Experience with SBI Rupay-JCB Debit Card

Walter White

As my SBI MC Platinum card was close to expiry, I felt the need to look for a better card. Aftet reading @Abhishek012's post regarding SBI Rupay-JCB DC and the features it was offering, decided to go for it.

SBI Rupay-JCB card cannot be applied online, so had to visit the branch for it. So, I made visit to this branch for the first time. The branch looked like it was older than me. I felt I was back in the 80s. The branch belonged to State Bank of Patiala before its merger with SBI.

The overall process was smooth. The staff were polite. Things have started to improve lately in public sector banks. Even though in the first attempt, they sent me Rupay Platinum, they admitted their fault and helped me get the right card this time.

Got the card after 5 days delivered by India Post. The design is average though.

Got it primarily due to zero forex charges.

IMG_20230825_135549.jpg

SBI can’t issue rupay JCB debit, BOB and SBI credit cards has low limits. Amex says the merchant is not compliance with card policy (International rent payment). Debit card accept hota nahi and HDFC bas moneyback deta he.

Bahut dikkat he jindagi me 🙁

This site should have category for gareeb people’s recommendations too.
Maintain QAB 50k for next 3 months and then apply SBI RuPay JCB Platinum DC.

Note - selected SBI branches no need to maintain any balance.

Maintain QAB 50k for next 3 months and then apply SBI RuPay JCB Platinum DC.

Note - selected SBI branches no need to maintain any balance.
Mere SBI account mei barely 5-10k rehta hai avg.

As suggested by @Abhishek012 I blocked all cards on my account and applied Rupay platinum JCB via Branch. Can see a new card reflecting in my account with BIN 3538 the very next day.

Card is yet to be dispatched/delivered.

As suggested by @Abhishek012 I blocked all cards on my account and applied Rupay platinum JCB via Branch. Can see a new card reflecting in my account with BIN 3538 the very next day.

Your cust segment category ? Silver/Gold/Platinum or Diamond

Check it on mail statements

Savings or salary

Your cust segment category ? Silver/Gold/Platinum or Diamond

Check it on mail statements

Savings or salary
Hey, I keep 8-10k in my account. This account was opened just to get a locker near my home. They had asked me to give them a FD of 50k.

Just now checked my latest statement, and it says, "Segment - PLATINUM".

it means. I am eligible to get Rupay Platinum card.

PS: I have my wife's account also which was shifted here (few years ago) from another branch in another city. We rarely used it and it is in "STOP" mode currently because of KYC reasons (gave them KYC documents on 26th April, they didn't give acknowledgement and never removed "STOP" till now). This account shows "Silver" segment. It also has AQB of 8-10k since last few years.

• Screenshot (4272).png
    Screenshot (4272).png
    75.1 KB · Views: 17
Hey, I keep 8-10k in my account. This account was opened just to get a locker near my home. They had asked me to give them a FD of 50k.

Just now checked my latest statement, and it says, "Segment - PLATINUM".

it means. I am eligible to get Rupay Platinum card.

PS: I have my wife's account also which was shifted here (few years ago) from another branch in another city. We rarely used it and it is in "STOP" mode currently because of KYC reasons (gave them KYC documents on 26th April, they didn't give acknowledgement and never removed "STOP" till now). This account shows "Silver" segment. It also has AQB of 8-10k since last few years.
Mine's also silver, that's why unable to get any platinum DC.

Already maintaining close to 3L since last 30 days.

Illiterate BM and clerk saying it's only for IOCL employees, meanwhile it's clearly written on on their website itself "This debit card is eligible for every customer"
I had the same experience but then I showed the eligibility mentioned on the website to the BM and talked aggressively that Customer Care itself has directed me to the branch for applying.

Then he called me after few days that the card has been issued but guess what?
I got IOCL global rupay card delivered 🤦🏻‍♂️

It took another branch visit before I got the card.

Conclusion: It's a headache to deal with Sbi's branch.

Yes, some people told, after hotlist all debit cards and also confirmed from branch side, your card is permanently blocked.

You can easily apply SBI RuPay JCB Platinum DC without any error, Card code: "RPJ".

Note - after hotlist your card, also ask your branch to check your card is 100% permanently blocked or not. Told them to block your card from there side too.