How many bank accounts do you have and for what purposes?

raghavx

I hold following bank accounts

1. ICICI Bank (Savings) - For salary crediting and investments
  2. IDFC First Bank (Savings) - for savings purposes, it gives good rate of interest.
  3. DBS - Idk why I am still holding this.
  4. Paytm Payments Bank - Had opened it long back, not sure why I am holding this too.
  5. Fi.money - For day to day transactions as my primary savings account would get cluttered with few hundred rupees transactions.
  6. Jupiter - Had opened alongside with Fi, thinking to close this.

One friendly suggestion :

Since last year, IncomeTax Dept (ITD) is insisting that each tax payer DECLARES DETAILS OF ALL BANK ACCOUNTS HELD by him/her. From this year onwards, they are likely to view it seriously if we miss declaring some accounts. Inoperative accounts are also expected to be included for declaration.

If you see RBI's directives to all banks yesterday/today, all banks are likely to take up toning up the inoperative accounts. Either one should close them or keep them active n operative. That's the idea.

My hunch is that ITD will try to match our voluntary declaration of all accounts with these various databases of all banks and may throw up some interesting info/data down the lane. ITD seems to be doing some serious work on this front.

So, it's better to prune down and close unwanted and rarely used bank accounts.

Better be prepared and be prudent than be sorry when the ITD starts functioning seriously on this front.
I understand sir, however I declare all accounts and AIS has already been showing all these accounts with account numbers for the last 3 years and the savings account interest is already being taxed in my ITR.

I opened an Exclusive bank account in 2015. In 2021 , I decided to cancel the account, but I couldn't for some reasons. I withdrew all the cash though. Now fast forward to 2024 I opened the account with the intention of closing , I find the account still facing non maintenance charges . The amount is - 6022. I contacted Indus Ind bank and reminded them that as per the RBI CIRCULAR RBI/2014-15/308 , it is clearly mentioned that if the balance is 0, under any circumstances, non maintenance charges cannot be levied. The customer care refused and said max we will waive off 30%. I reported to RBI Ombudsman . Post this I have been getting calls over calls from the bank . Now on Friday, the last update is that I have got a message of a service request from IndusInd regarding Non Maintenance charges complaint, which all the while they were refusing to do.

I am confident it will be waived off as a result of this. One the balance is restored to 0, I will close the account.
Indus Ind bank has credited the amount of 6022, the balance is restored to 0.

Hi Guys,

My first post here.

The following are the accounts I hold:

S.No

Bank

Use

AQB

HSBC Premier

Family Accounts, Excellent Service

40 Lakhs

Open

DBS Treasures

Salary, Excellent Service

5 Lakhs

Open

SCB Priority

Family Account, Excellent Service

30 Lakhs

Open

Axis SBEZY(Previously Priority- Downgraded)

Have Credit Card Linked

Open

HDFC

Previously Salary, Hold due to CC

Open

IndusInd

Previously Exclusive, Now Maxima, In a Dispute over Non Maintenance with RBI Ombudsman

Open

IDFC

General Payments, Good Service

Open

ICICI

Because it was 0 Balance

Open

Yes Bank

For CC, and forex free debit card

Open

AU

Took because I have linked CC

Open

SBI

First PSU, for SBI JCB Debit

Open

BOB

2nd PSU

Open

PNB

For my travels to Rural India

Open

Canara Bank

For Select DC

Open

Union Bank

Don’t know why I took this, maybe for my trips to North east india

Open

Bank of India

For Select DC

Open

Central Bank of India

Don’t know why I have this

Open

Niyo Equitas

Took it due to the hype

Open

FI

Took it due to the hype(Closing it soon)

Open

Niyo DCB

Took it due to the hype (works well though)

Open

Niyo SBM

Took it due to the hype (works well though In 2024)

Open

Jio Finance

God Knows

Open

Airtel Payments Bank

Took it for Delhi Metro NCMC Card

Open

S.No 18 to 22 I am thinking of shutting down (thinking not finalized yet)

BankUserAQBStatus
Kotak (Dormant)Previously Salary, Haven’t used for 4 years.20KDormant
Karur Vysya BankFirst bank account in college5KClosed
SBIOpened digital account , Closed due to Full KYC not done0Closed
Paytm Payments BankShut Down0Closed
Axis BankOpened in college, dormant since stopped using it due to new account at AXIS10KDormant

Hope this helps.

Treasures need more right for AMB?

SBi savings account : Very first account ( holding cause of zero balance)
HDFC savings account: credit cards attached ( Millenia and plus rupay)
SBM Bank savings account: Opened via US stock broker ( ignoring for a long time)
IDFC first bank savings account: Monthly interest credit ( Wealth account, holding till I get wealth credit card after that will close)
federal bank : For current US stock broker

SBi savings account : Very first account ( holding cause of zero balance)
HDFC savings account: credit cards attached ( Millenia and plus rupay)
SBM Bank savings account: Opened via US stock broker ( ignoring for a long time)
IDFC first bank savings account: Monthly interest credit ( Wealth account, holding till I get wealth credit card after that will close)
federal bank : For current US stock broker
Does federal bank offer good outward remittance rates?

Currently I have these accounts :-

SBI - Salary Wealth account

Bob - Advantage saving account

ICICI - Wealth Management

HDFC - Imperia

Spouse :-

HDFC - Imperia

ICICI - Wealth management

Axis - Salary Burgundy

SBI - Wealth

I have two accounts -

1 in HDFc - primary savings and salary credit (+1 current account for reimbursements)
1 in BoM - my first account opened at age 18. Not used.

I am still at only 2 account:
  1. SBI - primary (global debit card, mastercard)
  2. HSBC - salary (visa debit card)

thats enough, moreover if anything went wrong in those accounts we're only responsible.

1. HDFC Classic - Savings
  2. ICICI
    • Regular - Rupay Platinum DC for Apay offer
    • Wealth Management Account - Savings
  3. Axis Liberty - Opened for Pre Approved CC offer. Recently Got Ace card via gpay, still thinking to continue for 750 voucher per quarter.
  4. Kotak 811 - All investment purposes.
  5. Indusind (International Transaction - 0 Forex)
    • Partner - Got under offer with 0 MAB
    • Exclusive - Got under offer with 0 MAB & Savings
  6. AU - Rupay Platinum DC for Apay offer
  7. RBL - Don't know.
  8. SBI - Savings & Govt Schemes like PPF
  9. BoB - 0 MAB and secondary Govt Bank Account.
  10. Paytm Payment Bank - Day to day UPI transactions.
  11. Airtel Payments Bank - Don't know why.
Also I don't keep fund's above 5L in any account except SBI, to be on safe side under DICGC insurance cover.

Will eventually close AU, RBL, ICICI Regular & Airtel once the purpose is accomplished.
Updated List:
  1. HDFC
    • Classic - Savings
    • Salary - Salary
    • Speciale Gold - Choice Acc Number
  2. ICICI
    • Regular - Rupay Platinum DC
    • Privilege Account (Downgraded from Wealth Management Account) - Savings
    • Family 360 Account
  3. Kotak 811 - All investment purposes.
  4. Indusind (International Transaction - 0 Forex)
    • Partner - Got under offer with 0 MAB
    • Exclusive - Got under offer with 0 MAB & Savings
    • Pioneer - Metal DC
  5. IDFC Wealth - Great Digital Experience
  6. AU - Rupay Platinum DC for Apay offer
  7. RBL - Don't know.
  8. SBI - Savings & Govt Schemes like PPF
  9. BoB - 0 MAB and secondary Govt Bank Account.
  10. Airtel Payments Bank - Don't know why.
  11. Jio Payments Bank - Day-to-day UPI transactions (replacement of Paytm Bank)
  12. Jana Small Finance Bank - Free Rupay Select DC (Going to close soon)
Closed:

1. Axis Liberty (you know the reason)
  2. Paytm Payment Bank (Phuk gaya bank 😴)

Also I don't keep fund's above 5L in any account except SBI, to be on safe side under DICGC insurance cover.

Just a heads up to all people who may not understand the reality of the 5L DICGC insurance cover:
It does not mean that you will get the amount back upto 5L instantly.
It only means you will get it eventually.
You also need to consider the inflation and opportunity costs of your money being stuck for many years, please have second thoughts, if it's a large amount for you.
No one knows when you will get the amount if that particular bank goes under. While, RBI may not let that happen, there is a chance that some financial situations may compel RBI to focus on other priorities.

Just a heads up to all people who may not understand the reality of the 5L DICGC insurance cover:
It does not mean that you will get the amount back upto 5L instantly.
It only means you will get it eventually.
You also need to consider the inflation and opportunity costs of your money being stuck for many years, please have second thoughts, if it's a large amount for you.
No one knows when you will get the amount if that particular bank goes under. While, RBI may not let that happen, there is a chance that some financial situations may compel RBI to focus on other priorities.
Is it possible to privately insure our deposits? Like if I have say 2crore FD in a bank, can I insure it outside of DGCIC?

No idea about that.
If you are concerned about any bank's collapse, please consider buying bonds from the RBI direct portal.
Our nation has executed enormous leaps in economic reforms over the past few decades.
Any banking collapse is a sign of systemic decay, which seems unlikely(buy not impossible) in the present economic situation.