Waiting for update on Axis Airtel CC application

sidmal

I had applied for an Axis Airtel credit card through the Airtel Thanks app on 6th Nov 23. Video KYC was done the same day. However, a few minutes later I got a message that due to a network issue, v-kyc was not completed successfully. Next day I got a call from an Axis Bank person informing me that they will send an executive for KYC and document verification at my residence. This was done on 8th Nov 23. Since then, there has been no update on the Axis Bank CC Portal. Stuck at "Your Credit Card application has been processed and is undergoing an eligibility check". Have used all channels - called, chatted and tweeted - to no avail. Yesterday (22nd Nov 23), a customer care executive raised a "service request" and told me to wait for "05 working days". Same thing was done by the Axis Bank twitter team - a second service request with a "service request is under process and you shall be updated with the response shortly".

I dont have any Axis Bank credit card and this was supposed to be my first one. CIBIL is 780+

Can anyone guide me on whats the best course of action to find out about the status of my application? Thanks.

Congrats. When did you apply?

I was already holding Axis IOCL CC issued in July 2023. So Airtel Axis Offer was not available in my app due to Existing Customer policy of Axis Bank.

What I did was waited patiently for cooling off period to pass.

Then Purchased a new Airtel sim on 14.11.23. Straightway Airtel CC offer was available just after activation of new sim.

On 19.11.23, applied for Airtel Card and did VKYC same day.

Application got stuck at Eligibility Check Initiated on 20.11.23 and never moved an inch afterwards.

No sms or email regarding application status since then.

I was getting a little impatient now as almost 7 working days were passed then suddenly received a bunch of emails and sms on 28.11.23 regarding updation of New Mobile no and email in Axis Bank records. This was the moment I've been waiting for and I knew My Card has been approved.

Virtual Card has started showing in Axis App on 29.11.23 and limit remains same as of IOCL.

I did a lot of research for almost 1 and half month for this card and noted that most mportant things one should plan and keep in mind before applying this card are

1. You need a Mobile number and email which doesn't exist in Axis bank database.
2. Waiting Time between two Axis Bank Credit Card applications is most important factor.
3. Axis bank always perform 2 Cibil Enquiries for this card.
4. You shouldn't be having too many Cibil enquiries in the last three months before applying for this card.
5. Your application can take 7 to 20 working days for this card. So one requires a lot of patience.

This card holds great value for Axis Bank as well as Customers, so they don't issue it easily and it's issuance policy might be different than other Axis Cards.

I was already holding Axis IOCL CC issued in July 2023. So Airtel Axis Offer was not available in my app due to Existing Customer policy of Axis Bank.

What I did was waited patiently for cooling off period to pass.

Then Purchased a new Airtel sim on 14.11.23. Straightway Airtel CC offer was available just after activation of new sim.

On 19.11.23, applied for Airtel Card and did VKYC same day.

Application got stuck at Eligibility Check Initiated on 20.11.23 and never moved an inch afterwards.

No sms or email regarding application status since then.

I was getting a little impatient now as almost 7 working days were passed then suddenly received a bunch of emails and sms on 28.11.23 regarding updation of New Mobile no and email in Axis Bank records. This was the moment I've been waiting for and I knew My Card has been approved.

Virtual Card has started showing in Axis App on 29.11.23 and limit remains same as of IOCL.

I did a lot of research for almost 1 and half month for this card and noted that most mportant things one should plan and keep in mind before applying this card are

1. You need a Mobile number and email which doesn't exist in Axis bank database.
2. Waiting Time between two Axis Bank Credit Card applications is most important factor.
3. Axis bank always perform 2 Cibil Enquiries for this card.
4. You shouldn't be having too many Cibil enquiries in the last three months before applying for this card.
5. Your application can take 7 to 20 working days for this card. So one requires a lot of patience.

This card holds great value for Axis Bank as well as Customers, so they don't issue it easily and it's issuance policy might be different than other Axis Cards.
Thanks for the detailed reply.

This is the first Axis Bank credit card that I have applied for. And yes, I do have 2 enquiries by Axis in my CIBIL report. From the dates mentioned it looks like the cooling period for Axis is 3 months.

So I will have to wait for some more days. There were some bank holidays this month due to festivals so it could be taking some more time due to that.

Yo
Thanks for the detailed reply.

This is the first Axis Bank credit card that I have applied for. And yes, I do have 2 enquiries by Axis in my CIBIL report. From the dates mentioned it looks like the cooling period for Axis is 3 months.

So I will have to wait for some more days. There were some bank holidays this month due to festivals so it could be taking some more time due to that.
You can remove the enquiries by requesting the bank to remove it

Well that’s good news. Nothing for me. Talked to their support, said my application pending due to some glitch. Not sure if that’s an indication for a refusal.
I think offline applications has higher chance of approval. Btw, I didnt care at all abt this card approval, was more concerned abt my bob select debit card, which was issued one month agao but due to technical glitch, my card was not working on the rupay platform to avail all the benefits linked to reupay select debit card. Thankfully, it got resolved today after a month of continous toiling to cs,branch executives etc.
If I sum up, I can avail 10% discount on utility payment, swiggy,etc via amazon pay route also through other cards. So, onlt benefit remaining for this card is 25% cashback on airtel services, but wait there is 300 capping. So, net benefit I have through this card is just 300-100= 200 per month which is not significant to me. I realised this later tho after I had aplied for the card.
People generally understimate that amazon pay vouchers can also be obtained at 10% off , so utility payment, third-party websites can also generate 10% discount for us

I think offline applications has higher chance of approval. Btw, I didnt care at all abt this card approval, was more concerned abt my bob select debit card, which was issued one month agao but due to technical glitch, my card was not working on the rupay platform to avail all the benefits linked to reupay select debit card. Thankfully, it got resolved today after a month of continous toiling to cs,branch executives etc.
If I sum up, I can avail 10% discount on utility payment, swiggy,etc via amazon pay route also through other cards. So, onlt benefit remaining for this card is 25% cashback on airtel services, but wait there is 300 capping. So, net benefit I have through this card is just 300-100= 200 per month which is not significant to me. I realised this later tho after I had aplied for the card.
People generally understimate that amazon pay vouchers can also be obtained at 10% off , so utility payment, third-party websites can also generate 10% discount for us
Congrats on getting both this and the BOB card issue resolved.

I am thinking of cancelling the application and even closing my Axis savings account. Been hardly a month and this bank has outdone itself in terms of incompetence, absolute garbage customer service and by taking way too long for even simple tasks. Every reply by customer support is "please wait 5 working days". For all my other credit card applications, no bank took more than 5 days to decide, issue and ship a card - this with banks where I had no accounts or any previous relation.

Congrats on getting both this and the BOB card issue resolved.

I am thinking of cancelling the application and even closing my Axis savings account. Been hardly a month and this bank has outdone itself in terms of incompetence, absolute garbage customer service and by taking way too long for even simple tasks. Every reply by customer support is "please wait 5 working days". For all my other credit card applications, no bank took more than 5 days to decide, issue and ship a card - this with banks where I had no accounts or any previous relation.
Yeah, this card is an exception which is difficult to get as per experiences shared by all here... I suggest to forget abt this and there is high chance it will be approved one day (bcoz all channels of complaints through twitter, pno etc is already opened by you).
Now for the 10% amazon pay voucher dsocount route, I use recently acquired american express mrcc anf gold charge cards to generate them. So airtel card is not that beneficial yet. IF you don't have amex cards, I suggest getting one and I can help with the referral too

Yeah, this card is an exception which is difficult to get as per experiences shared by all here... I suggest to forget abt this and there is high chance it will be approved one day (bcoz all channels of complaints through twitter, pno etc is already opened by you).
Now for the 10% amazon pay voucher dsocount route, I use recently acquired american express mrcc anf gold charge cards to generate them. So airtel card is not that beneficial yet. IF you don't have amex cards, I suggest getting one and I can help with the referral too
I have an Amex MRCC card. Will have a look at the Amazon Pay voucher thing. Thanks for the heads up.

Is it the BoB RuPay Select DI Debit Card?
Correct, I got it as first year free card at nil joining fee because I opened a professional savings account (25k QAB requirement) with BOB.
Now it is a separate story that BOB customer support sucks but at the end, the card worked finally (after they charged joining fee on it, now I will get it waived).
Discalimer: If anybody looking to apply for this card, BOB is having a lot of technical glitches recently, also their mobile banking is suspended temporarily by RBI due to which i suspect these issues occured in my case