What triggers credit limit enhancement from HDFC

lpshreyas

I currently hold HDFC Millennia (7+ years) and Neu Infinity (4 months), and have been stuck with my current credit limit for over 2 years now. I have no defaults and I also have a salary account with the bank, but that never helped in moving the needle. I have also tried every trick suggested to me to trigger a credit limit enhancement or an upgrade from the bank without any success.
  • I have underspent (less than 10k a month for 6 months)
  • I have overspent (more than 3L in a quarter)
  • I took a second card in Tata Neu Infinity and spent 1.9L in the first 3 months
  • I wrote to the CC team, grievance redressal, priority redressal, escalation desk, and PNO
  • I spoke with my corporate RM, and escalation contact
  • I even spoke to my RM (this must tell you how desperate I must have gotten)
But every time it is the same thing. Either they ask me to wait another 6 months, or they tell me that I already have the best limit they can offer. What also annoys me is that HDFC has quoted my credit limit (4.5L) as a reason for not offering Regalia Gold and DCB, even though Regalia Gold isn't on the same level as DCB. They are offering Diners Privilege to me on FYF basis but aren't giving a higher limit with the upgrade.

I am fresh out of ideas and, to be honest, a bit frustrated after seeing people getting their Neu cards converted to LTF, receiving everything from 10% to 200% limit enhancements, LTF Swiggy, and LTF Regalia Gold on corporate offers (which I also qualify, btw) while I get nothing. So, I would love to know if there's anything I can do in order to tip the scales in my favour?

When transactions are above 2k (mostly) I use Myntra + Slice.
When transaction is 50-2k, I use kiwi
When transaction is 36-50 or above, I use Neu + Slice
I can't wrap around this if-else ladder and am happy with Nue .
Watson Exhausting GIF by Teachers on TV Land

2 years back I had booked an air ticket from a global website. It got flagged as an international online transaction; after 15 days HDFC gave a limit enhancement from 2L to 4L.

I have never done any international transactions on my Moneyback CC. HDFC still kept on showering me with large LEs, -- to what purpose on a Moneyback CC, only they can tell. Even God doesn't know!

Moral of the story: There is no point trying to figure out HDFC's logic behind anything they do!

I have never done any international transactions on my Moneyback CC. HDFC still kept on showering me with large LEs, -- to what purpose on a Moneyback CC, only they can tell. Even God doesn't know!

Moral of the story: There is no point trying to figure out HDFC's logic behind anything they do!
My mb CL is 10+ Lakh. What's yours?

HDFC upgraded my moneyback to millenia in March 2022 as they had discontinued moneyback.

They may have stopped issuing new Moneyback CCs (in favour of Moneyback+ ?). But that couldn't have been the reason behind your upgrade, because they still keep on renewing the plain Moneyback, -- I've just got mine for the fourth time!

I must admit, however, that this time, before renewal, they did offer me my first ever upgrade (after 9 years): to a paid Moneyback+ (from my LTF Moneyback)! 🙂

When I'd showed the gall to refuse that, they have indicated their displeasure at my impudence by renewing the same, plain, Moneyback again. ..... And as if to reinforce the point that they're never going to offer me a reasonable upgrade ever, they've renewed it this time for seven years (it had a 3-year validity the first three times)! 🙂

They may have stopped issuing new Moneyback CCs (in favour of Moneyback+ ?). But that couldn't have been the reason behind your upgrade, because they still keep on renewing the plain Moneyback, -- I've just got mine for the fourth time!

This was the email... Please excuse HDFC Bank if you find any grammatical mistake, but that was 100% them! 🤪

hdfc upgrade.png

Its surprising to me that they're still renewing your card which has been discontinued, but not really surprising since HDFC is the bank version of stree... ye hdfc hai, kuch bhi kar sakta hai!!

This was the email... Please excuse HDFC Bank if you find any grammatical mistake, but that was 100% them! 🤪

View attachment 54951

How old, broad and deep is your relationship with HDFC, if I may so ask?

Mine is more than a decade old, and I am an Imperia customer as well, so they're at least superficially polite. All other metrics must also be good enough too, otherwise they wouldn't have kept enhancing the CL on my CC to a ridiculous level now (for Moneyback). Still they did what they did!

I really don't understand what good business sense it makes for them to keep a (supposedly HNI) customer perennially dissatisfied and annoyed!

How old, broad and deep is your relationship with HDFC, if I may so ask?

Mine is more than a decade old, and I am an Imperia customer as well, so they're at least superficially polite. All other metrics must also be good enough too, otherwise they wouldn't have kept enhancing the CL on my CC to a ridiculous level now (for Moneyback). Still they did what they did!

I really don't understand what good business sense it makes for them to keep a (supposedly HNI) customer perennially dissatisfied and annoyed!

Hehe... Somewhat old (1 cc since Apr 2016), not really broad (just this 1 cc from them) and definitely not at all deep!

So this cc upgrade happened in Mar 2022 (after 6 years of original card issue). That time I was having only 1 relationship with HDFC - this moneyback cc, that's all. Till 2021 or initial 2022, I was using this moneyback only as my daily driver & my avg monthly cc bill range 15-20k. Sometimes more in case of sales on amazon/flipkart...

LE was provided 3 times during this period:
1. original 80k -> 96k in Dec 2016,
2. 96 -> 1.2, in Jan 2018,
3. 1.2L -> 2.77 in Jun 2018
4. 2.77 -> 3.6 in May 2024

My limit is stagnant since April 2023 when I got LTF Diners Millenia of limit 3.35 L. In Jan 2024 , they upgraded the card to Regalia Gold FYF. But limit remained same. Two months back , Mussu made it LTF. But my requests to Grievance team and Priority Redressal for LE have been rejected multiple times. So now I have kept it in drawer. Won't use it till they provide substantial LE.

My limit is stagnant since 2021 haven't got any limit enhancements after that. Have 8.4 lakhs limit on my recently upgraded infinia. Using it to the fullest, but haven't received any limit enhancements, also i do have neu infinity LTF

Damn! You're playing spending limbo and winning!

Unfortunately, I am neither that flexible nor do I have such a low center of gravity. Kidding aside, I doubt I can ever do this but I can attempt it by getting the Swiggy card. All my grocery, insurance and offline transactions have already moved to Neu Infinity, so maybe I can move all remaining online and food transactions to Swiggy. That way, the Millennia becomes unused and maybe HDFC would take notice? Worth a shot, I suppose
Bhai insurance payment kar pa rhe ho kya tata neu se ? Me jab bhi koshish Kari hai tbhi unable to fetch details from your biller aa jata hai.
I get stuck at this step everytime.