SBI Cashback Card - Converted to LTF (Jan 2025)

Rishabh

Hello Folks,

FYI I have recently managed to get my SBI Cashback credit card converted to LTF through an email request 🙂

I have been using the card now from more than 2 years with last 2 years spends crossing 2lacs & have got fee waiver against the same.
Few days back just thought of writing email to SBI team requesting them to consider converting my Cashback card to LTF basis my past spend records without having strong expectation of getting any success.

As a first response got a call from SBI executive mentioning about no such offer available at present on the card to convert it to LTF. And asked me to wait to get offer in future.
But just before the end of the call he asked me if I will continue making similar amount spends on the card if converted to LTF. After confirmation he raised a request for me to change PCTID (for LTF conversion) for the card without giving any assurance that it will be approved.

And after 4-5 days, I got another update on the ticket about successful closure and card converted to LTF.
Something good to cheer about during this devaluation days of Credit cards & also having this as 3rd LTF card from SBI now 🙂

If someone has reached for example 3L within 3 months of card issuing, can he ask for lifetime free? Just wondering. And if yes and someone has gone for it and got it, can joining fees can be asked to be reversed too?
they always reverse the annual fee but don't think they'll reverse the joining fee.

3 months, perhaps, might be too early to ask. You can give it a shot and see if it works...

they always reverse the annual fee but don't think they'll reverse the joining fee.

3 months, perhaps, might be too early to ask. You can give it a shot and see if it works...
haha, It's my SIL's card. Will try in couple of months.

My simplyclick got LTF when I asked on email. I asked them on 6th yr, didn't knew before with email I can get card LTF.

I don't think sbi reverses joining fees.
They actually do. They reversed it for my brother's pulse card. We just submitted a request for card closure within the first week of getting the card. The retention team rep offered JF reversal for keeping the card for at least 1 year.

In a way, I too got JF reversed on my Cashback card. On my card's first anniversary, SBI applied annual fee once but somehow reversed it twice, lol.

They actually do. They reversed it for my brother's pulse card. We just submitted a request for card closure within the first week of getting the card. The retention team rep offered JF reversal for keeping the card for at least 1 year.

In a way, I too got JF reversed on my Cashback card. On my card's first anniversary, SBI applied annual fee once but somehow reversed it twice, lol.
So you got the watch for free with it? Lol

Just want to know that one should request for annual fees waiver in 11th month itself by telling that willing to close the card..?or should tell after it gets charged in cc statement i.e. in 12th month.. kindly guide !!

before is better. My SIL prime card is up for renewal in march ending, she threatened to close the card and even put in a closure req. SBI called, they gave her fee reversal(without gst). Fee is already put in her acc in advance, the actual fee would be levied around 23rd march.

Also in my brother's case the fee was levied and he asked for reversal, sbi denied. He didn't threatened for closure but he asked for downgrade and sbi reversed the fee and did the downgrade to simplysave where he was charged 500 as joining fee.

I was talking about cashback JF reversal which I have never seen. Apart from annual fees reversal there were some adjustment entries which were debited and credited in my current statement. But the final effect was NIL in that case. Are u sure there was reversal twice? Can u share the screenshot of entries in the statement if possible?

If u want to take the risk of actual closure of cashback card then u can do it. There are many posts here where ppl have tried to threaten sbi for fee reversal by closing the card and sbi has closed their card also without fee reversal. Keep some outstanding balance if at all u want to go ahead with it

I was talking about cashback JF reversal which I have never seen. Apart from annual fees reversal there were some adjustment entries which were debited and credited in my current statement. But the final effect was NIL in that case. Are u sure there was reversal twice? Can u share the screenshot of entries in the statement if possible?
1000024031.webp
1000024032.webp
1000024033.webp
Here you go. Also, I just noticed that the first reversal I received (in the first screenshot) shows the date as May 2, 2023, while the rest of the transactions show 2024. If I remember correctly, that was when I was charged the joining fee. So, perhaps it was actually a reversal of the joining fee, instead of reversal of the annual fee twice!

Is SBI stopped giving cashback card? I raised an application and got call from them and they said there is technical glitch in their system and they cannot offer SBI cashback card but other cards they can.

What is my chance of getting cashback card, considering below details -

In hand monthly salary:- 2.3lac
Cibil:- 780
I have below cards -
SBI simplyClick - 3 years old - 2lac limit
Amex MRCC - 1 year old - 2lac limit
ICICI Coral -- 7 years old -- 15lac limit
Tata Neu Infinity -- 1 year old -- 7.5lac limit
Yes Kiwi -- 1 year old -- 3lac limit
Onecard -- 2 years old -- 10lac limit
Axis Airtel - 1 year old -- 5lac limit
Axis Flipkart -- 4 years old -- 5lac limit

Is SBI stopped giving cashback card? I raised an application and got call from them and they said there is technical glitch in their system and they cannot offer SBI cashback card but other cards they can.

What is my chance of getting cashback card, considering below details -

In hand monthly salary:- 2.3lac
Cibil:- 780
I have below cards -
SBI simplyClick - 3 years old - 2lac limit
Amex MRCC - 1 year old - 2lac limit
ICICI Coral -- 7 years old -- 15lac limit
Tata Neu Infinity -- 1 year old -- 7.5lac limit
Yes Kiwi -- 1 year old -- 3lac limit
Onecard -- 2 years old -- 10lac limit
Axis Airtel - 1 year old -- 5lac limit
Axis Flipkart -- 4 years old -- 5lac limit