HDFC bank account upgrade

Akb

I currently have a salary account standard account with HDFC. I went to the branch to upgrade my account to classic. However the representative told me that it would be better to open a new savings account instead of upgrading my salary account as it would have more benefits including a RM. I wanted to know if this is true and if I should actually open a new savings account. Wanted to understand the cons if any.
Update : I just confronted the representative. She then agreed saying there will be no difference in the benefits between salary and savings account. But the savings account won’t be downgraded easily if MAB isn’t maintained whereas a salary account will be downgraded within a month.
I could sense the BS and asked her to cancel my savings account application and she tore it in front of me🙂

You will get upgraded to Classic if you maintain a MAB of 25K for sometime even if you have a salary account. I got upgraded to Classic and then to Preferred through same route.

I currently have a salary account standard account with HDFC. I went to the branch to upgrade my account to classic. However the representative told me that it would be better to open a new savings account instead of upgrading my salary account as it would have more benefits including a RM. I wanted to know if this is true and if I should actually open a new savings account. Wanted to understand the cons if any.
Even if you get upgraded to Classic or even Preferred you won't feel any difference in HDFC Bank😂

He is just trying to fill his sales targets. Don't listen to any bank RM.

Classic HDFC bank staff. Some times aho i went to hdfc branch to apply for credit card i tried applying online but i was facing error online so at that time i had other banks credit card and i wanted to apply c2c base on my apay card with the limit of 420k so i talked to cc agent he told me that hdfc does not provide card on c2c and i hace to open Savings max or classic ACC if i want c. I told him that i read on website that hdfc does give cards on c2c and he said ARE WO TO SB ESE HI LIKHTE HAI ME AAPKO BOLTA HU NA HDFC C2C CARDS NAHI DETA.

This is why I say HDFC bank is more PSU than actual PSU banks.

I keep getting mails and messages that I am eligible for preferred account. I decided to upgrade and after a year I submitted the request. Got upgraded in 3 days