How To Get HDFC Bank Infinia & DCB Credit Card Easily - New & Upgrade

TechnoFinoTechnoFino is verified member.

HDFC Bank Infinia is the best credit card available in India for frequent air travellers. HDFC Bank market this credit card as an invite only card, but in reality you can actually apply for this card.
Official Eligible Income Criteria For HDFC Infinia- 43L ITR (depends on location)
DCB - 24L ITR
If you don't have ITR of 43L/24L you can still get HDFC Infinia/DCB, you have to fulfil some other criteria.
This information is not available publicly on HDFC Bank website.
Hidden Criteria For "New HDFC Bank Infinia Credit Card" - You can apply for new HDFC Bank Infinia credit card using "Card To Card" method, you need a minimum 1 year old other bank credit card with minimum 10 lakhs credit limit for this.
"New HDFC Bank Diners Club Black Credit Card" - You can apply for new HDFC Bank DCB credit card using "Card To Card" method, you need a minimum 1 year old other bank credit card with minimum 5 lakhs credit limit for this.

If your already have a HDFC Bank credit card, then you have to upgrade your existing card to Infinia/DCB,
For Upgrade To Infinia-
1. You need minimum 8 lakhs credit limit on your existing HDFC Bank Credit card
2. Send an email to- grievance.redressalcc@hdfcbank.com & request for card upgrade, fill up and attach credit card upgrade form with the email.
*Credit card upgrade form (New Version) - attached with this thread.

For Upgrade To DCB-

1. You need minimum 5 lakhs credit limit on your existing HDFC Bank Credit card
2. Send an email to- grievance.redressalcc@hdfcbank.com & request for card upgrade, attach card upgrade form with the email.

Update- HDFC Bank asking for 10 lakhs limit on your existing credit card for infinia upgrade.

IMG-20220812-WA0046.jpg

So, don't be surprised if hdfc bank ask you for 10L limit. 😃

card holder since 9 years. Moneyback->Regalia First->Regalia->DCB(LTF)->Infinia(FYF)
Limit -9L
Hi @samspeaks , Can you share details like, what's your in hand salary (a ball park not looking for exact salary and do you have salary account with HDFC)? And what were your spends on your card in last 6 months? Also could you please share what was the mail you sent to them?

Please do reply as your inputs can help a lot of people with dcb card looking to upgrade to Infinia based on low acceptance of dcb.. Pls help

Hi @samspeaks , Can you share details like, what's your in hand salary (a ball park not looking for exact salary and do you have salary account with HDFC)? And what were your spends on your card in last 6 months? Also could you please share what was the mail you sent to them?

Please do reply as your inputs can help a lot of people with dcb card looking to upgrade to Infinia based on low acceptance of dcb.. Pls help

Used the content from the above post in this thread for mail.
Salary upwards of 2L, No salary account with HDFC.
Last 6 month spends in range of 7L.

Net per month comp. usually works out to ~5% less than 1.75. So close enough.

I have so far referenced 1-3 in my emails to grievance, but they just don't seem to care. In my latest response, I have resorted to the "dhamki" of closing my long standing salary account + Regalia, but I have doubts on whether that'll make them budge.
I can relate. I had an even longer relationship with HDFC salary account. I had Regalia for longer than I can remember, never requested for upgrades and when I got better reward stopped most of my spending on it for months. Voila, Infinia invite showed up in Netbanking. So my advice is that if you have better cards just spend whichever is best for you and let HDFC card be dormant. You may get an invite sooner than later. If not you don't lose anything.

This doesn't work for sure now.. I have had regalia for over 5-6 years now and hardly spend anything on that card in any of these years.. still no invite (despite having 8.5 lakhs limit)
Only thing that works now is you should meet 2 out of 3 criteria :
1) 10+ lakhs limit on existing credit card
2) 7.5 lakhs spends in last 6 months
3) Salary/ITR eligibility should be met

This doesn't work for sure now.. I have had regalia for over 5-6 years now and hardly spend anything on that card in any of these years.. still no invite (despite having 8.5 lakhs limit)
Is 2 out 3 is mandatory or any one of the above ?

Net per month comp. usually works out to ~5% less than 1.75. So close enough.

Looking at criteria, the things I felt would help me were
- 15.5 CL on Regalia (earlier Intermiles co-branded which was earlier Jet Airways - I think I have had this chain of CCs with them for 5+ years)
- Significantly higher spends on my other AMEX and Axis CCs (even if compared to Infinia requriements they have written) over last 6/12 months
- Having salary account with them for 5+ years
- Comp. being at par (almost)
- Other Bank CC CLs being 6.5 and 10
- A few lacs of FDs with them

I have so far referenced 1-3 in my emails to grievance, but they just don't seem to care. In my latest response, I have resorted to the "dhamki" of closing my long standing salary account + Regalia, but I have doubts on whether that'll make them budge.

Quick update on this: My 3rd and final email with the "dhamki" hasn't worked either. They don't care if I close my long standing salary account + close my Regalia card. I am not sure there is anything else left over here to do. The same person from grievance has been responding all 3 times - Praveen Kumar.

It's hard for me to understand whether HDFC really doesn't care or whether its an employee just clearing his inbox with boiler plate responses. But this has surely made me re-consider whether I continue banking with HDFC or not. Hope this helps others considering applying for Infinia / DCB with a similar profile.

Quick update on this: My 3rd and final email with the "dhamki" hasn't worked either. They don't care if I close my long standing salary account + close my Regalia card. I am not sure there is anything else left over here to do. The same person from grievance has been responding all 3 times - Praveen Kumar.

It's hard for me to understand whether HDFC really doesn't care or whether its an employee just clearing his inbox with boiler plate responses. But this has surely made me re-consider whether I continue banking with HDFC or not. Hope this helps others considering applying for Infinia / DCB with a similar profile.
Submit account closure letter to branch. Only BM can help now.And if he doesn't, close all relationship with such bank

Same thing happened with me in Axis. Even Pno didn't do anything but BM sprung into action after I submitted closure letter in branch.

It's a know fact that HDFC does not care about existing customers irrespective of type of account and NRV you maintain with them

You could wait until you have a large-ish spend and put it entirely on your Regalia. Then - despite the poor rewards - put all spends on the Regalia for the following 3 months - then email them for an upgrade to a DCB. Repeat for the next upgrade.

Praveen Kumar is not someone who knows the system 🙁 he took my IRCTC issue and gave all wrong information to RM post that i escalated to MD desk i got even compensation for the same.

My suggestion escalate right away HDFC needs customer now for desposits they are running shortage of money for loan

FWIW, don't think i qualified for any of these criteria.

Hey @ragz . Thank you for your feedback in the past.
I have a question regarding point 3: Salary/ITR eligibility should be met.
My in-hand salary post deductions is around 1.9L. However, my ITR for last year is around 46L (large fraction of salary is bonuses). My DCB has a credit limit of 9.5L and last-6-month spends on DCB are around 1.5L total. I have significant spends on other cards (2-3L total across SC Ultimate, IDFC Wealth, and others) because of low acceptance of DCB abroad. I have an Imperia account with HDFC.

Q: My upgrade request from DCB to Infinia based on salary slips was rejected a few months ago (as expected). Can a salaried person request an upgrade on the basis of just ITR? Or would they still ask me for salary slips / bank statement? What would be the best channel for an upgrade request using ITR?

Thanks again, in advance.

Hey @ragz . Thank you for your feedback in the past.
I have a question regarding point 3: Salary/ITR eligibility should be met.
My in-hand salary post deductions is around 1.9L. However, my ITR for last year is around 46L (large fraction of salary is bonuses). My DCB has a credit limit of 9.5L and last-6-month spends on DCB are around 1.5L total. I have significant spends on other cards (2-3L total across SC Ultimate, IDFC Wealth, and others) because of low acceptance of DCB abroad. I have an Imperia account with HDFC.

Q: My upgrade request from DCB to Infinia based on salary slips was rejected a few months ago (as expected). Can a salaried person request an upgrade on the basis of just ITR? Or would they still ask me for salary slips / bank statement? What would be the best channel for an upgrade request using ITR?

Thanks again, in advance.
As per my understanding, they are not accepting ITR for salaried person. And they only consider your post tax salary (without any bonuses) for upgrade. I think the required salary post tax for Infinia is upwards of 3 lakhs. So consider fulfilling other 2 criteria of 7.5 lakhs spend in last 6 months and then during these spends ask for a LE to 10+ lakhs.. they are very strict with the criteria now and won't have any exception..

When I raised DCB acceptance issue abroad specially in Europe and Asian countries, they offered me a floater HDFC IOCL card with shared limit.. although when I asked them that how is IOCL card going to help me in achieving 7.5 lakhs in 6 months if DCB is not accepted they just said it won't and closed the mail at that. So DCB to Infinia seems like a tough route but that's the way it is!

It's a know fact that HDFC does not care about existing customers irrespective of type of account and NRV you maintain with them

My experience is quite opposite to this:

I have had a Millennia LTF for the last 2 years (moneyback before that). My limit used to be around 2L until dec 2022, then bumped to 4.5L in Jan 2023, but then in August 2023 I asked for a LE via grievance and they only offered 20K LE, I said OK but I want a bigger LE, there was no response for a week and then it got bumped to 8L+.

I was happy with the LE and wrote another mail for upgrade from Millennia LTF to DCB LTF, but they rejected it saying for your profile DCB LTF won't be possible, but DCB FYF with conditional waiver is possible subject to bank checks.

Please note that I did not meet the salary requirement criteria and I did not meet the spending criteria as well (my last 6 months spend was 5.2L, requirement was 6L as per this thread)

So I was skeptical with the subject to bank checks term and was not optimistic at all. However to my surprise the DCB has just shown up in my Net banking 😍, I haven't even received confirmation from Grievance yet, I think the reward points are yet to be transferred, so they might send confirmation after that, but I can see the card number and the outstanding has transferred from Millennia to DCB.

I was so happy, because my salary is just over 60% of the requirement criteria and this was a positive experience from grievance team for me, so I think it depends on who is taking care of your request also matters when it comes to CC Upgrades.

This will be my first super premium card (If you can call it that), my second close is IDFC wealth.

I have a 5+ year salary account with HDFC, couple of PL (1 active, 1 closed), no deposit accounts.

This doesn't mean I haven't had bad experience at all with grievance though, for example, they rejected Tata Neu Infinity FYF for me after having provisionally approved it, and grievance did not help at all. Though, I will likely take it up again with grievance regarding that in another month's time.

What do you guys think, should I have asked for Infinia LTF instead? /s

As per my understanding, they are not accepting ITR for salaried person. And they only consider your post tax salary (without any bonuses) for upgrade. I think the required salary post tax for Infinia is upwards of 3 lakhs. So consider fulfilling other 2 criteria of 7.5 lakhs spend in last 6 months and then during these spends ask for a LE to 10+ lakhs.. they are very strict with the criteria now and won't have any exception..

When I raised DCB acceptance issue abroad specially in Europe and Asian countries, they offered me a floater HDFC IOCL card with shared limit.. although when I asked them that how is IOCL card going to help me in achieving 7.5 lakhs in 6 months if DCB is not accepted they just said it won't and closed the mail at that. So DCB to Infinia seems like a tough route but that's the way it is!
When were you offered the iocl floater card.. can you mention the content of mail and did they offer right away or how was it.. did you ask them to give regalia instead of iocl card...

I hoping to get regalia floater to my DCB and in future try to upgrade it to DCB..