[Suggestion] HDFC Bank Preferred to Imperia Banking Upgrade - Grab/Pass ?

sahil1033

I've salary account in HDFC Bank, currently have Preferred banking status and by the end of November month, I'll be offered Imperia banking status since 2 other accounts from family members are in the same group and MAB will be Rs. 10L or more for the month of November 2023.

I was offered Imperia once more previously but I didn't take the upgrade.

So, my queries are :

- Should I take the upgrade even though I won't be able to maintain Rs. 10L MAB for the whole group (3 savings accounts) ?
- Do they downgrade from Imperia to Preferred/Classic banking programme if MAB criteria isn't met?
- If they downgrade, after what duration does the bank do this?

This is a momentary surge in parking huge amount in savings account, that's not the case otherwise and I really won't be able to maintain such large sum. I'm comfortable in keeping MAB between Rs. 1 - 2 lacs/lakhs, that's it. Till date haven't got any intimation of downgrading Preferred banking status, one of the reason could be that I always meet the MAB criteria at least. My motive behind taking the upgrade would be to get a locker FREE of cost as I'm already chasing the branch to provide locker whenever there's one available. Another benefit I would be looking at can be getting an invite for Infinia maybe, I mean, why not take the upgrade if and when offered. If they downgrade me back to Preferred banking, I will still be fine with it but I've heard that they don't downgrade for an year at least and in some cases people have said they downgrade at all.

Any other input/suggestion is most welcome.