How to Maximize Cashback on Utility Bills & Amazon Pay Vouchers?

Trump

I need some help regarding utility bill payments and Amazon Pay gift vouchers.

So, I used to buy Amazon Pay gift vouchers from my HDFC Bank Swiggy credit card, getting 5% cashback. Then, I’d add them to my Amazon account and use them to pay my electricity bills. But recently, I’ve seen some posts saying that the MCC codes have changed, and now no cashback is earned on these apay gv transactions with the HDFC Bank swiggy card. Can anyone confirm this?

I have around ₹8,000 to ₹9,000 in utility bills each month, and I’m looking for the best way to get cashback while paying them. I also have an SBI Cashback card, but I’ve noticed that utility bill payments aren’t the best with it, and afaik either there's no cashback on utility bills or the cashback is pretty low (like 1-2%). Plus, I’ve done a bunch of small transactions on Amazon Pay for gift vocuhers using my SBI card (under ₹100), but I didn’t get any cashback for those. Anyone know what’s up with that?

Also, I’ve got a pre-approved Airtel Axis card offer but don’t really trust Axis after their devaluations of Atlas and Select cards. I’m looking for a good solution, especially for buying Amazon Pay vouchers, since it’s so versatile and I use it a lot on platforms like Uber, Swiggy, Zomato, and Rapido.

Any advice on improving my cashback game, or suggestions for better ways to pay utility bills? Appreciate the help!

For context my Credit Card Portfolio, along with their respective limits: -

1) AMEX - SmartEarn (Paid) - Rs. 1,62,000.
2) Axis Bank - Neo (LTF) - Rs. 1,34,000.
3) HDFC Bank - Millennia (Paid) + Swiggy (LTF) + Tata Neu Plus (LTF) - Rs. 1,00,000 each.
4) Kotak Mahindra Bank - Zen Signature (LTF) - Rs. 35,000
5) SBI Cashback (Paid) - Rs. 20,000
6) Federal Bank - Imperio (LTF) - Rs. 1,86,000

@Vasuki @SSV @D₹V @helloworld @Tejo @sidp @Abhishek012 @BVC @HumorSimpson @Zacobite @vine @NShah @CMG @RAMESH BABU N

Buy AGV from Tata Neu app with SBI CB. And pay your bills with it. And try to make bulk payments as Amazon doesnt allow more than 4 separate transactions with debit card or Pay balance. After that you can only pay using Amazon Pay UPI

So, I used to buy Amazon Pay gift vouchers from my HDFC Bank Swiggy credit card, getting 5% cashback. Then, I’d add them to my Amazon account and use them to pay my electricity bills. But recently, I’ve seen some posts saying that the MCC codes have changed, and now no cashback is earned on these apay gv transactions with the HDFC Bank swiggy card. Can anyone confirm this?

I have around ₹8,000 to ₹9,000 in utility bills each month, and I’m looking for the best way to get cashback while paying them. I also have an SBI Cashback card, but I’ve noticed that utility bill payments aren’t the best with it, and afaik either there's no cashback on utility bills or the cashback is pretty low (like 1-2%). Plus, I’ve done a bunch of small transactions on Amazon Pay for gift vocuhers using my SBI card (under ₹100), but I didn’t get any cashback for those. Anyone know what’s up with that?

Also, I’ve got a pre-approved Airtel Axis card offer but don’t really trust Axis after their devaluations of Atlas and Select cards. I’m looking for a good solution, especially for buying Amazon Pay vouchers, since it’s so versatile and I use it a lot on platforms like Uber, Swiggy, Zomato, and Rapido.

Any advice on improving my cashback game, or suggestions for better ways to pay utility bills? Appreciate the help!

3) HDFC Bank - Millennia (Paid) + Swiggy (LTF) + Tata Neu Plus (LTF) - Rs. 1,00,000 each.
5) SBI Cashback Card (Paid) - Rs. 20,000
6) Federal Bank Imperio Card - Rs. 1,86,000

@Vasuki @SSV @D₹V @helloworld @Tejo @sidp @Abhishek012 @BVC @HumorSimpson @Zacobite @vine @NShah @CMG @RAMESH BABU N
If you are not using smartbuy for hdfc then you can buy agv from. anywhere including gyftr directly using Swiggy card or on NEU.. u will get the CB.. u don't need to use amazon directly..

5) SBI Cashback Card (Paid) - Rs. 20,000
6) Federal Bank Imperio Card - Rs. 1,86,000

Axis ace is a good option for bill payment upto 10k
U will get 5% CB
True ace upto 10k

Then buy amazon gv at 2-3 % whatever you get at

I will suggest to apply for Airtel Axis cc. While Ax-sh#t is, well, sh#t, but am using this card for a year and cashback are ontime and no misses so far.

Use sbi cb, Millennia, Neu too to buy AGVs. Don't depend only on Swiggy cc. Also keep an eye on other vendor vouchers and buy if it fits your spends.
I will suggest to negotiate with customer care about Millennia and try to make it LTF.
Personally make a thumb rule of maximum 2 or 3 paid cards or 2k-3k total paid fees, and follow it.

I am not familiar with amex but if you don't see a purpose for that paid card, then you can consider to close this.

When you have Millennia then why to use Swiggy? It just had 500 more cashback. Keep using Millennia till it gives on APV.
what do you mean by 500 more cashback. also the reason for using swiggy over millennia is basically see the cashback earned gets quickly adjusted with the billing cycles , but then in millennia first the cashpoints need to be accumulated and then for redemption Rs. 59 is a one time charge per redemption request , so I choose convenience with swiggy card. IK it's not much of a charge and accumulation is not also a big deal but when I already am getting a similar cashback with Swiggy card, then why not...... this is my pov
True ace upto 10k

Then buy amazon gv at 2-3 % whatever you get at
Axis ace is a good option for bill payment upto 10k
U will get 5% CB
i have pre-approved both airtel and ace and any day i'm choosing airtel over ace , but the thing is i don't want to get any new cards from axis, they are pretty consistent with their devaluation. kabhi bhi ho sakta hai bhai, koi thikana nahi.
And try to make bulk payments as Amazon doesnt allow more than 4 separate transactions with debit card or Pay balance. After that you can only pay using Amazon Pay UPI
what do you exactly mean by this???? because I pay my Rapido Fare of let's say Rs. 80 twice a day, using Apay balance on a DAILY BASIS, just take away the weekends. Can you clarify what point you are exactly trying to make.
I will suggest to apply for Airtel Axis cc. While Ax-sh#t is, well, sh#t, but am using this card for a year and cashback are ontime and no misses so far.

Use sbi cb, Millennia, Neu too to buy AGVs. Don't depend only on Swiggy cc. Also keep an eye on other vendor vouchers and buy if it fits your spends.
I will suggest to negotiate with customer care about Millennia and try to make it LTF.
Personally make a thumb rule of maximum 2 or 3 paid cards or 2k-3k total paid fees, and follow it.

I am not familiar with amex but if you don't see a purpose for that paid card, then you can consider to close this.
Well i'm thinking about the airtel thing. let's see
Yeah I already converted tata neu plus and swiggy to ltf this month. at this point they'll literally start crying at the chennai office if i send them another mail. I'll probably send in December. See my millennia was issued on May 2024, My total spends this year is 1,38,000ish..... so already I'm above the 100000 threshold, once i cross the 1.5 lakhs mark , i'll send them the email in december. what do you suggest????
thank you tho quite insightful & AMEX I kept because of the high limit. comes in very handy when you are struggling for limit enhancements, because amex is quite credible enough imo.
If you are not using smartbuy for hdfc then you can buy agv from. anywhere including gyftr directly using Swiggy card or on NEU.. u will get the CB.. u don't need to use amazon directly..
but a quick question for sbi cb.... do we have to spend above a particular threshold to earn cashback , because i earned none on the transactions made to purchase agv worth less than 100, directly from amazon, as earlier mentioned for my rapido fare.

Well i'm thinking about the airtel thing. let's see
Yeah I already converted tata neu plus and swiggy to ltf this month. at this point they'll literally start crying at the chennai office if i send them another mail. I'll probably send in December. See my millennia was issued on May 2024, My total spends this year is 1,38,000ish..... so already I'm above the 100000 threshold, once i cross the 1.5 lakhs mark , i'll send them the email in december. what do you suggest????
Yes , send email and negotiate firmly, in december. You should get it.
but a quick question for sbi cb.... do we have to spend above a particular threshold to earn cashback , because i earned none on the transactions made to purchase agv worth less than 100, directly from amazon, as earlier mentioned for my rapido fare.
Never heard of minimum threshold AFAIK
But fractional cashback is not possible, so minimum might be ₹20 for 5% CB.

Min 100 rs to get CB using SBI CB

I'm confident that Airtel will survive atleast 1 more year (very less chances to further devaluation than currently it is), so its better to choose this card for your spends but that only covers upto 2.5K per month.

But better option, IMO. Consider MRCC card from AMEX and spend 1.5L to earn 5% (as amzn vouchers).

You already spending 9k apprx every month, need to spend 11k more (for 6 months) to achieve this.. Can use directly without any restriction.

Recommended because you're ok with 5% cashback and I believe you're ok with 5% amzn vouchers. Check below thread once..

Buy AGV from Tata Neu app with SBI CB. And pay your bills with it. And try to make bulk payments as Amazon doesnt allow more than 4 separate transactions with debit card or Pay balance. After that you can only pay using Amazon Pay UPI
How to buy AGV from Tata Neu app? I'm getting only UPI option.