Only Premium & Super Premium Cards Discussion

This is a closed group and meant for discussion on all kinds of Premium/Super Premium Cards having an annual fee above 5k for optimising spends. Please refrain from discussion about lower cards. Only serious members allowed for knowledge sharing.

Quick Overview

Category
Credit Cards
Language
English (US)
Total members
Total events
Total discussions
Total views

Card Analysis by drsel

The value of the voucher is still 10K, so the net reward calculation should be (1700-295)/10000 = 14.05%
Thanks, it’s a fair point to also consider the value, in which case I stand corrected. But then, I’ll rather break it down like this to make sure we’re accounting correctly for the value part:

1. If I got the value of 10k from 10k, the % calculation would be (10000/10000)+floor(10000/150)*25/10000 = 1.165, therefore a 16.5% gain.
2. Since I only get a value of 10k from 10295, the same calc becomes (10000/10295)+floor(10295/150)*25/10295 = 1.1365, which is only a 13.65% gain. For 20k vouchers, this becomes slightly better at 13.77%.

Thanks, it’s a fair point to also consider the value, in which case I stand corrected. But then, I’ll rather break it down like this to make sure we’re accounting correctly for the value part:

1. If I got the value of 10k from 10k, the % calculation would be (10000/10000)+floor(10000/150)*25/10000 = 1.165, therefore a 16.5% gain.
2. Since I only get a value of 10k from 10295, the same calc becomes (10000/10295)+floor(10295/150)*25/10295 = 1.1365, which is only a 13.65% gain. For 20k vouchers, this becomes slightly better at 13.77%.
All these calculations assume the value of the points to be one rupee.
but when you buy air tickets with points at full price, you don't factor in the discount, around 10--12%

All these calculations assume the value of the points to be one rupee.
but when you buy air tickets with points at full price, you don't factor in the discount, around 10--12%
Smartbuy is too versatile as a platform to lend easily to such comparisons. You could just as easily transfer your Infinia points 1:1 (with a very generous upper limit capping) to your loyalty program of choice, which can significantly raise the stakes as well. So assuming 1RP = ₹1 is just easier and I think a fair assignment of value.

DCB LTF for Rent 2.87%
or DCB Metal FYF for Rent 5.37% (assuming 4L spends per quarter)
SBI Vistara (1770) for excluded MCC 3.5% (upto 2.25L py)
Axis Atlas (5900) for Offline - 4%
Axis Atlas (5900) for Direct hotel and Direct flights - 10% **
Axis Atlas (5900) via Intermiles Apay for Online / Fuel - 10% (upto 50k pm)
Axis Airtel (590) for 25% on Airtel, 10% on utility bills, 10% on Swiggy Zomato
Infinia / DCB via Smartbuy Apay for Online / Fuel - 13% / 7% (upto 20k pm)
SBI cashback (Fee waiver) for other online 5% (upto 100k pm)
BOB Eterna (Fee waiver) for other online 4.75% (upto 41.6k pm)
Amex MRCC (FYF) 1500 X 4 for Amazon GV 18.6%
Amex Plat Travel (FYF) for insurance, govt, Amazon GV 12%
** Atlas direct spends 10% is useful when paying tax component in award tickets, and balance amount in accor / marriott

DCB LTF for Rent 2.87%
or DCB Metal FYF for Rent 5.37% (assuming 4L spends per quarter)
SBI Vistara (1770) for excluded MCC 3.5% (upto 2.25L py)
Axis Atlas (5900) for Offline - 4%
Axis Atlas (5900) for Direct hotel and Direct flights - 10% **
Axis Atlas (5900) via Intermiles Apay for Online / Fuel - 10% (upto 50k pm)
Axis Airtel (590) for 25% on Airtel, 10% on utility bills, 10% on Swiggy Zomato
Infinia / DCB via Smartbuy Apay for Online / Fuel - 13% / 7% (upto 20k pm)
SBI cashback (Fee waiver) for other online 5% (upto 100k pm)
BOB Eterna (Fee waiver) for other online 4.75% (upto 41.6k pm)
Amex MRCC (FYF) 1500 X 4 for Amazon GV 18.6%
Amex Plat Travel (FYF) for insurance, govt, Amazon GV 12%
** Atlas direct spends 10% is useful when paying tax component in award tickets, and balance amount in accor / marriott
Kindly explain Amex MRCC, Platinum travel & Infinia/DCB

Buy Apay via Smartbuy using Infinia and use Apay for online shopping: (1650 RP - 295 fee) / 10000 = 13.55% returns.

Similarly for DCB: (990 RP - 295 fee) / 10000 = 6.95%

Here is a revised calculation for MRCC. MRCC needs 1.5L spends for fee waiver: 12000 RP on completing 4x1500 monthly Milestone + 6000 RP on completing 6x20k milestones. Total spends = (6x20 +6x6) = 1.56L. Total rewards = (12000+6000+ 0.02*156000 + 2000 referral) = 23120. Returns = 14.8% when redeemed for Marriot Bonvoy. With 4N +1 free night offer and careful selection of place, you can extract more returns than 14.8%

Amex Platinum fee can be waived on 4L spends, subject to some terms eg Spend 2L in 60 days and get an annual fee waiver. Rewards on 4L spends - 2000 ref + 8000 + 40000 milestone = 50000 points. Returns = 50000/400000 = 12.5% when redeemed for Marriot Bonvoy. With 4N +1 free night offer and careful selection of place, you can extract more returns than 12.5%

Buy Apay via Smartbuy using Infinia and use Apay for online shopping: (1650 RP - 295 fee) / 10000 = 13.55% returns.

Here is a revised calculation for MRCC. MRCC needs 1.5L spends for fee waiver: 12000 RP on completing 4x1500 monthly Milestone + 6000 RP on completing 6x20k milestones. Total spends = (6x20 +6x6) = 1.56L. Total rewards = (12000+6000+ 0.02*156000 + 2000 referral) = 23120. Returns = 14.8% when redeemed for Marriot Bonvoy. With 4N +1 free night offer and careful selection of place, you can extract more returns than 14.8%

Amex Platinum fee can be waived on 4L spends, subject to some terms eg Spend 2L in 60 days and get an annual fee waiver. Rewards on 4L spends - 2000 ref + 8000 + 40000 milestone = 50000 points. Returns = 50000/400000 = 12.5% when redeemed for Marriot Bonvoy. With 4N +1 free night offer and careful selection of place, you can extract more returns than 12.5%
Only addition is for Plat travel, you get 10K Taj voucher as well, increasing the Reward rate to 15%

This reward can be used on non discounted rated only. What is your best redemption for this voucher?

I searched the cheapest Taj hotels in India and found some options under 10k/night with breakfast. That seems like a very good option just for the experience.

Thanks for the explanation but I would value Marriott room rates & Taj 10000 vouchers at 50--60%

This reward can be used on non discounted rated only. What is your best redemption for this voucher?

I searched the cheapest Taj hotels in India and found some options under 10k/night with breakfast. That seems like a very good option just for the experience.
I believe there are folks who are ready to buy it for 60-80% of its value, if you are looking for its cash value.

Screenshot 2023-12-04 at 12.24.12 AM.png

Hotels in India are anyway quite economical.
Show me points required for hotels in Europe, Australia, Japan etc
You are right. I cant find any good redemptions on MB for these places. Accor has great redemption though via Atlas in the above destinations.

Best international travel redemption for Amex seems to be transfer to miles. The value of that is 0.5. At that rate I would prefer to sell my options @ 0.40 to 0.45 and buy cash ticket.

No the best redemption is 7000 Amazon pay for 18000 Amex reward points obtained by spending 96000 ( 1500 x 4 times a month for 16 months).
Because Marriott rooms should be discounted 20--40%.
Their room prices are quite inflated

Which card to use and where?
This analysis is after deducting annual fees and also considering the welcome benefits--

1. Axis Magnus Burgundy (LTF) for offline & rent upto 50k 4.80%
2. Axis Magnus Burgundy (LTF) for Traveledge 24%, less 10% markup usually.
3. HDFC Infinia (2250) for SmartBuy airtickets 13.50% (since points can be used for only 70% of airfare)
4. Axis Atlas (better than free) for offline & online (except fuel, rent, insurance, wallet) 4.00/5.33/6.00/6.33% based on target spends <3lacs/3 lacs/7.5 lacs/15 lacs.
5. Axis Atlas for direct hotel and direct flights 10.00/11.33/12.00/12.33% based on target spends <3lacs/3 lacs/7.5 lacs/15 lacs
6. HDFC Tata infinity (LTF) for UPI 1.50% (1 on 34)
7. Amex MRCC (FY free, then 885) 1500 X 4 for Amazon GV 1st yr. 7.29%, 2nd yr onwards 5.70%
8. Amex Plat Travel (FY free, then 5900) for insurance, govt, Amazon GV 1st yr 6.3%, 2nd yr onwards 4.82% on 4 lacs, offline difficult.
9. SBI cashback (1179) for online 5% (upto 5000/month)
10. Any Kotak/PNB/Federal/Canbank card (----) for 25--35% discount (upto 5000/7500/10000 per booking, per card) on hotels on Cleartrip
11. Axis Airtel (590) for 25% on Airtel, 10% on utility bills 10% on Swiggy Zomato
12. HDFC Diners club black (only if free) for rent 2.87%
13. HDFC Diners club black Metal (if 1st yr free) for rent 5.37% (assuming 4L spends per quarter).
14. HDFC Diners club black Metal (11800) for rent 2.42% (assuming 4L spends per quarter)

Please like if you appreciate my advice, thank you 🙏
Thanks for the detailed post.
I am not clear on HDFC Diners Black point on rent. Can you please share some details on the same.