Close Idfc select card to get Idfc wealth card. Tips?

RockyBond

I am tired of Idfc bank not upgrading my Select Card to wealth. I want to apply on basis of My amex card having limit of 6.3 lakhs.

Please help these queries.

1. After closing Select how many days to wait before applying?
2. Can i apply from same mobile number or need to our different number ?
3. My Amex limit was enhanced just 1 week back and is showing in my cibil as 6.3 lakhs so okay to go ahead?

I am tired of Idfc bank not upgrading my Select Card to wealth. I want to apply on basis of My amex card having limit of 6.3 lakhs.

Please help these queries.

1. After closing Select how many days to wait before applying?
2. Can i apply from same mobile number or need to our different number ?
3. My Amex limit was enhanced just 1 week back and is showing in my cibil as 6.3 lakhs so okay to go ahead?
It worked for me in last month i.e Jan 2024. I tried to upgrade to wealth from select multiple time but didn't work. Once day I decided to try my luck and closed the select card.

After few days I got an SMS that my application for card closure is completed. When I checked the mobile app the card was not present there. Immediately (withing few minutes) I applied using same number but didn't work. I used another number and application proceeded, VKYC done on the same day.

Interestingly, IDFC called on my old number for verification two times. The second time I told them that I didn't apply using this number. The lady on the other end told me that they are calling on the number present in credit bureau and asked me the confirm both are of same person. I confirmed. This caused some doubt in me that they might reject my application. Luckly nothing happened and, on the 7th working day, my card application was approved.

It worked for me in last month i.e Jan 2024. I tried to upgrade to wealth from select multiple time but didn't work. Once day I decided to try my luck and closed the select card.

After few days I got an SMS that my application for card closure is completed. When I checked the mobile app the card was not present there. Immediately (withing few minutes) I applied using same number but didn't work. I used another number and application proceeded, VKYC done on the same day.

Interestingly, IDFC called on my old number for verification two times. The second time I told them that I didn't apply using this number. The lady on the other end told me that they are calling on the number present in credit bureau and asked me the confirm both are of same person. I confirmed. This caused some doubt in me that they might reject my application. Luckly nothing happened and, on the 7th working day, my card application was approved.
Guys, below is what worked for me. I have 3.49 lakh limit and my account got upgraded to wealth last wednesday and I have asked to upgrade my select card to wealth attaching one month statement of my hsbc credit where I had 5.5 lakh limit and I just checked my card has been upgraded to wealth. The process is smooth.

My request to upgrade to wealth was declined almost 6-7 times, now they upgraded it easily.

I think having a idfc wealth account definitely helps. It's like they don't have an option to decline the upgrade.

I applied , next day or same day only with different mobile number , c2c basis with limit >5l , but still got select card only ..then i left that application as it is .. employee called asked me why did i left the application... i said need welth card ... then he asked to to put card limit 8l and salary 1l....no documents needed... got the welth card...
Try this
So CIBIL won't check that we don't have any card with that limit like 8lac as you said

I applied , next day or same day only with different mobile number , c2c basis with limit >5l , but still got select card only ..then i left that application as it is .. employee called asked me why did i left the application... i said need welth card ... then he asked to to put card limit 8l and salary 1l....no documents needed... got the welth card...
Try this
How did you re-entered credit card limit and salary? I have done the same process but, got select card only. But now there is no way to go back and re-enter CL and salary. Just after name, mobile and dob it redirects to recommended cards.

Closing Select and getting a new Wealth card is a hit-and-miss, for some it works flawlessly, for others not so much
But here are a few things that I've gathered so far

1. You need to use different number or wait for awhile before using same number

2. Salary is more important then C2C credit limit

3. You can put higher than actual salary, sometimes IDFC asks for Proof, other times it's approved with no further questions, depends on your luck i guess

I've got a Select with 3.63L limit myself, tried to upgrade to wealth early this yr by getting credit limit increase upgrade but didn't work,
And then Wealth was devalued to oblivion, so know i don't care anymore, might just close this card altogether

It's of no use na? Even lounge access needs to meet spend criteria. What other benefits is there for this card?
If you dont have any IDFC card it can be used for merchant offers. Other benefits include:

- Paytm BOGO 1+1 upto 250 per ticket
- Visa Infinte credit card
- Main advantage is LTF
- No interest on cash withdrawls like all IDFC Cards.
- Dreamfolks card which have Intl Access for 20000 spends which includes fuel spends too.

Finally a decent LTF card to hold.

If you dont have any IDFC card it can be used for merchant offers. Other benefits include:

- Main advantage is LTF
- Dreamfolks card which have Intl Access for 20000 spends which includes fuel spends too.

Agree. Thanks for putting down the offers.
I compared it with ICICI Sapphiro card, which is LTF for me and I found these -
- Bookmyshow B1G1 upto 500 per ticket, 2 times a month
- Visa Signature
- LTF
- I don't use credit cards for cash withdrawals, so this is not applicable for me.
- Sapphiro has dreamfolks, and quarterly spend requirement is Rs 5000/- only (not even monthly)
- Only benefit is bank offer - that's OK for me to let go.

These are the reasons why I decided to cancel it.

Reactions: BVC
Closing Select to get Wealth has not worked for me. After confirmation of closure of select card I applied for wealth card with different number and 3 lac salary and 7.2 lac limit ICICI credit card but again got Select with only 2 lacs limit, whereas earlier Select was 3.63 lacs. Apart from Select there were 3 paid Cards like Swyp, Hpcl Power Plus and Vistara. Called customer care to cancel the application. Then tried again after cancellation of first application with 4.1 lacs salary and 10.48 lacs limit Axis card but again got same set of cards.
After that I just let it go.
Isse jyada effort deserve nahi karta ye card.

- Main advantage is LTF

Sorry to come back on this.
What does 'no interest on cash withdrawals' mean? How does it work?

As what I understand, if the cash withdrawal limit is saying 50000, if someone withdraws 50k from an ATM, there is no interest? He just needs to pay back 50k in the next bill? (+ Some one-time charges?)