LTF DCB under Classic banking program

Hisoka

Hi everyone, I recently got upgraded to HDFC classic banking and I'm using Millenia credit card since August with 3L limit. I requested my RM for credit card upgrade and he asked the bank team for the same.

So today I received a call and I asked for DCB, my salary eligibility was getting fulfilled but they were not getting convinced under LTF. Is there any way I can get DCB Lifetime free? My university is not listed else I'd have applied under alumini program.

Although if I upgrade I'll get first year free anyway, but what after that? I don't want to pay 10k for a card. Should I go for Regalia LTF (they agreed for that)? Or any other card better than Millenia which they'll agree to give LTF?

Any suggestions would be highly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

P.S. This community is just awesome!! I had so many doubts cleared from this which would never be possible from anywhere else. Thanks @TechnoFino , Great job!

Have you considered what it is that you'll spend on, with the new card? Features and benefits of both DCB and Regalia are well known and have been discussed exhaustively.

If your spending patterns, amounts and needs fit that of DCB, and if you'll be able to make use of DCB features that you find valuable, such as unlimited airport lounges and so on, then take DCB, even with the second year fees. If you're unable to make it work, cancel it after the first year.

Else, if you feel the HDFC card will only be used occasionally, and if you're unlikely to make the sort of spends needed to make DCB work, then get the LTF Regalia. It all depends on what you want out of the card.

Have you considered what it is that you'll spend on, with the new card? Features and benefits of both DCB and Regalia are well known and have been discussed exhaustively.

If your spending patterns, amounts and needs fit that of DCB, and if you'll be able to make use of DCB features that you find valuable, such as unlimited airport lounges and so on, then take DCB, even with the second year fees. If you're unable to make it work, cancel it after the first year.

Else, if you feel the HDFC card will only be used occasionally, and if you're unlikely to make the sort of spends needed to make DCB work, then get the LTF Regalia. It all depends on what you want out of the card.
Got it! I also have Magnus and use it as my primary card. HDFC card I use when there’s some offer or 5% Cashback on Amazon Flipkart for small transactions.

If I shift all spendings to DCB then I’ll be able to spend 5Lacs in 1 year. But then I’ll be in loss because Magnus will give much better rewards for that price.

Maybe I should stick with Millenia itself 🥲
It’s anyway better than Regalia

Got it! I also have Magnus and use it as my primary card. HDFC card I use when there’s some offer or 5% Cashback on Amazon Flipkart for small transactions.

If I shift all spendings to DCB then I’ll be able to spend 5Lacs in 1 year. But then I’ll be in loss because Magnus will give much better rewards for that price.

Maybe I should stick with Millenia itself 🥲
It’s anyway better than Regalia
The only reason why you might want to take LTF Regalia while also holding a Magnus is if you eventually want to get an Infinia one day, since Regalia is generally considered to be a stepping stone towards Infinia.

However, if Infinia doesn't interest you, or not at the moment anyway, then keep Millenia. Regalia won't offer you anything over Millenia which Magnus isn't offering already.

I'll recommend to get Tata Neu infinity(ltf) instead. I have both DCB(not ltf) and magnus and now neu infinity.
I have stopped using dcb after last jan devaluation. Had I not put some last minute hospital spend on dcb(didn't had magnus then) i would have closed it by next month.
Being on rupay platform you can use it for small upi payments. Plus uitlity payment too give 5% neu coins.
Ofcourse the amazon bill payment loophole gonna close soon.

I'll recommend to get Tata Neu infinity(ltf) instead. I have both DCB(not ltf) and magnus and now neu infinity.
I have stopped using dcb after last jan devaluation. Had I not put some last minute hospital spend on dcb(didn't had magnus then) i would have closed it by next month.
Being on rupay platform you can use it for small upi payments. Plus uitlity payment too give 5% neu coins.
Ofcourse the amazon bill payment loophole gonna close soon.
Yes I applied for Tata neu infinity for UPI payments as well. It was offered to me as FYF though, let's see if I'm able to spend 3 lacs in 1 year using that
Else I'll close it before renewal

How did you qualify for regalia ?(if you are comfortable in disclosing) as I have 6 yr old regalia first but they are not ready to upgrade to regalia

IMO you should upgrade from milllenia to regalia as it provides international lounge access and better reward rates!

Correct me if I am wrong

How did you qualify for regalia ?(if you are comfortable in disclosing) as I have 6 yr old regalia first but they are not ready to upgrade to regalia

IMO you should upgrade from milllenia to regalia as it provides international lounge access and better reward rates!

Correct me if I am wrong
I’m not 100% sure, they just told me that regalia can be LTF for you. But it’s not worth as I already get international lounge from Magnus and reward rate of regalia is worse than Millenia (4 reward per 150 means 1.33% rate for flights and hotels and only 0.26% for Cashback)

Hi everyone, I recently got upgraded to HDFC classic banking and I'm using Millenia credit card since August with 3L limit. I requested my RM for credit card upgrade and he asked the bank team for the same.

So today I received a call and I asked for DCB, my salary eligibility was getting fulfilled but they were not getting convinced under LTF. Is there any way I can get DCB Lifetime free? My university is not listed else I'd have applied under alumini program.

Although if I upgrade I'll get first year free anyway, but what after that? I don't want to pay 10k for a card. Should I go for Regalia LTF (they agreed for that)? Or any other card better than Millenia which they'll agree to give LTF?

P.S. This community is just awesome!! I had so many doubts cleared from this which would never be possible from anywhere else. Thanks @TechnoFino , Great job!
Regalia's acceptability is far better than DCB. If you’re getting Regalia (not 'Regalia First') LTF, go for it. Once your credit limit and usage increases to 5/8 L you may consider upgrading to DCB/Infinia.

if you are finding good value in magnus, then in my opinion, go for any ltd hdfc credit card instead of a paid DCB. i have an ltf DCB, but still sometimes I feel that it is not worth it.
i don't know whether regalia is better than millenia or not or if there are any features that attract you to that card, but the point i want to make is don't get a paid DCB.
and if your university is not listed, then i don't think hdfc will convert dcb to ltf by any other way ( forget classic banking...i have preferred banking tier yet I don't get anything valuable from them).

if you are finding good value in magnus, then in my opinion, go for any ltd hdfc credit card instead of a paid DCB. i have an ltf DCB, but still sometimes I feel that it is not worth it.
i don't know whether regalia is better than millenia or not or if there are any features that attract you to that card, but the point i want to make is don't get a paid DCB.
and if your university is not listed, then i don't think hdfc will convert dcb to ltf by any other way ( forget classic banking...i have preferred banking tier yet I don't get anything valuable from them).
Got it! Also suppose if I upgrade to Regalia where 1RP = 0.2RS, and I’ve some 5k points in Millenia. Then my rewards will be 25k worth 5k rs or 5k worth 1k rs?

I like it when someone says that LTF top-end card is not worth it (except Axis ones)

Atleast you're not lying to yourself

Will this upgrade whenever it happens be LTF card or to a paid DCB/Infinia?
Regalia's acceptability is far better than DCB. If you’re getting Regalia (not 'Regalia First') LTF, go for it. Once your credit limit and usage increases to 5/8 L you may consider upgrading to DCB/Infinia.

Can you tell how can I get DCB as LTF without alumini program?
Many people who have an existing bank account and credit card get offered the DCB card based on usage and credit limit. I will explain my case. Me and my family including cousins have linked our customer IDs to be part of one family account (don't remember the exact terminology). So, all of us have been upgraded to Imperia account. I had an Infinia card. Over time, all of us have got DCB LTF or Infinia LTF or Infinia FYF.

Thanks for sharing Sandy. If it's not to much to ask, Please confirm:-
When did this happen & how many connected accounts
What was the approx balance
Did you go anything else besides the Imperia account

I want to explore this option if possible

Where did you check the list of universities? There are multiple lists and they're being frequently updated.

10k dena hi hai toh Infinia ke liye dena, Hisoka bro.

im also trying to get dcp-> DCB but they're not paying heed.

Regalia also is good no? 3 lounge visits per qtr and same rewards as DCP ?

Correct me if I am wrong
millennia is better compared to regalia in terms of rewards except lounge access