha hai, integration nahi kiya hai uska toh kuch kiye nahi...

Bas Jio ko bolna hai Rupay ke liye bas wrong MCC tag ho raha 🤣
BOB EMT RuPay NCMC Card ka tha na woh ?

I found a video on YouTube, probably about the Delhi Metro.

This guy's BOB RuPay Select NCMC Card also wasn't working, but suddenly it started working on an NCMC machine for balance updates.

So, I have a doubt whether the BOB EMT RuPay Card might face a similar issue, or if there's a problem with the Delhi Metro's NCMC balance update machines.

Except for Airtel NCMC Card, get an NCMC card from any other bank you’ll still need to update the balance offline.

Airtel is also an acquiring bank for Delhi Metro NCMC payments, so it doesn’t matter which bank’s NCMC card you use—the payment processing is done by Airtel Bank.

So first of all, you should file a complaint if the Delhi Metro staff are not helping with balance updates for NCMC cards from other banks.

Transit Operator NameModeExclusive/Non-ExclusiveAcquiring BankRuPay Cards AcceptedPayment Options Available at Stations to Load NCMCNCMC Functionality
Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC)MetroNon-ExclusiveAirtel Payments BankAll NCMC certified banksCash, UPI, Any Debit/Credit/Prepaid cardsBalance Check, Balance Update

Ya, Chalo NCMC RuPay Card & Chalo app, I just remembered—they had also demonstrated this a few months ago. Updating the offline balance using NFC Android phones.

@dvader If you have a RuPay debit card from any PSU bank, just use it as an NCMC card. It’ll be simple.
Ok so Airtel Metro card is fully online? Like, I can load it online and straight away tap at the terminal to pay without having to do anything offline with machines? Is this also true for Ahmedabad metro?

..(the airtel guy straight up refuses to update balance on other NCMC cards and the metro support always has a long queue). I know it's possible on some metro stations but is it easy to do in general.
I'm in CHENNAI and i am not aware of Airtel NCMC.
Who is that Airtel guy? Do they have a separate ticket counter?