Comprehensive Guide on BPCL SBI Octane Credit Card

Virtual King

Dear TF Family,

1. Infinia Void. I have Infinia Metal credit card, but it does not offer RPs on fuel transactions. As I do have substantial fuel transactions, therefore, there was a felt need to plug this void. Accordingly, I homed on to BPCL SBI Octane credit card which is offering maximum rewards of 6.25% on all fuel transactions (7.25% if you factor in the fuel surcharge waiver) at BPCL outlets, and some additional benefits.

2. Comprehensive Guide on BPCL SBI Octane Credit Card. During my research on Octane credit card, I came across numerous blogs, articles, forums, et al discussing the features of Octane credit card. So, I decided to compile a comprehensive guide on Octane based on open-source research and my own experiences of using the card since June 2024.

3. Contents of the Guide. The following aspects of Octane are covered:-

S No
Topic
Page No
1.​
Background and Key Highlights
3​
2.​
Eligibility Criteria
4​
3.​
Welcome Benefits
4​
4.​
Fuel Benefits (25x) and Other Benefits (25x, 10x, 1x)
4-5​
5.​
Earning RPs – Value, Validity, Cappings, Exclusions
5-6​
6.​
Redeeming RPs – Options, Methods, Exclusions
7-8​
7.​
International and Forex Transactions
8​
8.​
Card Billing and Payments
9​
9.​
Disputed Transactions
9​
10.​
Late Payment Charges (LPC) and Other Charges
9-10​
11.​
Credit Limit (CL)
10​
12.​
Card Renewal, Loss and Add-on Cards
11​
13.​
Arbitration
11​
14.​
Flexipay Feature
11​
15.​
Miscellaneous Tips
11-15​
16.​
Customer Care, Contact Details and References
15-16​

4. References. Some important references used for compiling the guide are as under:-
* https://bharatpetroleum.in/blog/Blog-Detail.aspx?id=38
* https://cardinsider.com/sbi-card/bpcl-sbi-card-octane/
* https://cardmaven.in/bpcl-sbi-credit-card-octane-review/
* https://desidime.com/discussions/need-info-regarding-sbi-bpcl-octane-reward-points
* https://financesrule.com/bpcl-sbi-card-octane-review/
* https://finwealthcare.com/2021/03/sbi-bpcl-octane-credit-card-benefits.html
* https://groww.in/credit-card/sbi-bpcl-octane-credit-card
* https://ifinancebox.com/bpcl-sbi-card-octane-credit-card/
* https://paisabazaar.com/credit-card/bpcl-sbi-card-octane-review/
* https://reddit.com/r/CreditCardsIndia/comments/ (various threads)
* https://sbicard.com/en/personal/credit-cards/travel/bpcl-sbi-card-octane.page
* https://sbicard.com/sbi-card-en/assets/docs/pdf/most-important-terms-and-conditions/mitc-english.pdf
* https://sbicard.com/sbi-card-en/assets/docs/pdf/ekit-tncs/BPCLOctanetnc.pdf
* https://sbicard.com/en/personal/visa-offers.page
* https://sbicard.com/en/personal/offers.page#all-offers
* https://select.finology.in/credit-card/sbi-bpcl-credit-card-octane
* https://technofino.in/sbi-bpcl-octane-credit-card-review/ (various threads)
* https://wishfin.com/bpcl-sbi-card-octane-6260/

5. Disclaimer. All the data in this guide has been sourced, collected and collated from open sources like various blogs, articles, threads, news, bank websites, etc. and/or through SBI customer care/personal experiences. These details/data may change from time to time. All information in this guide is for mere reference and user guidance only for BPCL Octane Credit Card users.

I am sharing my own perspectives through this thread and am also attaching the comprehensive guide on BPCL SBI Octane credit card in the PDF format for easy reference. I sincerely hope that it is of some use to the readers.

Best wishes. 🙂

bhai anyone kindly let me know how to check individual transaction reward point summary for sbi octane credit card in the sbi app or website ? I could not find the same.

Have one doubt regarding setting limit in the SBI Card app.
Under the "Set your spend limit", it says
"Set your usage limit for the billing cycle"
Is the limit we set really for the billing cycle? Most cards have a limit for the day, or ask if the limit is for the day or the month.
Have kept a limit of ₹5000 now thinking its daily since anyway I am not going to fuel up for more than ₹4000. But if it's monthly, then I have to increase limit. Don't want to get a card decline while refueling in a hurry. So asking here. Otherwise I would have tried myself.

Since none of the experts gave a reply, here is my opinion -

It is for statement cycle itself. Tried and tested !!!

My tier 3 city has 2 BPCL pumps. 1 is near from my home. Twice I refueled from there. Both times no points. Mail Kiya fir miscalculate karke add kar diye points. Ab mene fir calculate krke mail me likhke bheja hai. Amount of fuel bought divided by 4 that is equal to number of reward points earned. But still sbi amazes us in different ways. Fun fact is that sbi has categorised both these transactions under fuel only. But still bhedbhav kara BPCL pump ke sath.

How much % surcharge is levied per transaction on fuel? I am getting charged extra ₹10 on every fuel payment at BPCL pump by tap and pay. I get 1% surcharge reversal per transaction and there is no minimum value for transaction to get surcharge reversal.
For example:
1:
fuel cost ₹100
surcharge ₹10
surcharge reversal 1% = ₹1

2:
fuel cost ₹1000
surcharge ₹10
surcharge reversal 1% = ₹10

How much % surcharge is levied per transaction on fuel? I am getting charged extra ₹10 on every fuel payment at BPCL pump by tap and pay. I get 1% surcharge reversal per transaction and there is no minimum value for transaction to get surcharge reversal.
For example:
1:
fuel cost ₹100
surcharge ₹10
surcharge reversal 1% = ₹1

2:
fuel cost ₹1000
surcharge ₹10
surcharge reversal 1% = ₹10
It's quite complicated and varies.
Actually it is 1% of amount. Usually when I fuel for ₹500 with bpcl octane (swipe only), I get charged 505.9. But sometimes ₹505 also. But more than this amount I have not seen in my 1 month of bpcl octane

It's quite complicated and varies.
Actually it is 1% of amount. Usually when I fuel for ₹500 with bpcl octane (swipe only), I get charged 505.9. But sometimes ₹505 also. But more than this amount I have not seen in my 1 month of bpcl octane
I have always been charged ₹10 per transaction, I have a rupay card but I pay by tap. I have most of the receipts.
Can you please try tap on the next fueling, I will try swiping and let you know.
Also, I am unable to login to sbi cards app or website since yesterday, the app "gives can't reach the server" error and the website gives " Sorry, you can't avail this service at the moment. Please try again later or call the SBI card helpline at phone no".
Are you able to login via app and the website?

I have always been charged ₹10 per transaction, I have a rupay card but I pay by tap. I have most of the receipts.
Can you please try tap on the next fueling, I will try swiping and let you know.
Also, I am unable to login to sbi cards app or website since yesterday, the app "gives can't reach the server" error and the website gives " Sorry, you can't avail this service at the moment. Please try again later or call the SBI card helpline at phone no".
Are you able to login via app and the website?
App me to ho raha hai login, no issues. Tap pay se bhi reward points 6.25% mil rhe hain bhai apart from fuel surcharge waiver bhai ?

SBI BPCL OCTANE gives 6.25% reward points along with 1% fuel surcharge wevier on Tap&Pay Transaction.Personally verified multiple times as I always paid via Tap&Pay method at BPCL fuel station.

Rather for this purpose only I have changed my Rupay network to Visa network.

Hopefully this will solve the confusion.