Axis Bank sending notice for clarification regarding customer's travel spends on atlas

TechnoFinoTechnoFino is verified member.

Axis Bank today sent notices to many of its Atlas credit card customers requesting clarification and invoices regarding their "travel category spends". Axis Atlas is a travel-focused credit card, so it's surprising that the bank is asking for invoices and clarification for travel category expenses over the past few months. A few days ago, Axis Bank deducted Edge Miles and Edge Reward Points from some customers' reward accounts, citing business transactions. Now, they are requesting clarification on affected customers' travel spends within the next 30 days, otherwise, the bank will cancel their credit cards.

Here, I'm attaching a copy of the notice email:

Screenshot 2024.png

Many genuine Atlas customers have been affected by this move. Some people just spent under 10k on travel categories and received clarification notices. I can understand Axis's desire to eliminate abusers from their customer list, but troubling genuine customers is unacceptable. This is the main reason I didn't add the Axis Magnus Burgundy credit card/Axis Magnus credit card to our list of the best credit cards for 2024. While it may offer good rewards, it's not reliable at all. Axis should revert to their old credit card reward system as they are not capable of running a reward system with airmiles transfer partners.
For peace of mind, stay away from Axis Bank credit cards.

Thank you for writing to Axis Bank.

This is with reference to your email dated 12-03-2024 in relation to edge reward suspended due to non personal usage for your credit card ending with xxxx

We regret for the inconvenience caused to you and we will be glad to assist you in this regards.

We acknowledge the attachment you have shared with us over the email.

We would like to inform you that as per our bank records EDGE reward redemption suspended due to non personal use on CRED, GRAND MERCURE AGRA U O, INDIGO, Interglobe Hotels Private, NOVOTEL, VARUN HOSPITALITY PRIV between Nov23 to Feb23 in next 30 days to avoid further action on your card .

This is to bring to your kind attention that, basis review of the transactions on your Axis Bank Credit Card(s), a pattern of non-personal usage of your Credit Card(s) has been observed for the transactions undertaken by you with the following merchant(s)

As you are aware, your Axis Bank Credit Card(s) can be used only for your personal expenses and purposes, and any other transaction (including for business or commercial purposes) is prohibited under the Axis Bank’s Card Member Agreement and Most Important Terms and Conditions.

The Most Important Terms & Conditions (MITC) and Card Member Agreement is available on the link below for your reference:

Please note that your Flipkart Axis Bank Credit Card has been cancelled & cashback earned has been revoked due to non-personal use as permitted under the Most Important Terms & Conditions (MITC) and Card Member Agreement. Kindly pay any outstanding by the due date.

We request you to reply with the invoices / evidence, if you wish to establish that the transactions undertaken by you with the above-mentioned merchant(s) during 01-Nov-2023 to 29-Feb-2024 were only for Bonafide personal expenses and purposes. Please share such invoices / evidences at the link provided below:

This is with reference to your email dated 12-03-2024 in relation to edge reward suspended due to non personal usage for your credit card ending with xxxx

We regret for the inconvenience caused to you and we will be glad to assist you in this regards.

We would like to inform you that as per our bank records EDGE reward redemption suspended due to non personal use on CRED, GRAND MERCURE AGRA U O, INDIGO, Interglobe Hotels Private, NOVOTEL, VARUN HOSPITALITY PRIV between Nov23 to Feb23 in next 30 days to avoid further action on your card .

This is to bring to your kind attention that, basis review of the transactions on your Axis Bank Credit Card(s), a pattern of non-personal usage of your Credit Card(s) has been observed for the transactions undertaken by you with the following merchant(s)

As you are aware, your Axis Bank Credit Card(s) can be used only for your personal expenses and purposes, and any other transaction (including for business or commercial purposes) is prohibited under the Axis Bank’s Card Member Agreement and Most Important Terms and Conditions.

The Most Important Terms & Conditions (MITC) and Card Member Agreement is available on the link below for your reference:

Please note that your Flipkart Axis Bank Credit Card has been cancelled & cashback earned has been revoked due to non-personal use as permitted under the Most Important Terms & Conditions (MITC) and Card Member Agreement. Kindly pay any outstanding by the due date.

We request you to reply with the invoices / evidence, if you wish to establish that the transactions undertaken by you with the above-mentioned merchant(s) during 01-Nov-2023 to 29-Feb-2024 were only for Bonafide personal expenses and purposes. Please share such invoices / evidences at the link provided below:
I got this reply after sending some invoices,i don't have axis Flipkart card but y they mentioned that

I once raised a complaint about my Atlas card and they responded saying that my IndianOil card does not have that facility!

Yeah, so its just Axis being absolutely clueless. I don't know on what basis are people trusting them with their money at all.

Why they have mentioned CRED.....was that a travel/hotel/airline booking?

God knows what Axis doing....the news is widespread and other banks are trying to grab the cake. Received attached mail image from Amex just now!!!! Axis is actually "Dil se Open and Dimaag se Closed" 🙂
View attachment 45742
Is this for their business series or can we make business spends on normal personal series as well?
hdfc has launched biz cards.. check them out.. similar benefits
Yes i have a biz Grow, i have just got it. But rewards on these biz series are very low, they only good for tax payments.
Take any top end card unless u go nuts in Similar orders then it might get flagged else
Any top tier card works
But it depends on your type of spending , where u spend & how much u spend
I have like 3-4 lakh monthly business expenses, and 20-30k personal. I wish to get infinia after this year ITR though idk if it'll allow business expenses. Another I'm excited about are Amex cards.

I once raised a complaint about my Atlas card and they responded saying that my IndianOil card does not have that facility!

Yeah, so its just Axis being absolutely clueless. I don't know on what basis are people trusting them with their money at all.
Guys, please don't blame those fresh Bcom, BA,BSc etc.. graduate trainees..
Please put up with them while they gain some experience

Is this for their business series or can we make business spends on normal personal series as well?

Yes i have a biz Grow, i have just got it. But rewards on these biz series are very low, they only good for tax payments.

I have like 3-4 lakh monthly business expenses, and 20-30k personal. I wish to get infinia after this year ITR though idk if it'll allow business expenses. Another I'm excited about are Amex cards.
Hdfc infinia ..within limit bussines transaction would be ok bcz they expect u to spend high .
@S S V can tell u more about it ..
for amex upto certain limit its ok . depends on which card u getting.
platinum travel+ charge would suit you