Pro Tips to make a SBI card life time free

RkrRkr is verified member.

Pro Tips-

Simple way to make Any basic to mid range SBI card LTF is to "Just raise a closure of card account request through Sbi card app .After few hours you will receive a call to ask a reason for cancellation ,there tell them Either make it Life time free or cancel the card.They will make your Card LTF.Done on my both sbi card and now both are LTF.Service request to make your card LTF is taken as PCT id is to be changed.You can check in service request tracking menu.

Caution:-If you holding multiple cards of SBI then kindly do this process at one card at a time only.Do on other card after at least month. If at any point SBI Card is not agreeing on LTF and offering you Annual Fee waivers only then Accept Fee waivers at that moment and Apply the same trick Again after 1 or 2 months for LTF.
IF ANYONE HAVING ANY SPECEFIC CONCERN THEN DO DM.

Edit 1-If afterall anyone missed the call from retention team then they can simply call customer care and there simply tell them to connect/transfer you call to retention team as i want to discuss regarding my card closure request.They will connect you to their retention team and now there you can project the above trick to get your card LTF ..

Edit 2(09 July 2023)-Even people have made sbi cards having fee upto 1499 LTF and even higher varriant cards you will get equivalent reward points or miles or annual fee waiver in place of LTF.

Edit 3(15 October 2023)- Even people have made their SBI cashback credit card LTF by their skill of negotiation.

Edit 4-Now a days SBI Cards sometime,closing the card without calling so suggest now dont place request through app by self .Call customer care directly and ask them for LTF/fee waivers or to transfer the call to retention team for doing the same.

Thoda aur detail mein bataye
This card is one of the most popular cards under SBI’s stable. If they have started making this LTF then in due course of time either this shall become redundant. Fir Jagah Ho jayegi ek Naye card k liye to introduce in due course of time.

Request for card closure on SBI card app. You'll get a call from retention team. Try to negotiate for a LTF card or waiver of annual fees.

My SBI Cashback card is 1 year old, and I have already spent more than 2 lakh. Perhaps my spending was quite high, which is why they approved my request.
Yup. Thought so. They don't make it LTF for low spend cards and that is why I asked you this question. Congratulations. Hope they don't devalue it soon 😛

My SBI Cashback card is 1 year old, and I have already spent more than 2 lakh. Perhaps my spending was quite high, which is why they approved my request.
My spends were not even in six digits still the request for conversion to LTF went through.

They denied my Simplyclick LTF request yesterday with spends more then 1L saying sir offer nai hai🥲

Lol, I read your reply just now but a few hours back I did exactly what you have said here. The customer care executive kept me on the call for almost 25 minutes as she could not connect me to the card closure team and she finally connected me to her supervisor. Then he asked me to wait while he could check if the LTF offer was available for me. And then he said yes, it's available. I can see "PCT ID To Be Changed" in the service request section.
How old is your card and what is your txn history.. thanx

Pro Tips-

Simple way to make Any basic to mid range SBI card LTF is to "Just raise a closure of card account request through Sbi card app .After few hours you will receive a call to ask a reason for cancellation ,there tell them Either make it Life time free or cancel the card.They will make your Card LTF.Done on my both sbi card and now both are LTF.Service request to make your card LTF is taken as PCT id is to be changed.You can check in service request tracking menu.

Caution:-If you holding multiple cards of SBI then kindly do this process at one card at a time only.Do on other card after at least month. If at any point SBI Card is not agreeing on LTF and offering you Annual Fee waivers only then Accept Fee waivers at that moment and Apply the same trick Again after 1 or 2 months for LTF.

Edit 1-If afterall anyone missed the call from retention team then they can simply call customer care and there simply tell them to connect/transfer you call to retention team as i want to discuss regarding my card closure request.They will connect you to their retention team and now there you can project the above trick to get your card LTF ..

Edit 2(09 July 2023)-Even people have made sbi cards having fee upto 1499 LTF and even higher varriant cards you will get equivalent reward points or miles or annual fee waiver in place of LTF.

Edit 3(15 October 2023)- Even people have made their SBI cashback credit card LTF by their skill of negotiation.

Pro Tips-

Thanks got it without closure request (on newly issued card 😉)

Timeline if it helps someone: (please note it depends on person to person, case to case).

Got sbi card 21-11-2023

Got charged joining fee in first statment in December 2023

Get Fee Reversal right after First statment.

Total time 35 days between card issue and fee reversal

Total time 10 days between fee charged and reversal.

Total Spends under 25k (little bit of total limit).

Edit [29-12-23 02:03pm] : I was 99.99% sure it will not get reversed and LTF is unimaginable, also i got some hint by person on call that cashback card will get devaluation soon or something not good with card (also tightened LTF giveaway). (My observation: indirectly told that we're not supporting REWDI (रेवड़ी) culture)).