Only Premium & Super Premium Cards Discussion

This is a closed group and meant for discussion on all kinds of Premium/Super Premium Cards having an annual fee above 5k for optimising spends. Please refrain from discussion about lower cards. Only serious members allowed for knowledge sharing.

Quick Overview

Category
Credit Cards
Language
English (US)
Total members
Total events
Total discussions
Total views

Amazon Pay and Amazon Shopping Limits in HDFC Gyftr

Only to be realistic you cannot take the point value at 1 rupee anymore.
More like 80 paisa, because Infinia has devalued points by 50% for 7 travel partners, including Accor.

Now Singapore Airlines is the best point transfer partner for international flights and Vistara is the best point transfer partner for domestic flights.
And Singapore airline points and Vistara points are worth approx 80 paisa each

Also if you spend points for flights you can only use 70% points and you will lose on the 10% discount on flights given by MMT, Cleartrip etc, but you still have to pay the convenience fee.

So the return on Infinia spends goes down to 13.33%.
13.33--4--3=6.33% return on buying 24 carat gold coins

More like 80 paisa, because Infinia has devalued points by 50% for 7 travel partners, including Accor.

Now Singapore Airlines is the best point transfer partner for international flights and Vistara is the best point transfer partner for domestic flights.

Also if you spend points for flights you can only use 70% points and you will lose on the 10% discount on flights given by MMT, Cleartrip etc, but you still have to pay the convenience fee.

It's a wrong assumption. Even if I can only redeem 70% in one time , it's still valued at rs 1. Just that you cannot use 100% of ticket value.

Also if one wants they can transfer to flying blue . It has dynamic rewards but if you book in advance and are flexible, you will be able to get a business class ticket to europe (Paris, Amsterdam) from Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai at around 70-80k points.
This itself gives value more than 1 rs.
Infact I transferred to flying blue last week, booked 4 business class tickets from Athens to Paris to Delhi for a peak season flight for 2.68 lakh points and 60k . Eu to India business class in Air France was valued north of 1.5lakh per ticket at that moment. So I was able to get 2rs per point. Agreed that I might not have booked this ticket if not for points, but that is the point. (no pun intended). My aim is to use these points to enjoy luxury I would think twice if those were out of pocket expenses.

Point is if you think after devaluation you can fetch this value, good. Else evaluate and decide for yourself. Everyone has different use case and different mileage.

It's a wrong assumption. Even if I can only redeem 70% in one time , it's still valued at rs 1. Just that you cannot use 100% of ticket value.

Also if one wants they can transfer to flying blue . It has dynamic rewards but if you book in advance and are flexible, you will be able to get a business class ticket to europe (Paris, Amsterdam) from Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai at around 70-80k points.
This itself gives value more than 1 rs.
Infact I transferred to flying blue last week, booked 4 business class tickets from Athens to Paris to Delhi for a peak season flight for 2.68 lakh points and 60k . Eu to India business class in Air France was valued north of 1.5lakh per ticket at that moment. So I was able to get 2rs per point. Agreed that I might not have booked this ticket if not for points, but that is the point. (no pun intended). My aim is to use these points to enjoy luxury I would think twice if those were out of pocket expenses.

Point is if you think after devaluation you can fetch this value, good. Else evaluate and decide for yourself. Everyone has different use case and different mileage.
Yes, one rupee at 70% utilisation but you lose the 10% discount given by MakeMyTrip, Clear trip and you still have to pay the convenience fee.
Still, this is the best option for redemption of Infinia points--direct flight booking on Smartbuy @Rs 1

For business class ticket, points are worth much more than one rupee definitely.
but I prefer to fly economy because I value business class at only 25% more than economy.
Just like everything else in life, a little better is is much more expensive

Yes, one rupee at 70% utilisation but you lose the 10% discount given by MakeMyTrip, Clear trip and you still have to pay the convenience fee.
Still, this is the best option for redemption of Infinia points--direct flight booking on Smartbuy @Rs 1

For business class ticket, points are worth much more than one rupee definitely.
but I prefer to fly economy because I value business class at only 25% more than economy.
To each it's own. Basically point value can vary based on use case. Even if we take discount into account and inflate it a bit , still value is .85 at lower end which is great in itself. That is why I mentioned that mileage might vary.
Just my 2 cents.

You missed the part where you get 16.5% for the remaining 30%. This pushes up the value from 0.8.

10% Rewards - 3% (making) - 3%(GST) => 4% return on gold coins.

If you are anyway going to buy jewellery, you can accumulate vouchers and go buy jewellery itself which will be 10% return/discount.
You need to also deduct the melting charges and dealers margin when you go to sell it.
So if gold prices remain the same, the profit will be almost zero

I am not a frequent traveller, I would just buy an Apple product once every two or 3 years using the points, which is sold at MSRP. I can get 10% cheaper in Amazon, so it basically becomes 1 point is 0.9 Rs for this, which is still great.

BTW there are websites/travel agents who are ready to give 0.9 Rs for every point in DCB/Infinia, so I just take that as the market value for that. I am not recommending, just stating that it is the FMV of each point.

You need to also deduct the melting charges and dealers margin when you go to sell it.
So if gold prices remain the same, the profit will be almost zero
What do you mean melting charges? My local jeweller is happy to take any gold coins at today's rate and deduct the same when I make a jewellery purchase. Ofcourse, I lose GST that I paid originally on the coin, but that is already accounted for.

I was referring to the melting charges of Gold jewellery like bangles necklaces and earings.

When he accepts gold coins, does he give you cash at par or only a discount on another purchase?
Does he deduct some margin as his profit?

I was referring to the melting charges of Gold jewellery like bangles necklaces and earings.

When he accepts gold coins, does he give you cash at par or only a discount on another purchase?
Does he deduct some margin as his profit?
Not trading for cash, just discount on another purchase. Those charges are already accounted for in the jewellery's making charges or VA.

He doesnt deduct any margin, but I am pretty sure they do some accounting jugaad to pocket the 3% GST that I paid on my gold coins.

Good for you. 👍
I have 0 Ola uber spends , swiggy spends are taken care off by swiggy vouchers and i do not do that much shopping as well. Accumulating amazon + shopping vouchers for an year , spend on Amazon however much I can and then buy coin vouchers around sept Oct from remaining amount. Worked for me in past, and happy with it.
I don't want to force spend on places I do not want
I randomly picked few jewelry vouchers. Some have restrictions to buy coin.

Which allow coin buying?

Flipkart also has vouchers. So theoretically we can Max out ASV, Amazon pay and Flipkart vouchers pm