Axis Bank Credit Card Low Limit Problem & Possible Solutions

TechnoFinoTechnoFino is verified member.

Is your Axis Bank credit card limit too low?
Do you have multiple Axis Bank credit cards with different different credit limits but with a maximum aggregate limit?
Axis Bank offer you a maximum aggregate limit and a per card limit.

For example-
Suppose... you have 3 Axis Bank credit cards.
Axis Vistara Infinite with 6 lakhs limit.
Axis ACE with 1L limit
And Axis Magnus with 2L limit.
In this case, your total credit limit (aggregate limit) from axis bank is 6 lakhs.
But you can spend a maximum of 1L from your ACE & 2L from your Magnus, because of per card limit.

Solution for removing the per card limit-
You can request Axis Bank to remove the per card limit, and in most cases they'll remove your per card limit.
You have to email Axis Bank & request for per card limit removal, (check our other thread - bank credit card department email ids, if you don't have Axis Bank email id - https://www.technofino.in/community/threads/all-bank-credit-card-department-email-id-phone-no.529/ ).
Most probably they will remove the per card limit and you'll get an equal shared limit on all your cards.

In the case of the above example-
You'll have Axis Vistara Infinite with 6L limit, Axis Ace with 6L limit and Axis Magnus with 6L limit and total aggregate limit- 6 lakhs.

But what to do if you don't have multiple cards and have a very low limit on your single axis bank credit card-
In this case... I'd recommend you to apply for a higher variant axis bank credit card using card to card method (use credit card which has highest credit limit).
Most probably you'll get approved with a better credit limit.
Now follow the same step, email axis bank and request them to merge limits of both of your cards.

My Case-
My axis ace card limit was 90,000 only
Axis magnus limit was 2L
Axis vistara infinite limit was 6.5L
And Axis Reserve limit - 7L

Now after requesting axis bank to remove per card limit, all my cards are showing 7L limit (per card basis) on mobile app and total aggregate limit 7L.
IMG-20220519-WA0049.jpg IMG-20220519-WA0050.jpg IMG-20220519-WA0051.jpg IMG-20220519-WA0048.jpg
-3rt7jm.jpg

I would argue that the Axis system is better than HDFC because it's atleast possible to get premium and super premium cards when you have low limits. What's wrong in paying fees for the cards if they offer good benefits?

I would've never gotten my reserve or magnus if they had such high limit requirements. I think having a lower floor limit makes a card accessible to more customers, it's their choice to take the card or not.

On the other hand, HDFC isn't willing to give me infinia even if I pay them any amount of money, just because it has an ultra-high floor limit of 8L. Also most of the HDFC cards are given as ltf (even DCB and infinia sometimes), and that's why they are heavily devalued now.
How did you get reserve card? If C2C then how much was the limit on card which you used to apply?

I am little confused, whether I also have to mail to remove aggregate limit?

Can anyone explain how much I can spend?

Around 60k or 1.34L?

• Screenshot-20220702-161038.jpg
    Screenshot-20220702-161038.jpg
    116.7 KB · Views: 96
  • Screenshot-20220702-161737.jpg
    Screenshot-20220702-161737.jpg
    109.6 KB · Views: 97
  • Screenshot-20220702-161752.jpg
    Screenshot-20220702-161752.jpg
    76.5 KB · Views: 96
DCB and Indinia has been given LTF majority when the HDFC was banned from onboarding new customers. Otherwise only high spenders would get it.

Secondly, I would agree that somebody who wants to pay high joining/annual fees for any card is his/her choice. However, try to understand that the banks are already earnings crores of rupees through MDR and various other interest rates. You might have seen many banks have permanently waived off the annual/joining fees.

On ther hand every card has it's own kind of customer bases, can you imagine someone with 700 cibil has taken a new Card like reserve without having any proper lending history. Would you feel good being a Reserve holder?? Ask yourself honestly and let me know.

When it comes to AXIS/SBI it is actually possible to get Reserve if you have agreed to pay the money, even with a limit of 50,000. They actually don't care about the customer status, rather they only want your hard earned money, that's it. In Infinia/DCB you will not get it anyway you unless you have crores of investment with them.

At last about the joining charges, they charges 50,000 or more from your hard earned money which actually they get in terms of hard cash. In return, we are being fooled with vouchers and lounge access which actually costs them 50-80% less value than advertised.

Just to verify, you ask SBI/AXIS to waive off the joining fees and tell them that you don't need any joining benefits. I'm more than 100% sure they won't agree anyway.

Last but not the least, let's assume that you will get joining fee waiver if you spend 1500000/annum. Now for some reason if you spend 1499999 and fall short of a rupee then also they will charge you 50,000+GST.

Tell me can you take it normally?? And AXIS/SBI will not spare you even for that while other banks will consider for sure. This is the reason I don't like their attitude.

Don't take it personally please, this is my view.
I understand your view. My main point is that customer should be given a choice of paying the fees and taking premium cards like infinia instead of putting them behind an artificial barrier like 8L limit which is mostly based on luck. I've observed the HDFC LE pattern of many people and it seems to be totally random. Why should I wait years to get infinia if I have the need now? I'm spending money and I'd would like to get the most value back.

I'm willing to pay the fees for cards like magnus and reserve because they actually give me the most value back (10%+ on magnus). Also I earned around 72k rs worth points on a transaction of just 94k on reserve during a grab deals offer, so the joining fee is more than covered.

what is this aggregate limit. it is making no sense. saying 20L for some one higher than the available credit limit of 1.5L and for some it is 58K lower than available credit limit 1.3L.

I understand your view. My main point is that customer should be given a choice of paying the fees and taking premium cards like infinia instead of putting them behind an artificial barrier like 8L limit which is mostly based on luck. I've observed the HDFC LE pattern of many people and it seems to be totally random. Why should I wait years to get infinia if I have the need now? I'm spending money and I'd would like to get the most value back.

I'm willing to pay the fees for cards like magnus and reserve because they actually give me the most value back (10%+ on magnus). Also I earned around 72k rs worth points on a transaction of just 94k on reserve during a grab deals offer, so the joining fee is more than covered.
Very true.

i had went to a branch yesterday to apply axis C2C and one of their employee told that they have stopped issuing c2c. is it done only in big branch in a metro city. can i also contact any c2c executive and send docs in digital format to him for application or do i need to be there physically.

i have these 2 cards with a total limit of 1.5L
1. Vistara Infinite issued in Jan2022
2. Airtel issued in Mar2022 (Not useful, planning to close)

is it recommended to apply for Magnus?
How do i enhance my limit?

it will be impossible for get the fee waiver based on usage with this limit.

need suggestions from those who have experience dealing with axis bank.

i have these 2 cards with a total limit of 1.5L
1. Vistara Infinite issued in Jan2022
2. Airtel issued in Mar2022 (Not useful, planning to close)

is it recommended to apply for Magnus?
How do i enhance my limit?

it will be impossible for get the fee waiver based on usage with this limit.

need suggestions from those who have experience dealing with axis bank.
What’s your aggregate limit displayed on the card selection page?