• Hey there! Welcome to TFC! View fewer ads on the website just by signing up on TF Community.

Climbing the Credit Card Ladder: From Diners Privilege to Infinia Metal in 8 Months

yogesh_kumar

TF Buzz
Hi Folks,

I wanted to share my journey from the Diners Privilege to the Infinia Metal credit card FYF.

Until 2023, I wasn't into credit cards, but the discounts during Big Billion Days and Amazon Prime sales got me interested. I explored the benefits of credit cards, including lounge access, and decided to dive in.

November'23 : As an NIT Kurukshetra graduate, I applied for an Sapphiro LTF offer from ICICI Bank and was approved. While the card was decent for BOGO offers, I wanted something more rewarding, so I aimed for the Diners Black Metal card. HDFC Area Manager declined my request as I'm not meeting salary requirement (Last ITR : 23 Lakh) and suggested the Diners Privilege instead, which I got with a 3 lakh limit.

May'24 : Over time, I realized the Diners Privilege wasn’t offering much in terms of rewards. I requested an upgrade to Diners Black, which I was eligible for based on card usage as confirmed by BM of HDFC. Despite filling out the upgrade form, I didn't hear anything back.

July'24 : During a visit to my home branch, I connected with the Relationship Manager, who assured me that an upgrade was possible with BBH approval due to a deviation, given my expenses exceeded 6 lakhs in last six months. Expenses was 6.5+ Lacs in last six months. After a month without a response from BBH for approval, I was advised to email the MD Desk. Surprisingly, within a day, I received approval from BBH.