ICICI Bank Times Black Credit Card - Upcoming Super Premium Credit Card

Hey TFCians,

ICICI Bank is soon launching its top-tier super-premium credit card: the ICICI Bank Times Black Credit Card.
Expected launch time: Mid November 2024

Fees:
  • Joining Fee: Rs. 20,000 + GST
  • Annual Fee: Rs. 20,000 + GST
Interestingly, ICICI mentions a "1st-year fee" of Rs. 20,000 + GST, similar to the Amex Centurion card's structure. It looks like the bank will charge both the joining fee and 1st-year fee at issuance, with the annual fee billed at the end of the card’s anniversary year.

View attachment 73875

However, ICICI is known for some tricky wording around card fees and waiver conditions in their MITC. For instance, I was charged an annual fee on my Emeralde Credit Card a few years back, and my consumer court case on this is still pending. (More details on that here: https://www.technofino.in/community...d-even-after-meeting-reversal-criteria.11061/)

This new ICICI Bank Times Black Credit Card will reportedly have a sleek design, exclusive to a select group of customers. According to some sources, it’s expected to offer lifestyle perks unavailable on any other credit card in India so far.

View attachment 73874

Stay tuned! I’ll update this post with more details and my review once we have the full picture.
I have infinia having 25 lac limit, will I get this on C2C basis. Yearly spend approx 15 lac.

Is it a co-branded card with Times of India?
Timesprime, ET Prime and all other Times subscriptions/memberships complimentary with this card?

Methylene dichloride ?
No . .

I am sure even though its invite based, this will be devalued before the first 12 month renewal comes up for its first adopters

A card crafted from a piece of India's history —made from the very metal of The Times of India's first printing press.

Reserved for the top 0.1%, this limited…
A card crafted from a piece of India's history —made from the very metal of The Times of India's first printing press.

Reserved for the top 0.1%, this limited…
TIMES itself has become good TIMES khatam for us.
Considering the kind of misleading / half-hearted benefits that come with TIMES Prime, the "TIMES" branding does not come across as premium to me at all.
CC product designers gone bonkers ?

Targeting customers who are ready to pay 40K+GST for only 1st year.

But, the real issue is :

DO THEY REALLY NEED A CREDIT CARD ?
If true... Sounds terrible. I really don't care what "lifestyle benefits" they claim to offer. Golf that can never be availed? Event tickets that need to always be buy one get one with terms and conditions? Hotel memberships that are a dime a dozen and always striped down for Indian customers? Which flavour of tea or rather fluff will they be adding in?
Sorry in advance, In simple words .... scrap product premium karke bhej rahe hai.

I understand that this topic holds emotional and historical significance for TOI. ( A card crafted from a piece of India's history —made from the very metal of The Times of India's first printing press.)

However, for me, this card holds little value due to the joining and annual fees, as well as the fact that its features are largely useless.

Imho the "Times" name itself takes the premiumness away. Times is not seen as a premium brand by any length, rather it's the opposite. It has the image of intrusive print ads, advertorials and paid news. Sort of spam on print.

I think Times is trying to get into the pants of the 0.1% through the most effortless manner here. Woe betide those who fall for it.

If this card is anyway related to "Times/Times Prime" then it's hardly a co-brand/partner that can be called super premium. I won't even call it premium! This doesn't even bring any exclusivity in owning a card with a Times Co-branding!

Hey TFCians,

ICICI Bank is soon launching its top-tier super-premium credit card: the ICICI Bank Times Black Credit Card.

Fees:
Interestingly, ICICI mentions a "1st-year fee" of Rs. 20,000 + GST, similar to the Amex Centurion card's structure. It looks like the bank will charge both the joining fee and 1st-year fee at issuance, with the annual fee billed at the end of the card’s anniversary year.

View attachment 73875

However, ICICI is known for some tricky wording around card fees and waiver conditions in their MITC. For instance, I was charged an annual fee on my Emeralde Credit Card a few years back, and my consumer court case on this is still pending. (More details on that here: https://www.technofino.in/community...d-even-after-meeting-reversal-criteria.11061/)

This new ICICI Bank Times Black Credit Card will reportedly have a sleek design, exclusive to a select group of customers. According to some sources, it’s expected to offer lifestyle perks unavailable on any other credit card in India so far.

View attachment 73874

Stay tuned! I’ll update this post with more details and my review once we have the full picture.
Is the Add-On Card fees structure correctly mentioned here, ICICI has mentioned a fees of 199 for all supplementary cards post 15 Nov to be charged in the anniversary month.

Can't agree more. That is such useless. I wonder who pays for that. For most of offers there, you need to be new user for that. And most of these offers are available without times prime too.
Considering the kind of misleading / half-hearted benefits that come with TIMES Prime, the "TIMES" branding does not come across as premium to me at all.

Hey TFCians,

Fees:

View attachment 73875

View attachment 73874

Yeh card sirf mujhe hi milega kisi or ko nhi milega gariboooo : TG😂😂😂

How are you able to access this site? Its asking for username and password
Yeh official site hai kya ? if yes then reward points -

Travel effortlessly
. Earn 6 reward points on flights/hotels, redeemable at 1 RP = ₹1. Unlock real value. Redeem 1 RP = ₹0.40 for rewards that enhance your lifestyle.

Earn 2 reward points on ₹100, redeemable at 1 RP = ₹1. Enhance your travels. Earn 2.5 reward points on ₹100 spent abroad, redeemable at 1 RP = ₹