(Caution) Check your AIS. Banks have reported high value Credit Card spends for FY22-23.

Lol last line amazed me. How can u compare magnus with Amazon icici😅. A 68% return card (on 1L Myntra vouchers) with 1% return card🤣.

After Magnus and SBI Cashback Card, I don't even look at 2-3% returns.
🤣. My magnus didn't had that much limit ☹️.
Rest of the cards I didn't have any cashback for jewelry purchases. 10L on ICICI gave me around 20k in returns (including CheQ bill pay).
It was either icici cc or debit card purchase at that time.

Thanks to @RewardsAlert . If ever have to do this again and provided myntra allows - I will bombard them with Myntra gold coins instead of direct cc purchase 🤣

Can any CA on this forum let us know about:

1. Using credit cards for business spending in the case of sole proprietorship allowed?
2. If allowed, then is Credit Card spending > Income in ITR acceptable?
Disclaimer - my spends are about 50-60% of my income.

However I know that IT dept realizes that one card might be used by the entire family and friend circle. In addition, credit cards are also used for borrowing money . Hence, in my view, it's fine even if someone spends upto 2x of his or her income (so long as one can justify). One should worry only if there is an element of undeclared income. In which case a notice could come regardless of credit card usage.

IT dept realizes that one card might be used by the entire family. In addition, credit cards are also used for borrowing money (spend now and make minimum payments). hence, in my view, it's fine even if someone spends upto 2x of his or her income.
Yes, but there should be proper justification or a legitimate source of funds. And I'm guessing that the people on this forum are typically not the kind that spend 2x their income and pay only the minimum amount due. 😅

In that case, the IT would have to send notices to crores of people. it's an open secret how people use credit cards to manufacture spends (rent, gold etc). however, the same is not construed as income. The spender keeps the points and pays the processing fee. Can be easily justified. IT dept ain't moral police.
🙂 If wishes were horses

In that case, the IT would have to send notices to crores of people. it's an open secret how people use credit cards to manufacture spends (rent, gold etc). however, the same is not construed as income. The spender keeps the points and pays the processing fee. Can be easily justified. IT dept ain't moral police.
isi swarnim mauke pe ek line yad aata he;
Just because everyone(crores of people) is doing it, doesn't mean that is right.

isi swarnim mauke pe ek line yad aata he;
Just because everyone(crores of people) is doing it, doesn't mean that is right.
Sahi galat ki baat kaun kar raha hai shriman, yaha to IT notice ki baat ho rahi on credit card spends upto a certain level. Confuse ho gaye kya?

@TechnoFino

What about Debit card - wallet reloads ?😅🤣🤣

What about prepaid card spends ?

What about upi spends?

Rotating account balance from one savings to another savings account ?
In General, there are no issues with all of the above but if anything is being done to evade taxes and not show your income that could be an issue. MY suggestion is to always keep your accounts ready for the big transactions. It will help you to reply in case you get a notice from IT to show the source of the particular transaction and how is that not your income and so shouldn't be taxed.

What is the definition of high value transaction? Is there any threshold amount?
Well in common Paralace if the sum total of all your transactions is more than 10 Lac with a particular bank( Axis/ Hdfc/ other) It will be reported to the IT department. But, one doesn't need to worry if their income is higher than their expenses or if they have proper accounts to show whether the extra expense is not part of their income. For Eg, one did an expense of 4 Lac on behalf of their company and later on, got reimbursed. Now, you might have an annual income of Rs 3 Lac only, but you can simply show that the expense is done on behalf of the company and the company paid it back to you. So it's not part of income.

I spend around 15 lacs on magnus a year , but that is much less than income. The real problem will be for people who are mindlessly rotating money for points and dont have the income backing their spending. The penalties in income tax is almost 300%. Normal tax rate if is 20% for you, be ready to folk out 60% as penalty. Hope people become sensible, nothing escapes the IT department due to all things getting linked
Yes, that is true. If the income can match up or is more than the expense there is never a problem. In the other scenario where income<expense on CC then one needs to just do the proper accounting. In the event of notice one just needs to explain the source.

For eg. A person is using Magnus and does expenses of Rs15 Lacs and his own income is 5 lacs. He could explain the expense by showing that in his family( Mom, Dad, Brother) all of them use it. the same credit card for expenses. And, moreover show the details of the payment received from the family members. So proper accounting can take care of it though it is a hassle.

I believe that this 10L applies to the cash transactions, but I'm not sure about it. Anyone confirm is it really showing in AIS?
1 Lac applies to cash transactions. So a payment of CC which is done by the mean of using Cash to settle the bill will be reported in your AIS under the relevant sections.

Just checked and believe this is how it works:

1. Total income through salary or other sources
2. Total investments made throughout the fiscal - tagged to the PAN card
3. Any dividends received against current holdings
4. 10L+ spending with a single financial institution in that fiscal

Now you should be worried if 1 is less than your (2+3+4). Hope this clarifies 🙂
One has to only worry to keep an accounting or if they couldn't explain their income or they have unaccounted income which they didn't file return for and is relfecting in their Bank account/ investment or in any other form.

Is it reported for the financial year?

The reporting date in my AIS is May 24. However, based on the amount reported, I feel that it is a lot higher than my actual spend unless they have reported it till May 24 and have also included refunded/cancelled transactions.
Well, that could usually happen because the bank ends up including 1 month before April and 1 month after April. So to make it easy for you to understand: let's say your billing cycle is from the 18th of each month. So for the month of April 2022 cycle, they will include the bill of another 12 days( 18th March to 31st March also) and the same goes for the end of the financial year( 1st of April to 18th of April).

So now if you will add these bills you will see that they will match with the AIS reported Amount under SFT

(Rs. 10 lakh or more by any other mode, against bills raised in respect of one or more credit cards issued to that person, in a financial year.)

Solutions:
1) Change your billing cycle so they align with the calendar months.

or
2) Don't do expenses that fall between those extra days of March 2022 and April 2023.

Guys I'm a student and not filing itr and within last 6 months my card usage was around 10-12 Lakhs, I've contacted my CA he said we'd file it from now on. Do I need anything specific to avoid the IT officials? My dad would kill me if something like this happens. Please do guide me.
Hey Yogesh! Could you please explain how the expenses mounted to 10-12 lakh and what are the source of your income? Or is it that you are buying stuff for other people?

He said it's not an issue if you've spent so much just freeze your card usage from now onwards and try to spend in limit. Is it okay? Should I take his word?
No, How does that matter? If you even stop spending on it. IT may get in touch with you for what you have done. They don't care whether you have stopped doing that in the future. As I said in the other post also keep a proper accounting of big Expenses. And their source, you will always have an answer to the show Cause notice given by the Income Tax to explain everything.

Can any CA on this forum let us know about:

1. Using credit cards for business spending in the case of sole proprietorship allowed?
2. If allowed, then is Credit Card spending > Income in ITR acceptable?
A sole prop. Is owned by an individual so the Pan Card number is the same only. You wouldn't be having another credit card on the name of business.

To answer your questions point-wise:
1) Yes, IT Dept has got no issues with it. But, the issuing bank may have a problem as they have issued you the CC for personal use not for business use.. As they have Corporate/ other credit cards for that.

2) See the whole criteria again comes down to the accounting of things. I would have a very simple question if you have CC spending which is more than income filed in ITR, How did you manage to pay the difference amount? If you have an explanation for it then no need to worry. Otherwise there could be a problem.

Bhai kuch nhi hoga...😤😤
Bola diyo Gifted money h... Parents se Gift me Mila h!!
Aur parents toh Tax dete ho honge...😑😑

Immediate relative se money Milne pe GIFT money karke dikha sakte h!!😎😎
That is true to an extent. But, if one wants to keep a record of it they need to get a gift deed signed along with the amount mentioned and the Same is reported in the ITR filing.

If
Income kitni hai?

Income agar taxable hai toh ITR file Krna hoga.

Income nhi hai toh itna spend Kaise Kiya iski details likh kr ke rakh lijiye.

Ye koi notice nhi hai, yani ke aapse koi kch puch nhi rha, toh apko reply krne ki zaroorat nhi hai
Even if you don't have an income you should ideally file a Zero income return or the return which doesn't lead to tax.

For Eg, Assume that income up to 5Lac is not taxable under the Income tax act 1961 and you're 18 years old now. So if you file this return for continuous 5 years you will have a capital of 5*5= 25 Lacs. And that could be on paper. It helps if you want to take a loan or study aborad and for many other purposes.