Strange ICICI Account Upgrade to Private Banking because of Times Black Credit Card??

I had opened my ICICI bank many years ago with a 2.5L cheque (which manager said I could withdraw the next day of a/c opening and it will remain Wealth Management a/c. I still have Wealth Management a/c. I have some ~20-30L FD+savings always in that a/c.

So is Wealth Management is a lower tier a/c than private banking? (Because OP mentioned they got the tier with 4-5L balance) My debit card is useless and they have given LTF Sapphiro (which is also pretty much useless).

Is there any way to get to a higher tier a/c and maybe get a better debit card with this TRV of ~30L?

I had opened my ICICI bank many years ago with a 2.5L cheque (which manager said I could withdraw the next day of a/c opening and it will remain Wealth Management a/c. I still have Wealth Management a/c. I have some ~20-30L FD+savings always in that a/c.

So is Wealth Management is a lower tier a/c than private banking? (Because OP mentioned they got the tier with 4-5L balance) My debit card is useless and they have given LTF Sapphiro (which is also pretty much useless).

Is there any way to get to a higher tier a/c and maybe get a better debit card with this TRV of ~30L?
Private banking is above wealth banking but it doesn't have any extra ordinary advantage over wealth management.

Private banking with 30 L deposit will not get you LTF Emeralde or Times Black, if this is what you want.

Above sapphiro, icici only have Emeralde Pvc, Emeralde Metal & Times Black.

Emeralde pvc is at times offered as ltf on netbanking/imobile if your existing credit card usage matches their algorithm.

Emeralde metal pvc ltf is very rare. Even FYF is rare.

Times Black just launched, don't think it will be given ltf.

This post is not for people having crores in their account. 😄

Private banking is above wealth banking but it doesn't have any extra ordinary advantage over wealth management.

Private banking with 30 L deposit will not get you LTF Emeralde or Times Black, if this is what you want.
Well I kind wanted that. Since the debit card is almost useless and of course so is Sapphiro I thought whatever will come with private a/c (anything at all) might still be better than what I have. Anyway got what you are saying.

(Definitely not getting anything - I use Sapphiro just to not let it get dormant i.e few hundreds every few months or if I notice a rare offer somewhere).

Piggybacking this reply - is there a way to migrate from Dual Sapphiro (Amex+MC) to single Sapphiro (Visa)? And if there are no benefits of Visa over Amex+MC, I hope there's no drawback at least (like will I lose anything that only Amex+MC has), right? (Because if nothing I'd just want to avoid keeping 2 cards for just one card a/c).

I also have ICICI Private Banking but I never applied for any credit card. I keep about 30L-40L in my ICICI saving account. Does that qualify for Private?

Because I can't find any concrete info on their website. How can I check if its permanent or not?

It's above 50L I heard

I holded 30+ trv but still no upgrade from WM to Private banking
For private banking, the official requirement is a Total Relationship Value (TRV) of ₹15 crore. However, in practice, accounts are often upgraded to private banking even with a TRV of around ₹5 crore without much difficulty.

If your TRV is ₹30-40 lakh, your account will be upgraded to private banking only if:

1. You have been an ICICI Bank customer for several years.
  2. You have a large home loan with the bank.
  3. You hold a super-premium credit card like the ICICI Emeralde Private Credit Card or Times Black.
Private banking has multiple tiers, which are not officially disclosed in India. However, the services you receive are based on your TRV and overall relationship with the bank.

Simply getting private banking status won’t be enough—you’ll still need a high income and TRV to qualify for certain applications. But being a private banking customer does offer priority service and better offers across various banking products.