HDFC doesn't let me apply for a second credit card

CosmicCat

I got my first-ever credit card from HDFC Bank in August 2023, which is a Tata Neu Infinity one (LTF).

Today, I was trying to apply for a new one through their website, but got the following error:
"It seems that you have recently applied for a credit card. Hence we will not be able to proceed with your current application."
1000065711.webp

I tried to check on the same portal even a few days ago, but got the same error even that day.

When I tried to track what my latest application number was on their website, surprisingly it was my Tata Neu Infinity one.

It has been over a year since I got that card, so I'm surprised why it doesn't let me apply for a second one.

Does anyone have any idea if it is an error specific to me or they don't let you apply for another card if you already have a co-branded one?

Same issue with me I have tata nue+ Ltf card and apply for swiggy one time it's rejected instant and 2 nd time after same days when I ask reason for rejection they told me due to internal policy your Card rejected

There's only 1 rule for HDFC: If it wants to give you card it will give you any number of cards. And if hdfc has made up it's mind not to give you a card it won't give you even 1 card. (this is my personal experience). Here is my story:

1. Opened HDFC savings account in 2020

2. Upgraded to preferred account in 2021.

3. After upgrade to preferred, got credit card offer in netbanking and in whatsapp communication multiple times but application got rejected everytime.

4. I finally stopped chasing HDFC for a credit card and finally gave a shot in May 2023 by clicking banner in hdfc netbanking. Got approved for a Business Moneyback card.

5. Applied for Tata Neu plus card on 4 August 2024. Netbanking authentication failed for some weird reason so offline biometric was done and card was approved.

6. Got FYF free offer in swiggy app and applied for swiggy card on 14 August 2024 and here strange things happened.
i) Authenticated the application through debit card and got rejected within a day.
ii) 2 days later got sms for video kyc stating the same application number which was previously rejected. I completed VKYC and it also got rejected after two days.
iii) After another 2 more days, got an sms stating that biometric kyc will be done and an agent will visit for the same. Completed biometric and application again got rejected within 2 days.
I lost all hope after this.
iv) On 11 September 2024 got a random call from a personal number, the guy said sir you have applied for hdfc credit card I have come for address verification. I said yes I had applied.
He asked me to come to the balcony, he clicked a picture and asked some ownership details about the flat and duration of stay.

Application got approved within a day and I received Swiggy HDFC Card.

7. Meanwhile on 10 September 2024, I also applied for HDFC Pixel Play card via payzapp and it was also approved instantly.

THE END.

@CosmicCat
Rant.
Everytime someone says you should not have taken cobranded card without first taking 'core' card, it gets on my nerves. I don't blame people. They just tell their experiences.
Imagine how backward thinking and how big a$$holes & numbnuts HDFC underwriters/management are, to make up such a stupid rule and didn't have 🏈🏀 to have it in written.
I can see the frustration, this ain't gonna go anytime soon,
HDFC won't give anything in written, newcomers might take up cobranded cards as their first and then get stuck
It's absurd but it is what it is

I can see the frustration, this ain't gonna go anytime soon,
HDFC won't give anything in written, newcomers might take up cobranded cards as their first and then get stuck
It's absurd but it is what it is
THE best way is to refuse cobranded cards while mentioning the reason 'if I take this card now, HDFC Bank will refuse to give me another card forever.'

Ok saying this for the Nth time
“HDFC has stopped issuing 2nd card”
“If you have an existing CoBranded or Core Card with HDFC you will not be issued a new card”

Only way now to get a 2nd card from HDFC is through Floater card.
they call it a floater card but still add new Credit Account in CIBIL and others right ?

I'm in similar situation. I have Tata Neu Infinity LTF card. I asked RM for Infinia and he is saying that he got the approval for Infinia but I have to close Tata Neu card before Infinia is issued. I use Tata Neu for Bigbasket & UPI. So, I want to keep the card. But, Im not given any option to keep it and get Infinia.
Can I close and apply for Tata Neu Infinity once i get Infinia? Will i able to get it again as LTF card?

Thank you! By the way, was your Tata Neu Infinity Credit Card an LTF one? Because I noticed your card was upgraded to a paid Millennia card.

I'm actually planning to get a Swiggy card without closing my Tata Neu Infinity card, as the Swiggy card is everything that Millennia does + extra 5% on Swiggy purchases. My Tata Neu Infinity Credit Card is also useful, so I don't want to close that one. No idea if it's allowed.
You can easily get HDFC Swiggy from Swiggy app.

I got my first CC HDFC IOCL in March, 2024. Then applied for Swiggy Card in August, 2024 from Swiggy app FYF which was approved in three days after physical verification of my current residential address. Then requested them to convert Swiggy to LTF as IOCL is a paid Card, which they agreed.

6. Got FYF free offer in swiggy app and applied for swiggy card on 14 August 2024 and here strange things happened.
i) Authenticated the application through debit card and got rejected within a day.
ii) 2 days later got sms for video kyc stating the same application number which was previously rejected. I completed VKYC and it also got rejected after two days.
iii) After another 2 more days, got an sms stating that biometric kyc will be done and an agent will visit for the same. Completed biometric and application again got rejected within 2 days.
I lost all hope after this.
iv) On 11 September 2024 got a random call from a personal number, the guy said sir you have applied for hdfc credit card I have come for address verification. I said yes I had applied.
He asked me to come to the balcony, he clicked a picture and asked some ownership details about the flat and duration of stay.

Application got approved within a day and I received Swiggy HDFC Card.
itna rejection 😢😢😢
ICICI Credit Cards do this to me, but approve nahi huwa kabhi

I'm in similar situation. I have Tata Neu Infinity LTF card. I asked RM for Infinia and he is saying that he got the approval for Infinia but I have to close Tata Neu card before Infinia is issued. I use Tata Neu for Bigbasket & UPI. So, I want to keep the card. But, Im not given any option to keep it and get Infinia.
Can I close and apply for Tata Neu Infinity once i get Infinia? Will i able to get it again as LTF card?
If he wish to do it he can do it without closing the card. My RM did it for me when I was holding Tata Neu Plus card.

I got my first-ever credit card from HDFC Bank in August 2023, which is a Tata Neu Infinity one (LTF).

Today, I was trying to apply for a new one through their website, but got the following error:
"It seems that you have recently applied for a credit card. Hence we will not be able to proceed with your current application."
View attachment 69270

I tried to check on the same portal even a few days ago, but got the same error even that day.

When I tried to track what my latest application number was on their website, surprisingly it was my Tata Neu Infinity one.

It has been over a year since I got that card, so I'm surprised why it doesn't let me apply for a second one.

Does anyone have any idea if it is an error specific to me or they don't let you apply for another card if you already have a co-branded one?
I have 6 HDFC credit Card Now.
Swiggy, diners black metal, marriott, Tata neu infinity, upi rupey card and pixel

View attachment 69274

After this conversation I have asked them to review for other card for which they have given me option of DCP which I rejected and they gave Millinea. Now we hold 2 Core cards Regalia Gold and Millinea CC.

View attachment 69275

Write a mail to Grievance.Redressalcc@hdfcbank.com asking for an upgrade, they should do the needful. But just keep in my mind that everyone might not help but no harm in trying.
Good to see upgrade from Tata Neu card.