• Hey there! Welcome to TFC! View fewer ads on the website just by signing up on TF Community.

(Solved) Account Freeze Warning for Opening Another Demat Account

SMS91

TF Buzz
##Issue Resolved: Falsely Sent Email from SBI Securities##

I have a demat account with SBI Securities and Groww. SBI Securities was opened first. Today, I received an email claiming to be from SBI Securities, asking for the rationale behind opening another demat account within 30 days. The email stated that if no explanation is provided, the demat account will be frozen as per the NSDL initiative. Has anyone else received such an email? I think opening demat accounts with different providers is okay Screenshot_20240823-200617_Yahoo Mail.webp
Is this a real or scam email, or am I reading it wrong? I'm new to demat and trading.

Last edited:
I have a demat account with SBI Securities and Groww. SBI Securities was opened first. Today, I received an email claiming to be from SBI Securities, asking for the rationale behind opening another demat account within 30 days. The email stated that if no explanation is provided, the demat account will be frozen as per the NSDL initiative. Has anyone else received such an email? I think opening demat accounts with different providers is okayView attachment 66069
Is this a real or scam email, or am I reading it wrong? I'm new to demat and trading.
Currently, there is no restriction on the number of Demat / trading accounts that a person can have. You can open an account with all the brokers at the same time. No one can question you.
Not sure why SBI is crying regarding this. First, check if this is genuine mail from SBI Securities. If genuine, just respond with some random writeup - like the one said mentioned in this link - https://www.mstock.com/articles/pros-and-cons-of-opening-multiple-demat-accounts .