Any way to get HDFC core credit card for Co-brabded cc holders

Fini7777

I know a lot of ppl here facing this issue

Has anyone here started with an HDFC co-branded credit card and later successfully got an HDFC core credit card without closing co-branded one?

A common issue that I’ve noticed is that if you get your first credit card from HDFC as a co-branded card, it becomes quite challenging to obtain a core HDFC credit card later on. For those who’ve been through this, you might understand how tricky it can be to add a core HDFC card to your portfolio.

I’m curious to know if anyone has managed to navigate this hurdle and successfully received an HDFC core credit card after starting with a co-branded one. If you did, could you share how you went about it?

My approximate timeline with HDFC is like this -

April 2023: Applied and got Neu plus FYF (1.25L)
July 2023: Closed Neu plus permanently.
November 2023: Appplied and got Swiggy (Paid, 1.25L)
September 2024: Credit limit of swiggy increased to 1.52L
October 2024: Applied and got Neu infinity.

During this time I haven't tried for the core card, but give it a try through their link and see what offers are coming for you.

[I just googled for HDFC credit card application and followed the first link to the bank site]

@SSV can decode this URL if needed. but anyway, give it a try. I think some core cards should come up for you.
No core card. Nue Infinity is really good for offline spends.

Have HDFC Tata Neu Plus Credit Card 1.46L as 1st HDFC Credit Card which is around 1.5 years Old. Need HDFC Millennia Credit Card as 2nd Card.
Tried to apply from HDFC site but always showing error saying you recently applied credit card which is wrong as it has been already 1.5 years after getting 1st HDFC cc.

Thinking of closing tataneu plus cc as it has no benefit left & also cannot upgrade to tataneu infinity as it requires min 1.5L limit (~4k short).

Anyone got Core HDFC card after closing Tataneu Credit card? Share your experience.

Please share you suggestions.
Thanks in advance.

I still have not tried it.
But if you need core card only for discount purpose,you can apply the rupay virtual credit card.
You will be given it as ltf and pre approved card if you don't have a rupay co-branded card but if you hold a rupay co-branded card,you can still apply the paid version (99 charges may be), some people said they will approve this card instantly unlike core cards.
Does the virtual card works like a core card and can we be able to get instant discounts during sales using it?

escalation.cc@hdfcbank.com
grievance.redressalcc@hdfcbank.com

I have sent email that Iam having Paytm select hdfc credit card from last 1.5 year with cc limit 1 lakh . That I want to upgrade to core hdfc card as I’m not getting any offers in e-commerce and offline store . I want to upgrade to millinea cc

Sent mail - Nov 4th

Reply mail - Nov 12th to sent consent on the same mail with reply..asked 4 questions
1) last four dights
2) card fee agree or not
3) rewards migration or not
4)check eleigibity or not
Answer all with yes in the same email no need to send scanned copies

Nov 16th — received email that they have processed request, card will be dispatched in 2-3 days .. Checked my cards for confirmation it is showing millinea card

Boom no CIBIL hits, no need to close cc and apply againView attachment 74907
I'm also in a similar situation. I'm having Paytm hdfc card which got before I got into a job and open my salary account with hdfc with a limit of 70k. I'm also holding another two co-branded cards Tata neu plus & Swiggy hdfc.

But I have no use with this Paytm hdfc card and also need a core card because I'm missing the discounts which much needed.

Can I also mail them ask them to upgrade my Paytm hdfc credit card to any core card?
Can I ask them to upgrade to millennia or something? But here I need a lifetime free card only why because my paytm card was offered to me as a lifetime free card and even if they offer me any other card, it'll be fine but I need a lifetime free card.
What details I need to send in that email or don't need as I'm already having an salary account with them?

I'm also in a similar situation. I'm having Paytm hdfc card which got before I got into a job and open my salary account with hdfc with a limit of 70k. I'm also holding another two co-branded cards Tata neu plus & Swiggy hdfc.

But I have no use with this Paytm hdfc card and also need a core card because I'm missing the discounts which much needed.

Can I also mail them ask them to upgrade my Paytm hdfc credit card to any core card?
Can I ask them to upgrade to millennia or something? But here I need a lifetime free card only why because my paytm card was offered to me as a lifetime free card and even if they offer me any other card, it'll be fine but I need a lifetime free card.
What details I need to send in that email or don't need as I'm already having an salary account with them?
Yes they will upgrade to money back

Thank you. Is there any possibility that they'll offer it as ltf like my paytm hdfc. Even if they won't can we ask them the same as they're already running campaigns and offering cards like millennia and regalia also ltf. Also, I'm a hdfc salary account holder which might help I guess.

I came across this post on reddit or twitter ( can't remember

Wherein an individual had 2 floater cards ( Swiggy and neu) and as everyone here he wasn't getting a core card.

Now this user applied for the freedom card LTF via paytm.

And surprisingly it was approved. With the same limit as the floater cards.

While the card is a poor choice, still keeping a core card , LTF for future upgrades seems like a win to me.

I've already applied for it and waiting on the status, will update here once I have more info.

But everyone else can try your luck with this method!

P.s. - an enquiry is made when you apply via paytm even though you're an existing customer

Wherein an individual had 2 floater cards ( Swiggy and neu) and as everyone here he wasn't getting a core card.

While the card is a poor choice, still keeping a core card , LTF for future upgrades seems like a win to me.

I've already applied for it and waiting on the status, will update here once I have more info.

P.s. - an enquiry is made when you apply via paytm even though you're an existing customer
Yeah I have similar situation
Had Swiggy and Irctc credit card then got ltf freedom from paytm

I have an issue with this. It shows as no annual/ renewal fee but once I clicked on apply it showing joining fee for the freedom card. How to know that it's lifetime free and no joining fee will be levied on it if I apply through Paytm.

escalation.cc@hdfcbank.com
grievance.redressalcc@hdfcbank.com

I have sent email that Iam having Paytm select hdfc credit card from last 1.5 year with cc limit 1 lakh . That I want to upgrade to core hdfc card as I’m not getting any offers in e-commerce and offline store . I want to upgrade to millinea cc

Sent mail - Nov 4th

Reply mail - Nov 12th to sent consent on the same mail with reply..asked 4 questions
1) last four dights
2) card fee agree or not
3) rewards migration or not
4)check eleigibity or not
Answer all with yes in the same email no need to send scanned copies

Nov 16th — received email that they have processed request, card will be dispatched in 2-3 days .. Checked my cards for confirmation it is showing millinea card

Boom no CIBIL hits, no need to close cc and apply againView attachment 74907
I have tried this but unfortunately it's not working for me. I actually having 3 cards.
1) paytm hdfc - ltf
2) Tata neu plus - paid
3) Swiggy hdfc - I have got lifetime free offer and applied it via Swiggy app but now they're claiming that it's only FYF and LTF. I have raised complaint but everyone is saying it's only FYF and LTF and denying the fact even if it's mentioned that I'm eligible for lifetime free on the screenshot I have taken before applying it.

I want to get a core card as all I have co-branded cards and I have sent an mail. I have got a reply mentioning that I'm eligible for the hdfc biz rupay virtual card and if needed any other card they're asking me to download the upgradation form and wanted me to send them to Chennai hdfc cards office for further processing with some documents.

Here I want to know 3 things:
1) what will be my chance to get if applying for upgrading request manually atleast a basic card?
2) will it be lifetime free like my existing Paytm hdfc card or not as need the other 2 cards Tata neu and Swiggy?
3) What can be done regarding my hdfc Swiggy card as they're denying that it's lifetime free? I'll share a screenshot for the reference here.

• Screenshot_2024-08-10-10-33-06-790_in.swiggy.android.webp
    Screenshot_2024-08-10-10-33-06-790_in.swiggy.android.webp
    44.7 KB · Views: 5
I have tried this but unfortunately it's not working for me. I actually having 3 cards.
1) paytm hdfc - ltf
2) Tata neu plus - paid
3) Swiggy hdfc - I have got lifetime free offer and applied it via Swiggy app but now they're claiming that it's only FYF and LTF. I have raised complaint but everyone is saying it's only FYF and LTF and denying the fact even if it's mentioned that I'm eligible for lifetime free on the screenshot I have taken before applying it.

I want to get a core card as all I have co-branded cards and I have sent an mail. I have got a reply mentioning that I'm eligible for the hdfc biz rupay virtual card and if needed any other card they're asking me to download the upgradation form and wanted me to send them to Chennai hdfc cards office for further processing with some documents.

Here I want to know 3 things:
1) what will be my chance to get if applying for upgrading request manually atleast a basic card?
2) will it be lifetime free like my existing Paytm hdfc card or not as need the other 2 cards Tata neu and Swiggy?
3) What can be done regarding my hdfc Swiggy card as they're denying that it's lifetime free? I'll share a screenshot for the reference here.
It's simply fyf

You are eligible but after 90 days if you have good spends on it
It's not fair then as they haven't mentioned anything about spends. I do have spends on it but not much and also it's been more than 90 days and I saw that condition too that the lifetime free offer will be applied after 90 days so I tried to check but they're denying it's lifetime free.

Now if they won't convert it to lifetime free what can be my next course of action. Can I ask them to close it now or just before they levy annual fee?

It's not fair then as they haven't mentioned anything about spends. I do have spends on it but not much and also it's been more than 90 days and I saw that condition too that the lifetime free offer will be applied after 90 days so I tried to check but they're denying it's lifetime free.

Now if they won't convert it to lifetime free what can be my next course of action. Can I ask them to close it now or just before they levy annual fee?
Don't mail them just call customer care and elaborate them issue and ask for raise a case most probably it will be converted to ltf