IDFC First Bank launched its debit card reward system

The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

TechnoFinoTechnoFino is verified member.

IDFC First Bank launched its debit card reward system recently. Now you'll earn reward points for spending money using your IDFC First Bank debit card.
Reward portal link - https://www.firstrewards.com/

Screenshot_20230204_124537_Samsung Internet.jpg

Reward system for IDFC First Bank normal debit card-
2000 welcome reward points on IDFC First normal debit card transaction above Rs. 1000

Online transaction- earn 2 reward points for every Rs. 150 spend
Offline transaction- earn 1 reward point for every Rs. 150 spend
10X reward points (10 reward points per Rs. 150) for every Rs. 150 spent via debit card on incremental spends above Rs. 50,000 in a month.

IDFC First Bank Select debit card reward system-
4000 welcome reward points on first debit card transaction above Rs. 1000
Online transaction- earn 3 reward points for every Rs. 150 spend
Offline transaction- earn 2 reward point for every Rs. 150 spend
10X reward points (10 reward points per Rs. 100) for every Rs. 100 spent via debit card on incremental spends above Rs. 50,000 in a month.

IDFC First Bank Wealth debit card reward system-
8000 welcome reward points on first debit card transaction above Rs. 1000
Online transaction- earn 4 reward points for every Rs. 150 spend
Offline transaction- earn 3 reward point for every Rs. 150 spend
10X reward points (10 reward points per Rs. 100) for every Rs. 100 spent via debit card on incremental spends above Rs. 50,000 in a month.

IDFC First Bank Private debit card reward system-
20,000 welcome reward points on first debit card transaction above Rs. 1000
Online transaction- earn 6 reward points for every Rs. 150 spend
Offline transaction- earn 4 reward point for every Rs. 150 spend

Exclusions: Payment to Mutual Funds, Insurance, Financial Institutions, Security Brokers, Dealers, Wallet Uploads, Quasi Cash, ATM Withdrawals, Credit Card Payments and Account Transfers transactions are not a part of FIRST Rewards program, Please refer to the TnC page for specific Merchant Codes that are excluded.

1 reward point = Rs. 0.25

Note: You'll earn core reward points depending on your debit card variant, along with the 10X points.

A monthly reward point accrual capping will be applicable based on user’s program membership. (w.e.f. 1st December 2023)

Type of ProgramMonthly Point Capping
General8,000
Select30,000
Wealth50,000
Private5,00,000

How to redeem- You can redeem your reward points against gift vouchers, flight booking, recharge, etc.
Just click on "Redeem" and you'll see all the available options.
Link- https://www.firstrewards.com/user/burn

These are the excluded mcc's. You won't receive any reward points for spending on these categories.

Merchant CodesMerchant Categories
6300INSURANCE SALES AND UNDERWRITING
6012FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS - MERCHANDISE & SERVICES
6211SECURITY BROKERS/DEALERS
6051QUASI CASH
6540WALLET UPLOAD

Reward Rate:-

IDFC First Bank Normal Debit Card-
Online- 0.33%
Offline- 0.17%
10X category- 1.67%
Incremental spends above Rs. 50,000: Online- 1.67%; Offline- 1.67%

IDFC First Bank Select Debit Card-
Online- 0.50%
Offline- 0.33%
10X category- 2.5%
Incremental spends above Rs. 50,000: Online- 2.5%; Offline- 2.5%

IDFC First Bank Wealth Debit Card-
Online- 0.67%
Offline- 0.50%
10X category- 2.5%

IDFC First Bank Private Debit Card-
Online- 1%
Offline- 0.67%
10X category- 2.5%

Update on 14th July: IDFC First Bank relaunched its debit card reward system on 14th July, 2023.
We've made the necessary changes in the article.

Update on 22 Dec, 2023: IDFC First Bank updated its debit card reward system on 1st Dec, 2023.
We've made the necessary changes in the article.

Last edited by a moderator:
Their systematic reward calculation and credit of points system is a mess. But when you complain, they do the proper calculation and do manual adjustment.

Late to the party, but If I understand it correctly, idfc wealth will give 0.66% (4/150 points) return till 50K monthly spends and 2.5% (10/100 points) beyond 50K. And credit card payments via SBI unipay (4900 mcc) is not excluded here.

For redemption, cash is not available, but Amazon pay voucher is there. And 118 redemption charges.

Is this right?

Late to the party, but If I understand it correctly, idfc wealth will give 0.66% (4/150 points) return till 50K monthly spends and 2.5% (10/100 points) beyond 50K. And credit card payments via SBI unipay (4900 mcc) is not excluded here.

For redemption, cash is not available, but Amazon pay voucher is there. And 118 redemption charges.

Is this right?
Yes . . .

Online- 0.67%
Offline- 0.50%
10X category- 2.5%

If we compare the above calculation with Indusind Signature Debit Card where we get around 0.93% real cashback (not just reward rate percentage) on CC bill payment via debit card, is it correct to say that IDFC Wealth debit card is inferior with just 2.5/4 = 0.63% real cashback considering each point is 0.25 paise.

0.93% (Indusind) vs 0.63% (IDFC)

Any fault with my calculation?

I really need to clear this confusion in my head where I get confused which card to use for CC bill payment.

I guess use IndusIND if you bills are generally below 50K per month. And use IDFC if you have big expenses.

I used to use Axis Burgundy DC before its devaluation, used to get 1% miles ~ 2% value in Accor

Online- 0.67%
Offline- 0.50%
10X category- 2.5%

If we compare the above calculation with Indusind Signature Debit Card where we get around 0.93% real cashback (not just reward rate percentage) on CC bill payment via debit card, is it correct to say that IDFC Wealth debit card is inferior with just 2.5/4 = 0.63% real cashback considering each point is 0.25 paise.

0.93% (Indusind) vs 0.63% (IDFC)

Any fault with my calculation?

I really need to clear this confusion in my head where I get confused which card to use for CC bill payment.
Here 2.5 is real return in form of vouchers, flights etc.

IDFC Wealth debit card is inferior with just 2.5/4 = 0.63% real cashback considering each point is 0.25 paise.
This calculation is incorrect.
It's 10rp per ₹100 spend above 50k.
1rp= 0.25
So actual reward in rupee terms is ₹2.5 (10/4) per ₹100 spend

Arindam bhai ka latest video ke calculation mei 3% return mil raha hai kyonki koi bug hai reward system mei.

Mujhe tau samajh nahin aaya, jisko samajh aaya wo loot lau.

Video dekho aur hamei bhi samjhaao.

The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.