Only Premium & Super Premium Cards Discussion

This is a closed group and meant for discussion on all kinds of Premium/Super Premium Cards having an annual fee above 5k for optimising spends. Please refrain from discussion about lower cards. Only serious members allowed for knowledge sharing.

Quick Overview

Category
Credit Cards
Language
English (US)
Total members
Total events
Total discussions
Total views

Card Analysis by drsel

10 lacs AQB is achieved by keeping 10 lacs for 90 days or 30 lacs fixed deposits for 30 days

For upi, use tata neu with cred, as cred also gives good cashback most of the times.

For amazon gv use infinia gyftr portal for ~13% post fee deduction.
Isnusrance payment can go via the above GV itself, monthly purchase limit is 20k. So one can plan and accumulate

Amazon shopping voucher as well using infinia, 20k monthly limit here as well. Post that you can use amazon icici cc or sbi cashback cc.

Which card to use and where?
This analysis is after deducting annual fees and also considering the welcome benefits--

Magnus burgundy (free) for offline & rent upto 50k. 4.8%
Atlas (better than free) for offline & rent 4.0%
Atlas for direct hotel and direct flights 10%
Magnus burgundy (free) for Traveledge 24%
Infinia (2250) for SmartBuy airtickets 13.5%
HDFC Tata infinity for UPI 1.5% (1 on 34)
Amex MRCC (885) 1500 X 4 for Amazon GV 5.7%
Amex Plat Travel (5900) for insurance, govt, Amazon GV 4.82% on 4 lacs, offline difficult.
SBI cashback (1179) for online 5%, the only SBI card worth having.
Any Kotak card (xx) for 35% discount on hotels.
Axis Airtel (590) for 25% on Airtel, 10% on utility bills 10% on Swiggy Zomato
For AGV purchase infinia is better option. Consult this table

Post in thread 'best way to buy amazon pay /amazon shopping voucher' https://www.technofino.in/community...pay-amazon-shopping-voucher.16673/post-339912

CardSpendProcessing FeeTotal ChargeBase PointsBonus PointsMilestone PointsTotal PointsConversion to MilePoint ValueNet Reward Post ChargesEff Reward Rate
Diners20000767207676651330019951112286.14%
Magnus10000010000600600012000.819609.60%
Amex Plat1000001000025010000125010.56256.25%
Amex MRCC200000200004004002000280010.514007.00%
Amex MRCC6000060001201201000124010.562010.33%
Amex Plat Travel400000040000080008000400005600010.5280007.00%
Amex Gold6000060001204801000160010.580013.33%
Infinia200007672076766526600332511255812.79%

CardSpendProcessing FeeTotal ChargeBase PointsBonus PointsMilestone PointsTotal PointsConversion to MilePoint ValueNet Reward Post ChargesEff Reward Rate
Diners20000767207676651330019951112286.14%
Magnus10000010000600600012000.819609.60%
Amex Plat1000001000025010000125010.56256.25%
Amex MRCC200000200004004002000280010.514007.00%
Amex MRCC6000060001201201000124010.562010.33%
Amex Plat Travel400000040000080008000400005600010.5280007.00%
Amex Gold6000060001204801000160010.580013.33%
Infinia200007672076766526600332511255812.79%
This table does not include the annual fees + GST of every card.
When that is included, the reward rate will drop drastically.
Can any expert do the needful and include the annual fees with GST and then calculate the actual reward %

Neu coins is only a discount, not real cash
You cant call it as a discount as its getting deducted against bill amount. If you have enough coins, you can place order without paying anything extra

You can call it as discount if it is usable for some amount and must pay remaining by other means

You can use coins for Tanishq/Croma/Bigbasket/Westside/Tatacliq/AirAisa either direct on their app or from Tata Neu
Tanishq--plain gold coins are not allowed only jewellery where there is a substantial markup in making charges (resale value much lower).

Croma-- if the discount is the same as Amazon & Flipkart great Indian sale 10% then it's good.

BigBasket is the best option because everyone needs daily groceries.
but I get a 20% discount 500 on 2500.

Westside is over priced, with a very high markup.

Tata Cliq has got limited items which you really need, unlike Amazon or Flipkart.

AirAsia is a great option, especially when they have their sales

You can use coins for Tanishq/Croma/Bigbasket/Westside/Tatacliq/AirAisa either direct on their app or from Tata Neu
When using Neu coins to pay at Bigbasket, you cannot get a 20% discount on your order.
Also, Bigbasket needs a minimum amount to avoid the delivery charges

When using Neu coins to pay at Bigbasket, you cannot get a 20% discount on your order.
Too much oppose to Neu Card ? Choice is yours, what i count is, if you are getting 20% discount in BB, lets minus it from base reward 1.5-20% still its 1.2%
Also, Bigbasket needs a minimum amount to avoid the delivery charges
Ok so isnt it applicable to your 20% discount as well ??

Cashback and airmiles can never go hand in hand .
You take a airmiles/hotel loyalty card because you know that the return which they can provide is immense and cashback is like petty savings.
Just an illustration which I recently gave to someone
Let us compare 2 cards
One from cashback , the best of the lot SBI cashback
Consider you are spending
4L rupees in a year
With 1L Rs every month
You get 20k as cashback

Spend the same amount in Amex Plat travel in same ratio

You earn 48,000 MR which if converted to Marriot gives 48000 Marriot Bonvoy points

Using which you can stay 3 nights at Westin Himalayas

Would that 20k from cashback , can it get you 3 nights at Westin Himalayas, where single night is charged around 20k-33k which is a ridiculous pricing I agree but what if you have planned for a short luxury trip for your family.

So now consider the real value what 4 lakhs spend on a miles card vs cashback card can get you

Now let's understand this at a bigger level
Suppose you wanted to spend a luxurious trip in Masai Mara , relax at one of their finest camps watch the great migration etc, now this is like a once in a lifetime experience

Consider a fact that there is a hotel J W Marriot Masai Mara which can be booked at 3 lakhs RS a night , and you want to redeem your stay in that property

You are average spender with about 10 lakhs Yearly spend

Suppose both you and your wife gets the sbi cash back card
Spend 5 lakh each on yours cards and earn a handsome 50k direct statement cashback

And in some parallel universe both you and your wife got Amex plat travel
Spending 5 lakhs each on your card and you earn approx 1 lakh Amex points

By the saving done through cashback card it would take approx 36 years to save money and redeem a 6 night stay at Marriot Masai Mara , chalo let's consider the fact that you invested that money somewhere still it would take atleast 20-25 years to save that kind of money

Where as if you book through Marriot Bonvoy points you can book that property at 5 lakhs marriot Bonvoy points which is 5 lakhs Amex points , that you can earn in just 5 years.

This is just a basic illustration without considering the fact price hike and everything .

5 lakhs MB points can get you 18 lakh Rupees worth of value
That is close to 1:3.6 return
this is one of the best explanation I have seen regarding cashback vs miles..

some might say that they don't want such luxurious things or do not travel but its actually quite good to have..

in this miles game, where does Infinia stand ?

As, I have almost seen everyone using either Magnus (before devaluation) or Amex. Infinia reviews do say its one of the best cards in the market and a good contender for miles game but personal usage suggests that the RPs received in last 1 year aren't much (approx 6/7L spent) even with buying Gyftr as much as I can

Tanishq--plain gold coins are not allowed only jewellery where there is a substantial markup in making charges (resale value much lower).

Croma-- if the discount is the same as Amazon & Flipkart great Indian sale 10% then it's good.

BigBasket is the best option because everyone needs daily groceries.
but I get a 20% discount 500 on 2500.

Westside is over priced, with a very high markup.

Tata Cliq has got limited items which you really need, unlike Amazon or Flipkart.

AirAsia is a great option, especially when they have their sales
Nice sum up.

I feel in tata cliq ,the product quality is good. Especially clothes. Size and feeting comes accurate. Whereas in Amazon I had issues for the same.

this is one of the best explanation I have seen regarding cashback vs miles..

some might say that they don't want such luxurious things or do not travel but its actually quite good to have..

in this miles game, where does Infinia stand ?

As, I have almost seen everyone using either Magnus (before devaluation) or Amex. Infinia reviews do say its one of the best cards in the market and a good contender for miles game but personal usage suggests that the RPs received in last 1 year aren't much (approx 6/7L spent) even with buying Gyftr as much as I can
When it comes to airmiles , base earning is not something which could give you immense returns
It's always the multiplier that help you earn heavy miles

When we compare the multiplier category Infinia is nowhere close to Atlas
Base RR of Infinia is 3.33%
Base RR of Atlas is 4%

Now let us compare the earning ratio of these cards
To simply thinds we will take a annual spend of 4 lakhs with 60%( 2.4 lakhs ) on reward multiplier

Just to simply we will take a spend of 1 lakh per month for 4 months

Using Plat travel you can earn - 10k Taj voucher + 40k milestone benefit + 14400 points for multiplier + 3200 = 57600 MR

Using Infinia

= 15000 + 15000 + 13300( with 40k on smartbuy with 10* multiplier + 5330 = 48630 Points

Atlas
= 12000( multiplier ) + 2500 + 3200 = 17500×2 = 35000 miles

Upto 4 lakhs Plat travel wins hands down especially if you want to redeem your points for Marriot.

Now for heavy spender it is advisable to do first 4 lakhs in Plat Travel
Upto 15 lakhs in Atlas
Remaining purchase you can put in Infinia especially purchases which can get you 5x or 10x through smartbuy upto 15k per month.

These calculations are as per the information I have , if there has been any change in reward rate or rules kindly comment
Would love to get things corrected