BUDGET 2025 Discussion | Your Predictions/Suggestions/Reviews/ Outcomes

Its a special provision
I hope they release the details soon, otherwise confusion like this will happen:
it means if someone is earning 13L they will get less than if they were earning 12.75L
which goes against all manner of progressive taxation principles.

60k rebate ig
This sounds more likely to me. Will this be given to everyone or will someone get cut off based on their income level, I wonder.

Thanks! can you please mention your source?

This brings back the issue that someone earning 12.1 L will make significantly less take-home salary than someone earning 12L, which isn't fair or desirable.
Yes, that is how taxation always was. But limit for 0 tax is 12.75 due to standard deduction. But taxed if it is 12.76.
In old regime, there was option to donate some money to bring it down , with new regime, may be they have to use nps to reduce such small amounts below 12.75

Thanks! can you please mention your source?

This brings back the issue that someone earning 12.1 L will make significantly less take-home salary than someone earning 12L, which isn't fair or desirable.
no this is wrong calculation. there is a concept of marginal tax. so if you earn more than 12l your take home will not be less than someone earning 12 lakh. if you earn 1 rupee over 12.75 you go on to actually pay 15%(slab rate on ₹1 that is 15 paisa as tax after same benefits of some one earning as 12.75 lakhs salary)

A lot of half knowledge/nonsense is floating around the forums, wait till the time you actually file the tax return.

S
View attachment 82481
Check this out. Will make more sense.
Surcharge will also come if income is 1₹ mor than 50L 😢
I hope they release the details soon, otherwise confusion like this will happen:

which goes against all manner of progressive taxation principles.

This sounds more likely to me. Will this be given to everyone or will someone get cut off based on their income level, I wonder.

no this is wrong calculation. there is a concept of marginal tax. so if you earn more than 12l your take home will not be less than someone earning 12 lakh. if you earn 1 rupee over 12.75 you go on to actually pay 15%(slab rate on ₹1 that is 15 paisa as tax after same benefits of some one earning as 12.75 lakhs salary)

A lot of half knowledge/nonsense is floating around the forums, wait till the time you actually file the tax return.
I don't think so. Tax slab remains same for both 12.75 and 12.76L. Government gives rebate till 12.75L. So net tax becomes 0. Once you cross, you are not eligible for rebate. So you fall under slab rate and pay tax in slab rates. Please note this is on income and not limited to salary.

This is a like sharp shooting middle class but in a good way. Eitherway good for Nammu Tai. But this was not for election, BJP could only wish doing this before election. It is affecting the entire economy at this point and accross the board.

Some relief to middle class at last. I hope there is no fine print.

But caution gentlemen, invompetent and impotent Women like Tai Ji don't change. This could ve a bait and switch situation to move everyone to new tax regime and de-legalize tax deductions. Remember if this goes away it would be impossible to legalize it again.

This is accurate information.

Income tax exemption over the years: From Rs 1 lakh in 2005 to Rs 12 lakh in 2025

The tax exemption threshold has steadily increased, aligning with economic growth and inflation adjustments.

2005: Rs 1 lakh
2012: Rs 2 lakh
2014: Rs 2.5 lakh
2019: Rs 5 lakh
2023: Rs 7 lakh
2025: Rs 12 lakh

Fortunate enough to pay tax then. Fortunate enough to pay tax now.

As PM came up with concept of giving up gas cylinder subsidy, PM should come with idea of giving up Income Tax rebates for folks earning below 12L. 🙂 Pay Income taxes with pride.

Fortunate enough to pay tax then. Fortunate enough to pay tax now.

As PM came up with concept of giving up gas cylinder subsidy, PM should come with idea of giving up Income Tax rebates for folks earning below 12L. 🙂 Pay Income taxes with pride.
I am very much interested in how much tax you paid last year?